We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Modern

GreenLeadersBronze level
936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hotel Modern
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    257
    185
    99
    48
    36
See reviews for
67
223
42
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (625)
  • Mar-May only
    (224)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's hard to rate this hotel. It is not at all what we are used to, and we were assigned to stay here, otherwise, we never would have chosen it. Some things were ok, but the hotel is definitely in need of several changes that could make it much better. This is an owner/manager issue. Pros: -Some *very* friendly staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

4Bubbles, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at our property. We appreciate the time you have taken in providing the pros and cons. We will definitely use the feedback provided to ensure are service levels are up to the expectations. We would like to speak to you personally in reference to your experience... More 

Los Angeles, California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a simple hotel, no frills, but clean and centrally located. The 2 bars are great, delicious drinks. The beds are new and super comfortable. I've never slept so good in a hotel. The gym is small but efficient. The beauty of a small, discreet gym is no one was ever there so I had it all to myself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Suzydiaz, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and we will be sure to share your kind words with each member of our team you've mentioned. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city. Sincerely, The Hotel Modern More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We didn't have a great experience, we also didn't understand the rooms! Some of the rooms are in pretty much different buildings and no one mentioned it to us. We also had a bad problem with our toilet it wouldn't flush and then our shower wouldn't drain the hotel staff were quick to fix it but still frustrating. Smallish rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Jasmine D, Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We valued your comments and will use them to ensure we are providing the best service and product possible. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced with the plumbing but are happy we were able to quickly resolve the issues. When travel plans bring you back to New Orleans... More 

Tolono, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wow! What a miserable stay! First, we had to wait an hour and a half past check in to actually get our room. The lobby was packed with families waiting to get their room! When we arrived the guy took my license and my credit card and said he'd put me in the queue. After waiting 90 minutes, my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Candy F., Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience with us. we truly appreciate your doing so. We are so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to your expectations and our standards. We would like to speak to you further in reference to your experience so that we may... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff at The Hotel Modern was outstanding. The Valet, Bell Hop, and multiple front desk staff were very helpful. Every question was answered and need was met. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the convention center. The hotel itself is small with no luxurious amenities. Just the bear minimum. No pool, hot tub, or workout facility.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

DCochranAustin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback on your experience with us. We appreciate it and will be sure to share your feedback with our team. Our location is perfectly situated to all the great attractions New Orleans has to offer. We look forward to your next visit with us. Sincerely, The Hotel Modern More 

Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. I stayed here at the ending of my honeymoon and it was a horrid experience. First off if the staff wasn't being rude they were just absent in general. The room was disgusting and over priced. The bed sheets and mattress had stains all over it. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced while with us during your visit. We take each of our guests privacy and security extremely seriously. We would like to ensure any and all issued you experienced while with us have been addressed. We have sent you a... More 

Covington, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ultra Chic modern and contemporary hotel, beds were comfortable. I was most impressed with the service we received from the valet to the front desk staff. They were very friendly, helpful and welcoming especially Justin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Lilbitfrog, Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share. Our team is our greatest amenity. We will be sure to share your feedback with them. We look forward to hosting you in our city in the future. During your next visit be sure to visit our restaurant, Tivoli and Lee. I am... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst hotel I have ever been to! filthy, dirty with cockroaches, the room was not made for 2 days, I had to call them to get it cleaned, it looked like someone had pee in the bed, since it had stains, the manager was very rude and left me talking alone, when I complained. Below average service. Do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

001ui, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We take great pride in the product and services we provide and would like the opportunity to rectify any and all challenges that may have occurred at our property. We would... More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service is what made this hotel as I would otherwise rate this below average. The front door man, Carl, was great. Very personable, great sense of humor and always asking if you need anything. The Bar staff was incredible at both bars with service, knowledge and friendliness. Most likely the best drinks and bartenders I've ever had. They know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Mike H, We appreciate your taking the time to share feedback on your experience with us. We will definitely use it to ensure our services are up to your expectations as well as our standards. Tivoli and Lee is a great local attraction. We are delighted you were able to enjoy your experience there and will definitely share your feedback... More 

Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, if you want to valet, expect a 20 min ordeal. Not the convenience of valet and going about your life. No, Instead the valet is no where to be found, until you call the hotel asking where they are. And then except them to not have "any parking tags" and they leave you with your car for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Ann M, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback on your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We would like to speak to you personally in reference to your experience and have sent you a private message to obtain the best method of contact... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

337 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Large King Room (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (36)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay