We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 152 New Orleans hotels

Hotel St. Helene

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hotel St. Helene

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
46%
Ranked #108 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013
DRomeo2013 New Brunswick, New Jersey
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    28
    15
    25
See reviews for
4
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Helene
See the most recent reviews
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here last year on a trip down for jazz fest. The Hotel is old but so is the city - thats why we love it. There is a little courtyard and pool in the back. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about but there is a great dinner just down the street. The room was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The atmosphere of this hotel is absolutely charming. However, boutique is the operative word. The rooms are tiny, with big beds and small bathrooms. Luckily on this trip it was just myself in one room, so that was all perfectly fine. The staff were incredibly accommodating, my group and I didn't check in until close to 2 AM due to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arrived and hour early, They were happy to allow us to place our bags in our room. The front desk told us that the fresh bath linens had not arrived for the day but they would bring them up upon delivery. Thank you for not asking us to wait! We had some where to be. Yea! Hotel was a recently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Flossiemcgehee! It was our absolute pleasure to assist with an early check-in. It is our goal to fit the schedule of all of our valued guests, and it looks like we succeeded. I do apologize that the linen had not arrived when expected; there were multiple street closures due to heavy rain. We have since worked on a few back-up... More

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Came the week of Mardi Gras and had an amazing experience. Our room was right next to the pool and the sound of the water was so relaxing. The prior reviews made me nervous but it was nothing at all like the reviews. The staff was extremely kind and very helpful. They held our bags the day we needed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

MHenders0n! Thank you for your kind words! Our team works diligently to ensure each guest experience is as enjoyable as possible. You are right about the Courtyard Balcony Suites! The tranquil courtyard is quickly becoming a favorite among all of our valued guests. See you next Mardi Gras! Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group More

Scappoose, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the St Helene for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. We were on the third floor, in an absolutely beautiful room. Being that the building is well over 100 years old, there were definitely things that a modern did not have, such as a working elevator, and sound proof walls. But what it lacked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Twix0731! What a great review of your recent stay at Hotel St Helene! We love to hear how our guests find the charm of our beautifully-remodeled property as unique as we do. Many guests traveling to New Orleans seem to be trapped in the idea of something “New”. Why not enjoy the new with the old? Thank you for your... More

Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When I was first reviewing this hotel I found mostly negative comments. I am happy to say that from the moment I arrived I had nothing but a pleasant experience. The décor is clean and simple. It was nice to have the pool after doing so much walking in the hot weather. Most importantly, the staff were all extremely nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read your experiences exceeded your expectations. Our historic townhome houses not only a modern touch of decor, but a staff that truly cares for each individual guest. We look forward to your return visit, and again thank you for your review! More

Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at the St Helene. I was a little worried about booking at a boutique hotel since you never know what kind of condition they'll be in or how loud it may be especially in the busy French Quarter. I am happy to say - rooms are well appointed and clean. Comfortable bed and linens.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

I would like to sincerely thank you for your recent review of Hotel Ste Helene. Each member of our staff thoroughly enjoyed ensuring that your stay was as enjoyable as possible. From our housekeeping to front desk staff, we thank you for your stay and look forward to your return visit! More

White Plains
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in this "boutique" hotel that claims to be a "beautifully restored hotel" that gives "a feeling of being home away from home". Arriving late at night I was directed to a shoebox-size cubicle in a corridor on the ground floor. The next day after complaining about the room I was transferred to a slightly larger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am concerned at the number of issues that came up after your stay. You are correct that the size of your room was not comparable to the other suites on property. Unfortunately during your booking, you chose a ‘Standard Queen’ room with detailed square footage. We offer these accommodations... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I chose this hotel to celebrate my beau's birthday in his beloved city - New Orleans. Admittedly, I had tried to get a room at the W in the French Quarter and Hotel Le Marais, but neither of them had availability for our dates. Hotel St. Helene is part of the French Quarter Hotel Group (Melrose Mansion and Hotel Royal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner & I visited New Orleans about a year ago and stayed at the then newly renovated Hotel St Helene. The location is right in the middle of the French Quarter just a few blocks from Jackson Square and Bourbon St. The spacious room was gorgeous, complete with wood floors, marble bath, fresh white sheets and a separate seating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

On behalf of myself and the staff at Hotel St Helene, I would like to thank you for your kind review of your previous stay in our beautifully restored French Quarter hotel. You are correct that the elevator was not in operation, and unfortunately due to limitations in the City of New Orleans we will not be able to offer... More

Been to Hotel St. Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene
Address: 508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Helene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Helene to your Saves list