We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 153 New Orleans hotels

St. Vincent's Guest House

1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St. Vincent's Guest House to your Saves list
St. Vincent's Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
34%
Ranked #122 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
  • Overview
  • Reviews (392)
  • Photos (148)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    47
    43
    174
See reviews for
30
67
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great stay at St.Vincent! What a cool place with a great history and story! It's all about managing your expectations. Don't expect the Hilton when you only pay $50 a night! The rooms were clean, the staff super friendly, best coffee in town just across the street (Mojo) and the location couldn't be better! Thanks St. Vincent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location, cheap stay, did not feel unsafe, but had a private room for me and my friends. Yes, it is going through remodeling, and yes, it is not for everyone especially if you have not had previous hostel experience. That being said if you need a cheap room and just need it to sleep in (not for looks or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orange, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked here as a late booking to stay one night on our way home from Florida. When we checked in I was leary because they didn't have the rooms we booked and had to place us in 2 different buildings. They specifically said we will put you and your husband in room 24 because it has one bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter073040, Guest Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn't better and that you did not see the window blinds that were available in your rooms in addition to the curtains provided. Our historical guest house is undergoing a major restoration and we hope you will stop by on your next visit to New Orleans to see our progress. More

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had made a reservation through Hostelworld for the weekend of July 4. The reservation was not honored. At first the explanation was that they were remodeling the rooms and could therefore not honor the reservation and give a refund. They then changed the explanation to the deposit not being paid so we could get lost. According to my credit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

We are very sorry we couldn't accommodate you and your wife during your stay in New Orleans. Per the hostelworld agreement, accommodations must be booked in advance and secured with a credit card to guarantee all reservations. Your credit card was invalid (we tried multiple times), we were unable to reach you by phone despite repeated attempts and you failed... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love St.Vincent's for what it is, a budget hotel with a friendly staff, a very comfortable walking distance to many of the most attractive things in New Orleans, the yummy mom & pop restaurants, lots of good clothing boutiques & lovely antique shops, a short walk to the ferry taking you down to the french quarter & back until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

nothing fancy but beautiful and pleasant. the rooms are not perfectly clean and some stuff can be broken but I don't really care. The price, the location (on magazine street, very close to down town by car), the pool gave me a good stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have previously stayed here, and was planning on staying again when I fell ill. I had booked my trip through hostel.com and had to cancel with the hostel directly. The customer service experience was one of the best I have ever had. My deposit failed to post automatically electronically as it usually would have done. Ms./Mrs. Drew was supremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My name is Todd and I have stayed at St. Vincent's Guest House during Mardi Gras and for other music festivals for the last several years. The accomodations are perfect for me. The bathrooms and linens are clean. There is a nice pool. The staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. I come to New Orleans at least... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently, I had an experience that required above-average customer service. I was extremely inconvenienced by circumstances that were beyond the control of myself or those associated with the Guest House. Peter the owner and Brandy the manager were more than accommodating and resolved my situation to my satisfaction. They displayed integrity and excellent customer service skills. They were sincere in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

Denmark, South Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
10 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My old high school buddy, Lukas and I spent nine nights in Room 2 on the first floor at St. Vincent's Guest House on the corner of Race and Magazine Streets. I made a reservation through Hostel World.com ten months in advance of the second weekend of the New Orleans Heritage and Jazz Festival 2014. The room had two beds;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter073040, Public Relations Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! Please come visit us again!! - St. Vincent's Guest House More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St. Vincent's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in New Orleans with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Vincent's Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer