We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 153 New Orleans hotels

St. Vincent's Guest House

1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St. Vincent's Guest House to your Saves list
St. Vincent's Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
34%
Ranked #123 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
  • Overview
  • Reviews (392)
  • Photos (148)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    47
    43
    174
See reviews for
30
67
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for St. Vincent's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days for the Jazz festival and if I could of afforded it or had more choice when I booked (late booking) I would of left on the first night. I think I will give it a poor rather than terrible as the bathroom was clean. We were given 4 rooms to choose from as we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here for 6 days over Wrestlmania! We communicated with staff via e-mail as we got delayed and arrived from Scotland a day later than planned and very late in the evening, yet staff were happy to ensure someone was there to check us in. St Vincents isnt a place of luxury, lets get that out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us!! More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Worst hostel experience ever. I have always enjoyed staying in hostels because there is usually fun to meet the wide variety of people staying there and you can't beat the price. I would never say that for this hostel. It was more of a half way house than a hostel. We had to leave without staying the night because this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Lots of bad reviews. They are from people trying to stay in a chain hotel for half the price. I had a great time here. The staff was great the room was clean with air conditioning. The in house restaurant pizza gusto was delicious and reasonably priced. The 11 bus runs all up and down magazine st connecting you easily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us!! More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Remember this is a hostel and I've stayed in far worse. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at St. Vincent's. Staff were friendly and responded positively to any requests. Location was excellent, with good access to buses and I didn't pay more than $15 for taxis when needed. Thank you! Jeremy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is my first trip advisor review, but i felt compelled to stick up for the place after reading such terrible reviews about it beforehand. I stayed here for 6 days recently and was a bit apprehensive about it after reading such reviews, but i have to be honest, it exceeded expectations by quite a margin. This isn't the Ritz... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The ratings in my review here are not great, but I shall explain why this is still a perfectly acceptable place to stay, a place that far exceeded the expectations of me and my friends. First off, it's a hostel. Unless you're royalty, over-complaining isn't really justified. What do you expect? Rooms were never cleaned but I never expected them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

Novi Sad, Serbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

By far the worst place I've stayed at! After a half an hour wait, the reception staff, or whoever was working/living there at the moment shows up to give me my key, totally stoned. Apparently one of the cleaning ladies was living in the room I stayed in at the time, which actually had its perks, as she was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Adored the place at first sight, and fell in love after seeing the room. Unfortunately, we were too early in the year for the pool, but hope to rectify that soon. We loved waking up every morning and walking across the street for coffee and a bagel. Easy walking distance to Magazine street shopping and restaurants and just a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The staff were brilliant even though we had issues booking through a third party they were more than accomodating and i cant thank them enough. The rooms we were put up in were fine for what you pay for. Are they prestine no however they do the job. I had a great time as did my wife when we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! Please come back and see us again!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St. Vincent's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in New Orleans with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Vincent's Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer