We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Vincent's Guest House

1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Vincent's Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Vincent's Guest House
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    47
    43
    178
See reviews for
30
69
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (396)
  • Mar-May only
    (149)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
There are newer reviews for St. Vincent's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have previously stayed here, and was planning on staying again when I fell ill. I had booked my trip through hostel.com and had to cancel with the hostel directly. The customer service experience was one of the best I have ever had. My deposit failed to post automatically electronically as it usually would have done. Ms./Mrs. Drew was supremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My name is Todd and I have stayed at St. Vincent's Guest House during Mardi Gras and for other music festivals for the last several years. The accomodations are perfect for me. The bathrooms and linens are clean. There is a nice pool. The staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. I come to New Orleans at least... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently, I had an experience that required above-average customer service. I was extremely inconvenienced by circumstances that were beyond the control of myself or those associated with the Guest House. Peter the owner and Brandy the manager were more than accommodating and resolved my situation to my satisfaction. They displayed integrity and excellent customer service skills. They were sincere in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

Denmark, South Carolina
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
10 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My old high school buddy, Lukas and I spent nine nights in Room 2 on the first floor at St. Vincent's Guest House on the corner of Race and Magazine Streets. I made a reservation through Hostel World.com ten months in advance of the second weekend of the New Orleans Heritage and Jazz Festival 2014. The room had two beds;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

Sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days for the Jazz festival and if I could of afforded it or had more choice when I booked (late booking) I would of left on the first night. I think I will give it a poor rather than terrible as the bathroom was clean. We were given 4 rooms to choose from as we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here for 6 days over Wrestlmania! We communicated with staff via e-mail as we got delayed and arrived from Scotland a day later than planned and very late in the evening, yet staff were happy to ensure someone was there to check us in. St Vincents isnt a place of luxury, lets get that out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us!! More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Worst hostel experience ever. I have always enjoyed staying in hostels because there is usually fun to meet the wide variety of people staying there and you can't beat the price. I would never say that for this hostel. It was more of a half way house than a hostel. We had to leave without staying the night because this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Lots of bad reviews. They are from people trying to stay in a chain hotel for half the price. I had a great time here. The staff was great the room was clean with air conditioning. The in house restaurant pizza gusto was delicious and reasonably priced. The 11 bus runs all up and down magazine st connecting you easily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us!! More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Remember this is a hostel and I've stayed in far worse. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at St. Vincent's. Staff were friendly and responded positively to any requests. Location was excellent, with good access to buses and I didn't pay more than $15 for taxis when needed. Thank you! Jeremy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is my first trip advisor review, but i felt compelled to stick up for the place after reading such terrible reviews about it beforehand. I stayed here for 6 days recently and was a bit apprehensive about it after reading such reviews, but i have to be honest, it exceeded expectations by quite a margin. This isn't the Ritz... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay