We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal

Hotel website
1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Royal
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    70
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
10
103
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

PROS: The location in perfect. The staff is very helpful and nice, they indicated us great places to eat in the French Quarter. The room is charming and pleasant. CONS: Parking Lot. The hotel has a small one, so if you are lucky you can get a spot there, but it costs u$ 25,00 per day. No elevator, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Mariana U, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, at Hotel Royal. Our team works diligently to ensure only the best experience for each of our valued guests. Hotel Royal was originally a Creole Townhouse in the 1800’s therefore our rooms vary in size. While we do not have elevators, our guest services staff is... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

When I chose this hotel I was so excited that if fit my criteria to a T. It was very old with a wonderful wrought iron balcony but renovated and very clean and modern on the inside. We all know that photography can enhance spaces and make everything look chic and that is exactly what happened here. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Maricu916, I would like to apologize for the fact that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Hotel Royal was originally a Creole Townhouse in the 1800’s and our rooms vary in size up to 700 square feet. Your reservation was booked for a deluxe standard room, but you were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe... More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very nice little place. The rooms are small and cozy, but seem to be newly renovated. Very clean and the service is wonderful. Everyone was very kind and friendly. Very helpful with local restaurants and things to do! Helpful with luggage since there are only stairs. I have no complaints!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear ShelbyNiecy, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Royal! We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Big Easy! Regards, Bradley Latham Guest Services Manager French Quarter Hotel Collection More 

George Town, Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

First off, I stayed at Hotel Royal for 3 nights on a busy weekend in New Orleans and enjoyed every aspect of it. Great location, near Bourbon St if that is your thing and walkable to anything in the Quarter. Attentive staff and well appointed. I was a bit tentative after having read a few negative reviews, but having spent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at the Hotel Royal! We are thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us and hope you will come back and see us when you return to New Orleans! Sincerely, Bradley Latham Guest Services Manager French Quarter Hotel Group More 

Sutton Coldfield
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A little disappointed staying at Hotel Royal, we were in the room located the furthest away from reception which involved many flights of stairs, also the shower door broke which could have been a huge embarrassment as my husband could not get out of the shower without taking it apart! Breakfast very basic we stayed at another hotel the following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Bobbi28, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. I would like to personally apologize that you were not satisfied during your stay with us. Hotel Royal was originally a Creole Townhouse in the 1800’s and an elevator was not needed. Our guest services staff is more than happy to assist guests... More 

Oregon, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed two nights at Hotel Royal. I was greeted by friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located away from the crazy of Bourbon St but close enough to walk anywhere and feel safe. The room was tiny but clean and the bed was comfortable (and I'm picky). There were little details missing which would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear olyn2013, We appreciate your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. We pride ourselves on our welcoming and service-oriented staff, so I am thrilled they were able to impress you. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

we booked late and were happy with the price, room was very small (but who spends that much time in a room so close to the french quarter anyways? way too much to do.) very modern and very clean. staff was great. all in all a perfect first time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear emsv128, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with at Hotel Royal. We are thrilled you enjoyed our property and staff and hope you will come back and see us if your travels bring you back to New Orleans! Regards, Bradley Latham Guest Services Manager French Quarter Hotel Collection More 

Painesville, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights - my first trip to New Orleans, one of a few for her. The Hotel Royal has a rustic, classic hotel feel. We stayed in two rooms while there - both were very clean. The first night - we arrived far before check-in time, which is normally 4pm. We were going to just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear CEagle69, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant experience with us! I would like to apologize that you experienced a noise issue on your first night, but am glad we were able to remedy the... More 

from Cincy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Charming, historic, clean, great staff, great location just off Bourbon, easy walk to everywhere you want to go. Bottled water and light breakfast were nice touches. Rooms are small, I needed a deluxe. Only real concern was the bed, You kind of roll toward the center. Needs to be replaced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear KenK, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return. Regards, Bradley Latham Guest Services Manager French Quarter Hotel Collection More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a milestone anniversary in New Orleans, and we booked ourselves into the Hotel Royal. We drove into N.O. from Houston which we enjoyed, however driving in the French Quarter and down Decatur Street was an experience. The hotel does not have any parking so be prepared to drop your bags and find a place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Bcdurangoboy, Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience celebrating such a milestone with us. Hotel Royal does have limited parking available on site; however regrettably our lot was full during your stay. We really pride ourselves on our talented and charming guest services staff, and I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

249 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Room (31)
Viewed
Royal Balcony Suite (36)
Viewed
Royal Superior Room (28)
Viewed
Royal Superior Room with Jacuzzi Tub (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question