We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Vincent's Guest House

1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Vincent's Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Vincent's Guest House
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    48
    43
    178
See reviews for
30
70
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (397)
  • Mar-May only
    (149)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Thomasville, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I showed up to New Orleans late on a Friday night, it was actually 1:00 am, but the staff were friendly and got us taken care of quickly. Hotel was kind of dingy and spooky, and we asked the lady at the front counter if the place was haunted, and she asked "do you want it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe the shared room area is as "scary" as some of these reviewers say, but for my one night stay in private room #24 the place was great. The sheets and towels were clean, the shower, sink, and tile floor were spotless, the air conditioner worked. The bed was comfortable and had a beautiful coverlet that I wish I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Inexpensive stay. Rooms r being restored, but not with quality workmanship. Could be a cool place to stay, well within walking distance to French Quarter. The staff was quite helpful, as we needed to change rooms because of window panes falling out (they were duct taped in)! Needs a lot of work to clean up the property. It needs to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I can't honestly one positive thing about my stay in this establishment. I say "establishment" because it seemed more like a halfway house than anything. The people that "live" there are frightening at best and not in an interesting way at all. They all seemed to be recovering drug addicts or ex-cons. I feared for my life. The place itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hi I was a resident at the hotel for 3 weeks and actually planned on staying longer since they have weekly rentals. My room was a "fixer" so I got the room at a cheaper rate. Still 280 for the week. They told me they usually don't rent to kids (although the people across for me had kids people upstairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Regarding this guest who is a topless dancer on bourbon st., danced all night and slept all day. She was a single mom with three young children ranging 3-7 years old. The Louisiana state department of social services, came and took her children into custody. Re : the room, the toilet was clogged up by the children with plastic fruit... More

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a great stay at St.Vincent! What a cool place with a great history and story! It's all about managing your expectations. Don't expect the Hilton when you only pay $50 a night! The rooms were clean, the staff super friendly, best coffee in town just across the street (Mojo) and the location couldn't be better! Thanks St. Vincent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location, cheap stay, did not feel unsafe, but had a private room for me and my friends. Yes, it is going through remodeling, and yes, it is not for everyone especially if you have not had previous hostel experience. That being said if you need a cheap room and just need it to sleep in (not for looks or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orange, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked here as a late booking to stay one night on our way home from Florida. When we checked in I was leary because they didn't have the rooms we booked and had to place us in 2 different buildings. They specifically said we will put you and your husband in room 24 because it has one bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter073040, Guest Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn't better and that you did not see the window blinds that were available in your rooms in addition to the curtains provided. Our historical guest house is undergoing a major restoration and we hope you will stop by on your next visit to New Orleans to see our progress. More

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had made a reservation through Hostelworld for the weekend of July 4. The reservation was not honored. At first the explanation was that they were remodeling the rooms and could therefore not honor the reservation and give a refund. They then changed the explanation to the deposit not being paid so we could get lost. According to my credit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

We are very sorry we couldn't accommodate you and your wife during your stay in New Orleans. Per the hostelworld agreement, accommodations must be booked in advance and secured with a credit card to guarantee all reservations. Your credit card was invalid (we tried multiple times), we were unable to reach you by phone despite repeated attempts and you failed... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love St.Vincent's for what it is, a budget hotel with a friendly staff, a very comfortable walking distance to many of the most attractive things in New Orleans, the yummy mom & pop restaurants, lots of good clothing boutiques & lovely antique shops, a short walk to the ferry taking you down to the french quarter & back until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay