We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Vincent's Guest House

1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Vincent's Guest House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Vincent's Guest House
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    48
    43
    183
See reviews for
30
70
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (402)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Gardner, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here (1/9/15) in a dorm room and the mattresses were awful, nasty and I froze all night long. I had blankets of my own but didn't want to bring them in for fear of bugs. There were roaches in the hallways and bathrooms. This morning a very disoriented man locked himself in the bathroom and spent an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StVincentsGuestHouse, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the dorm was was cold on Jan. 9th, there are space heaters in our dorm rooms, but Louisiana experienced a freak cold streak last week and temperature were far below normal. Our dorm rooms have a very competitive price, in the area of the mid $20's depending on whether it's our busy season. We were unaware... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Freezing Cold, Blood And Piss Stains On Sheets!. Piss Stains On Pillow And Pillow Case!!. Blanket With Four Different Types Of Bodily Hair!!!. Bathroom Nasty!!!!. I Can't Even Go No More!. God, Please In The Name Of Jesus, Bless Me The Next Time I Need A Late Stay In New Orleans, Have A Bed Open For Me At The Marquette!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StVincentsGuestHouse, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

St. Vincent's is housed in a historic building in the lower Garden District. The building is old and has it's quirks, but I assure you our staff is available to assist with an complaints that you have onsite. More 

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Listen to your fellow reviewers, because I didn't and I got burned. I've stayed in the past twice, the place is cheap, rooms are cheap, which is fine if your on a budget. This time around they cancelled my reservation, due to their own fault of being overbooked, and initially they didn't want to refund me after it being their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite being comparatively cheap, the rooms are incredibly old and shabby (ripped carpets and curtains, TVs that don't work, a damp smell). We visited for New Years/ Sugarbowl weekend and it was the only place we could find with availability, but would not recommend it unless you're desperate! With no heating and windows that offer no sound or cold insulation,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StVincentsGuestHouse, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

St. Vincent's is a historic building, we provide space heaters when it becomes unseasonably cold. Our prices are extremely competitive for the area and St. Vincent's provides a nostalgic feel. More 

Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The rooms are disgusting and filled with bugs of all kinds. Poor cleaning and just awful. Cheap and central location and friendly staff can't make up for those rooms. Not worth a single visitor. The building from the outside looks nice but the need for maintenance is screaming

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My husband and I showed up to New Orleans late on a Friday night, it was actually 1:00 am, but the staff were friendly and got us taken care of quickly. Hotel was kind of dingy and spooky, and we asked the lady at the front counter if the place was haunted, and she asked "do you want it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Maybe the shared room area is as "scary" as some of these reviewers say, but for my one night stay in private room #24 the place was great. The sheets and towels were clean, the shower, sink, and tile floor were spotless, the air conditioner worked. The bed was comfortable and had a beautiful coverlet that I wish I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Inexpensive stay. Rooms r being restored, but not with quality workmanship. Could be a cool place to stay, well within walking distance to French Quarter. The staff was quite helpful, as we needed to change rooms because of window panes falling out (they were duct taped in)! Needs a lot of work to clean up the property. It needs to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I can't honestly one positive thing about my stay in this establishment. I say "establishment" because it seemed more like a halfway house than anything. The people that "live" there are frightening at best and not in an interesting way at all. They all seemed to be recovering drug addicts or ex-cons. I feared for my life. The place itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a great stay at St.Vincent! What a cool place with a great history and story! It's all about managing your expectations. Don't expect the Hilton when you only pay $50 a night! The rooms were clean, the staff super friendly, best coffee in town just across the street (Mojo) and the location couldn't be better! Thanks St. Vincent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay