We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd

2.0 of 5 4200 Old Gentilly Road (I-10 Exit-239), New Orleans, LA 70126
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
NYC/Dallas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first impression of the place was pretty bad and did not really improve during the stay. Our group had a reservation for 3 rooms but they were unable to find it. The place looks like something out of The Shining, long hallways of dingy paint and suspiciously sticky red carpeting. Two of the rooms were fine, though oddly cavernous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arkansas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised. The motel was clean and the staff was friendly. And the price was reasonable. We would stay here again. The manager said it was an old Howard Johnson so the rooms are quite large. Our room had a hard floor, which is different, but we knew the floors were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I titled this place creepy because that's the only emotion that I kept feeling. The hallways are a soft velvet type of carpet that is stained and the hallways smell like smoke. The first thing I noticed when I entered room 241 was, wow this room is huge in a creepy way. We all want a big room, but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

This motel 6 is wonderful. The staff are terrific, I have been staying almost 3 weeks now. They keep the hotel very clean and safe. It is 15 minutes from downtown New Orleans, right off the interstate. It is true about the area not being the safest. But as long as you stay away from Downman Rd. area you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Room was large with newly renovated bathroom. Bed wasn't very comfy. Staff was helpful with travel tips. Hotel was fine, however the area seems rough. We didn't have a car, so it was not convenient getting into the city. Next time I'll pay the extra $$$ to stay downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avondale, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Looking for a comfortable and clean Motel 6? This one fits the bill. Rooms: -Clean and larger than average. -Desk, chair, lounge chair, luggage bench. -The bed is beyond broken in, but still comfortable. Building/Grounds: -Strong smell in halls and elevator. Does not permeate rooms. -Anti-climb fence around all parking areas. Gates that don't get closed, but the neighborhood seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 245 an its the worst motel I ever stayed in an I won't ever stay in a nother motel 6 in life I couldn't get any sleep because I was up all night. Killing. Roaches this place really needs to be shut down so people please dnt. Give this place ur money

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We have procedures in place related to our pest prevention policy that should have prevented the experience you describe. Please accept our apologies that... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The motel was a nightmare the rooms was dirty bugs in the room ..mattress was torn ,stain and creepy , the parking in the back of the motel was dark and dangerous I was itching all night long the motel had a bad order

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doniphan, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a good cost-effective motel for budget travelers. For about $70 you can get a room with 2 double beds for 2 adults and 2 children, free Wi-Fi, TV and basic amenities. The room was clean and very spacious, and the bathroom looked as if it has been newly remodeled. Overall, I was very satisfied with the price and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bryan, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

You get what you pay for. While the motel was quiet and our room was clean. The staff was friendly. The neighborhood was real bad to the point if you are a female they think you are a hooker. When walking our dog had a strange man follow and stare at us even when we were in the gated parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd

Address: 4200 Old Gentilly Road (I-10 Exit-239), New Orleans, LA 70126
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd Hotel New Orleans
Knights Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Knights Inn

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay