We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Vincent's Guest House

1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Vincent's Guest House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Vincent's Guest House
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    79
    49
    43
    184
See reviews for
30
71
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (408)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW

I stayed there for a week and I enjoyed my time there. The stuff is really nice and so is the owner. I met a lot of international travellers so I was never alone visiting the city. The hotel by itself is clean and has everything you need, including a nice coffee house right infront of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually do not write reviews but I felt compelled to warn others. When I came ro check in I waited on a cold, mildew smelling front room where someone was wrapped in covers with an oxygen machine onvthe main sofa. The lights in the front are kept off during the day so it is cold and dark. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These older reviews are extremely unfair. St. Vincent Guest House is great for the price! I stayed for three nights and enjoyed it very much. It is important to know that this is more of a "hostel" rather than a 4 star hotel (With such cheap prices I would have assumed most people knew that). The staff was friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't expect the Ritz because you're not paying for it. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room which was pretty large with a private bathroom. Hotel staff were really helpful when I had a moment of crisis. The location is sweet - plenty of dive bars and dining and it's not far from the French quarter (10 min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gardner, Kansas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I stayed here (1/9/15) in a dorm room and the mattresses were awful, nasty and I froze all night long. I had blankets of my own but didn't want to bring them in for fear of bugs. There were roaches in the hallways and bathrooms. This morning a very disoriented man locked himself in the bathroom and spent an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
StVincentsGuestHouse, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the dorm was was cold on Jan. 9th, there are space heaters in our dorm rooms, but Louisiana experienced a freak cold streak last week and temperature were far below normal. Our dorm rooms have a very competitive price, in the area of the mid $20's depending on whether it's our busy season. We were unaware... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Freezing Cold, Blood And Piss Stains On Sheets!. Piss Stains On Pillow And Pillow Case!!. Blanket With Four Different Types Of Bodily Hair!!!. Bathroom Nasty!!!!. I Can't Even Go No More!. God, Please In The Name Of Jesus, Bless Me The Next Time I Need A Late Stay In New Orleans, Have A Bed Open For Me At The Marquette!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
StVincentsGuestHouse, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

St. Vincent's is housed in a historic building in the lower Garden District. The building is old and has it's quirks, but I assure you our staff is available to assist with an complaints that you have onsite. More 

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Listen to your fellow reviewers, because I didn't and I got burned. I've stayed in the past twice, the place is cheap, rooms are cheap, which is fine if your on a budget. This time around they cancelled my reservation, due to their own fault of being overbooked, and initially they didn't want to refund me after it being their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Despite being comparatively cheap, the rooms are incredibly old and shabby (ripped carpets and curtains, TVs that don't work, a damp smell). We visited for New Years/ Sugarbowl weekend and it was the only place we could find with availability, but would not recommend it unless you're desperate! With no heating and windows that offer no sound or cold insulation,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
StVincentsGuestHouse, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

St. Vincent's is a historic building, we provide space heaters when it becomes unseasonably cold. Our prices are extremely competitive for the area and St. Vincent's provides a nostalgic feel. More 

Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The rooms are disgusting and filled with bugs of all kinds. Poor cleaning and just awful. Cheap and central location and friendly staff can't make up for those rooms. Not worth a single visitor. The building from the outside looks nice but the need for maintenance is screaming

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My husband and I showed up to New Orleans late on a Friday night, it was actually 1:00 am, but the staff were friendly and got us taken care of quickly. Hotel was kind of dingy and spooky, and we asked the lady at the front counter if the place was haunted, and she asked "do you want it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay