We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd

4200 Old Gentilly Road (I-10 Exit-239), New Orleans, LA 70126
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    15
    7
    14
See reviews for
14
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The motel 6 was clean. The beds were comfortable, but don't look for amenities. There are none. Almost no drawer space, but a small place to hang some things. It was a good size room. Although there was free internet, it is very hard to connect to. Spend a few bucks more, and go to a classier joint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NYC/Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

My first impression of the place was pretty bad and did not really improve during the stay. Our group had a reservation for 3 rooms but they were unable to find it. The place looks like something out of The Shining, long hallways of dingy paint and suspiciously sticky red carpeting. Two of the rooms were fine, though oddly cavernous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arkansas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed here a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised. The motel was clean and the staff was friendly. And the price was reasonable. We would stay here again. The manager said it was an old Howard Johnson so the rooms are quite large. Our room had a hard floor, which is different, but we knew the floors were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I titled this place creepy because that's the only emotion that I kept feeling. The hallways are a soft velvet type of carpet that is stained and the hallways smell like smoke. The first thing I noticed when I entered room 241 was, wow this room is huge in a creepy way. We all want a big room, but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

This motel 6 is wonderful. The staff are terrific, I have been staying almost 3 weeks now. They keep the hotel very clean and safe. It is 15 minutes from downtown New Orleans, right off the interstate. It is true about the area not being the safest. But as long as you stay away from Downman Rd. area you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Room was large with newly renovated bathroom. Bed wasn't very comfy. Staff was helpful with travel tips. Hotel was fine, however the area seems rough. We didn't have a car, so it was not convenient getting into the city. Next time I'll pay the extra $$$ to stay downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avondale, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Looking for a comfortable and clean Motel 6? This one fits the bill. Rooms: -Clean and larger than average. -Desk, chair, lounge chair, luggage bench. -The bed is beyond broken in, but still comfortable. Building/Grounds: -Strong smell in halls and elevator. Does not permeate rooms. -Anti-climb fence around all parking areas. Gates that don't get closed, but the neighborhood seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I stayed in room 245 an its the worst motel I ever stayed in an I won't ever stay in a nother motel 6 in life I couldn't get any sleep because I was up all night. Killing. Roaches this place really needs to be shut down so people please dnt. Give this place ur money

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 New Orleans -Old Gentilly Rd, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We have procedures in place related to our pest prevention policy that should have prevented the experience you describe. Please accept our apologies that... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The motel was a nightmare the rooms was dirty bugs in the room ..mattress was torn ,stain and creepy , the parking in the back of the motel was dark and dangerous I was itching all night long the motel had a bad order

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Doniphan, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a good cost-effective motel for budget travelers. For about $70 you can get a room with 2 double beds for 2 adults and 2 children, free Wi-Fi, TV and basic amenities. The room was clean and very spacious, and the bathroom looked as if it has been newly remodeled. Overall, I was very satisfied with the price and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question