We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St. Helene

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel St. Helene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #115 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012
just_me_33_12 Tallahassee, Florida
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    38
    19
    29
See reviews for
4
66
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Helene
See the most recent reviews
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Now I didn't book the room, so I don't know how all that went, so this is from the perspective of a guest. This hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter, across the street from a parking garage. The first thing I noticed upon entering is that the floor is black wood & everything else is white. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out and giving us your feedback. You are correct, there are a few parking choices around Ste Helene, there are however, two garages across the street and a lot only a few steps away next door. Our décor is very simple at all of our properties with the color scheme of black and white.... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here because I thought I got a good deal on the room. The location is perfect in the French Quarter and that's about it. The employees were friendly, The rooms were smaller than I expected especially the bathroom. I don't like my knees are almost touching the wall when I'm on the toilet. Our room didn't even get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Than you for your comment and choosing Hotel Ste Helene for your stay in New Orleans. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. Unfortunately I can not tell how you booked and if you talked to one of our front desk agents about a room that would best suit your needs and what exactly you were looking for. Our... More 

US
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here last week with my mom. We were celebrating her retirement. We booked our balcony- street-side room back in August for an early October stay. The day before we arrived I received a phone call saying that a guest had broken a glass door in our balcony room so it would not be ready for us the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

We are so very sorry, but I promise this was simply a miscommunication. This situation was, after speaking with the glass repair company in the morning, they were not able to give us a definite time on when the room would be ready. Given this information we decided to pre-block you to a room that we knew was checking out... More 

San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I were driving from Boston to California when we stopped at this little hotel the heart of the French quarter. It was so funny to walk into our room and see it laid out just like a typical Boston apartment/studio, because just earlier that day I told my boyfriend that I was homesick for our apartment in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Were glad to hear you felt at home, ultimately we want all of our guest to feel like they are at home, and we are extremely happy you did. We wear many hats as the Hotel Front Desk Agent, concierge, parking attendant, tour guide, photographer and much more. Thank you so much for your suggestions,... More 

North Bellmore, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a frequent New Orleans visitor, I found this property to be quite quaint and perfect for our weekend getaway (where I got engaged, btw). It is small, but very comfortable and the rooms have great space. The beds were super comfortable and best of all, the staff were extremely friendly. The location is excellent as well. It is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruston, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was a great hotel , loved the rooms- not vey big but real nice. Not many rooms so not alot of people coming in and out- quiet and close to bourbon street-- loved the pool also. quiet little place that people really don't know about- Jena was a great host-- i never comment on hotels but i really like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

We thank you for letting us be your first review!! More importantly we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself immensely. More 

Houma, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We live only 45 miles NO so my husband and I often drive over and stay a night for a little getaway. We have stayed in many hotels in the quarter and were looking forward to staying at this hotel. The St. Helene has stood closed since Katrina (hurricane) and we were excited to see it being renovated and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all of your suggestions, they are definitely appreciated. You’re most certainly correct, parking in the French Quarter is challenging but St Helene is located near 3 parking options in the one block radius and about 5 within minutes of walking. We are newly renovated all of our rooms are equipped with its own thermostat, bathroom... More 

Owasso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Called a booking service in India. Upon arrival got room quickly traveling with another couple they got an inside room with no windows! They changed rooms to another with a non working AC. Then changed to another. Ok Lighting terrible. The alcove in room with white leather couch didn't have lamps. Only light on room was from bedside lamps! Bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

We are so incredibly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of our rooms do have windows but some of them are only into the walkways because of the way the architecture of the building is. Our Courtyard and French Quarter suites do however have doors out to the balcony; we highly recommend for... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is in Chartres Street which is 2 blocks down from all the busy streets where all the party and bars begin. I was in New Orleans just for 11/2 days and i found the hotel clean, practical, quiet and with a nice little pool. Everything was within walking distance so it was perfect for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, New Orleans is truly a great city! We are glad to hear that you not only enjoyed the hotel but everything the city has to offer. Please come back and stay with us anytime! More 

Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When I booked at the St Helene, one factor for my choice was a review where someone mentioned they had an elevator, though i don't believe their website mentions it. We arrived on a Thurs nite (July 12th, 2012) late to find that the elevator did not work and we were on the 2nd floor. My husband, at 70, is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities