We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2127 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel amenities
Magnolia Mansion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Mansion to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Deb H Edmonton, Canada
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    8
    11
    21
See reviews for
10
67
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars NEW

Our hostess, Rome, was so helpful and kind. She was full of good advice for enjoying New Orleans. Our room was a treat to stay in. Just around the corner from St. Charles Street car, so we were able to get around the city with ease!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ihad a wonderful stay the beds were comfortable,and the mansion was gorgeous..but one day I was there the owner was speaking to his employee so rude while I was walking up the stairs the nice lady who checked us in.That was unacceptable I dont even believe he knew I was paying attention.I will not be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 8 and arrived in early February. We found the staff and owner to be very thoughtful and accommodating. The Mansion is in a perfect location to just about everything you would like to see and do in the city. Our beautiful rooms were well maintained and the perfect setting for those who wish to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The place is beautiful but unfortunately it is poorly run. They had a continental breakfast of cold cereals & packaged pastries. Even some low end chain motels will provide a hot breakfast included in their $60 something price. Here's the kicker-the milk was rotten both days! Imagine waking up to a crappy breakfast with spoiled milk each day. Stay somewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mansion2127, Front Office Manager at Magnolia Mansion, responded to this review

Wow, very surprised to read this review because I didn't get the impression that you were not pleased with the service here. When you pointed out that milk was spoiled I dumped it and the next day I put out more milk that was purchased that morning. The date marked on the milk was not expired so there was no... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Construction started at 730am New Year's Day. Sawing, hammers, trucks....torture right under our window. Management not onsite when we complained and unable to help. Would have gotten more sleep had we slept in our car.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
288JenniferD, Front Office Manager at Magnolia Mansion, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Vintage 12345 thank you for staying here at the Magnolia Mansion. I'm very sorry about the construction outside your window. But like stated it was not construction done by Magnolia Mansion, and we have no control of the construction site. Our office hours are from 8am-6pm and once I was notified, I arrived at the mansion 20mins later.... More 

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We were charged a $50 "late" fee for checking in after 6pm. She said this information is on their website, but I booked on Booking.com so didn't see their website and no where does it reference this on my reservation. I did go to their website and under FINE PRINT it states there is a late fee for checking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
288JenniferD, Front Office Manager at Magnolia Mansion, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Sandee60 I'm very sorry to hear that your stay us was an disappointment. I understand that you booked your reservation with Booking.com but their site also states in 'Fine Print" about an addition fee for checking in after 6pm. I have also asked them to update the site to list the price of the late check in fee.... More 

Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Our stay at the Magnolia Mansion was quite a disappointment. Our reservation for a specific room was not honored. The owner of the Mansion refused to even review the confirmed reservation printed on their letterhead. No apology was offered. Instead he took the position, in a condescending tone, to inform us that we should be appreciative of the room we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mansion2127, Front Office Manager at Magnolia Mansion, responded to this review

Hello, Craig W I'm very sorry that your stay here at the mansion was not the best. I'm also sorry that the room you booked was not available. When you brought that to my attention I did apologize for the mess up. We have gone thru a change of staff to avoid this mistake from happening in the future. I... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Since it was my husband and I first time in New Orleans we wanted to stay in a B&b for the first time also and picked Magnolia Mansion. We got there around 730 pm and was told if check in is after 630 there was a $25 late fee and their web site stated that. We were in car traveling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Booking.com messed up our reservation (they neglected to inform our hotel that we were coming), so our 3-night stay at one hotel turned into a 2-night stay at hotel 1, with the 3rd night at Magnolia Mansion. Magnolia Mansion was nice. Very clean. And if you like serious Victoriana, you will feel right at home. We were grateful for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mansion2127, Front Office Manager at Magnolia Mansion, responded to this review

Hello, Meh first I want to thank you for staying here at the mansion. I would also like to apologize for Innkeeper not assisting you with your luggage that is not the hotel norm. We currently have new staff that attends to all our guest needs. I'm sorry that the room temperature was unsuitable for you, sorry the Innkeeper should... More 

Montevideo, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We booked Courtyard 1 for five days. We thought this meant it would open into a garden, maybe it is the difference of terminology, but you walked out to the parking lot. When we were there it was unseasonably cold, we had no hot water and no heat. We called the management, if we wanted to shower they would call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnolia Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Mansion

Address: 2127 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Mansion Hotel New Orleans

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay