We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bienville House

Certificate of Excellence
320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bienville House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bienville House
Add Photo Write a Review

952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    434
    315
    105
    55
    43
See reviews for
171
391
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (952)
  • Mar-May only
    (306)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (224)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (208)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bienville House
See the most recent reviews
Murray, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Bienville House is a beautiful hotel located in the French Quarter on Decatur, within walking distance of everything but far enough from everything to be peaceful. It's well maintained & has a historical New Olreans feel. This was our second stay with them, upon entering the room we were greeted with soft spa music playing, Perrier water, a giftbox... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us here, and hope to see you again soon! More 

chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was my first trip to New Orleans, so I haven't tried any other hotels, but all I can say is, "I'll be back!". The room was nice and clean,very comfortable, and I did not see one bug in the four days I was there. It probably would have been nice to have a small fridge but wasn't necessary. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time during your first trip to New Orleans! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, our location and our staff. We appreciate you taking time to share your review with us, and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the French Quarter! More 

Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for five days on the 4th floor for a graduation and a girls getaway. First the good news. All of the the front desk and bellman were professional and offered great service. But the breakfast was stale and the coffee was doled out by the coffee nazi. I prefer to fix my own coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for... More 

laneypie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

GREAT location between the Riverwalk and the Brewery/Jackson Square. The only negative (because of the stellar location) was some street noise as we were on the second floor. Room was very clean. They even had a cell phone charger/dock with alarm clock/radio! We usually stay at a B&B on Elysian Fields when we travel to New Orleans, but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to share your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear you had such a great stay! We're happy you enjoyed our accommodations and location in the heart of the French Quarter. We hope to see you again soon on your... More 

Gasport, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing hotel stay,look no further.We stayed on the 4th floor with a king bed and the balcony/patio has a huge garden with outdoor iron table and chairs.It was soooo relaxing being able to smoke a cigar or pipe on the balcony.We went to the complimentary breakfast nook,selected a few items and ate our breakfast right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations, balcony, breakfast and our staff. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans! More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We requested a balcony room with two beds. Room 223 is spacious and quiet. The courtyard and pool is lush with plants and a resident tree frog. The hotel staff were helpful when we needed information. The breakfast food was very "Costco" except for the pumpkin bread and the coffee was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to The Big Easy! More 

Fishing Creek, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I was in New Orleans for a wedding and the wedding party had booked a group of rooms at the Bienville House and the more famous Monteleone just up the street. I chose the Bienville House because I enjoy the boutique atmosphere and I was fascinated with the pictures of its garden pool. The place did not disappoint. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to share your review of your recent stay with us during the wedding. We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay! We regret to hear that you had an issue with the doorman, but we are glad that our front desk staff was able to remedy the situation quickly. We... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here in May, 2013, for an extra day following a conference held at another hotel. I wanted to move to be closer to the French Quarter. I loved the quaintness of the hotel and decor. I had a 2 double bed room with balcony over the courtyard. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. I loved it!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us following your New Orleans conference. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us and hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans! More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a wonderful little hotel in the French Quarter..so close to everything..but quiet.Small breakfasts,coffee,tea,juice, muffins,cereals with excellent service just enough to get your day started. We stayed in a room with an outside veranda view of inner courtyard...roomy and comfortable.Front desk staff order cabs when we needed them and booked our tours and gave us good recommendations on where to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We're thrilled that you found our staff to be so helpful and our service to be excellent. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans! More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for Jazz Fest this year, it was our first time staying at Bienville House. I love the historic qualities of the hotel and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was decorated beautifully, but had a musty smell and the bathroom was not very clean. Location is great, much quieter than hotels closer to Bourbon St.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time out to share your review of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the historic aspects of our property, our accommodations and our location in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

517 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (236)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (36)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (92)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Sun Deck Room - Two Double Beds (38)
Viewed
Superior King Salon Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Room - Two Double Beds (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay