We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Modern

Hotel website
936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hotel Modern
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    167
    86
    43
    25
See reviews for
56
192
37
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (550)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my first trip to New Orleans so I had no idea what the hotel would be like. I booked the Modern through a travel plan so I paid in full with no refunds before my trip. I visited the city April 7-11, 2015. I was very satisfied with this hotel. The rooms are structured a little different than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was hugely disappointed in the Modern. For starters, I had already put a deposit of $175 on the room at booking. Then, when I gave them my credit card for incidentals, I was told that they keep a $50 per night "hold" on the card, PLUS the total charges for the room. WHY? They already had $175 of my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Jolene, we are sorry that your experience at the hotel was not as favorable as we had hoped it would be. We are a service hotel so if something is needed we try to bring it to you. So all you would need is to ask and we can provide. It can be a bit unorthodox, but that how we... More 

Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised by the awesome service and amazing food. Our room was beautiful, super clean and cozy with a great view of Lee Circle. There is no question my wife and I will return on our next visit to N.O.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

David, we are glad you had a great time while staying with us! We can't wait for your return and hope that when you return we are able to wow you on service just like the first time. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the moment we walked in we were greeted with smiling friendly faces. Everyone from Carl the concierge to Cassandra behind the bar. We decided to just have breakfast downstairs and I'd be surprised if you could find many places that could rally the quality and choices. Great location directly in front of trolley stops and 1 block from multiple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Nicoli, thanks for choosing us as your last minute choice!! We hope now you can plan a trip to stay with us for a more extended stay! The restaurant is truly a shining spot and we are happy that you were able to experience it!! Until the next time... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's really sad that a hotel with such a good location, an excellent restaurant and a wonderful bar has so poor service. One wonders if there is a manager on board and whether staff get any sort of training. To start with, the room wasn't ready when we arrived and we had to wait until 3:20 pm to get into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience at the hotel. I appreciate your comments, both positive and negative, it all allows us to learn and ensure that we are more consistent with our level of service. It seems as though you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel, and I am truly sorry for the breakdowns... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The management and staff at the Hotel Modern is great. We enjoyed the happy hour specials, went back for a delicious dinner and had brunch the next morning. Everything, including the clean, cozy rooms was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Sissy, It sounds like you had the best time with us!! We are so excited to hear that you had a great time with us, and that you were able to experience a lot of what the hotel offers!!! We cant wait to see you again! More 

Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was extremely nice. The room could have been cleaner, especially the bathroom. The price for the room varies each night and the room was quite small and should never have cost $319 for a night. Location is great, easy to walk to many of the sights. Was promised a breakfast voucher, but never received it despite asking about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Jme R, we are sorry that you had a less than desirable room for you most recent stay. We do offer several room types, and hopefully you can try us out again to find a room more suitable to your liking! I know our staff is eager to see you come back! See you soon More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My fiancé and I stopped in New Orleans on the way home to Fl as a last minute idea for adventure. And what a great place! The hotel Modern is very clean and quite nice along with good pricing! The best thing about the hotel (besides the great location, beautiful view, and easily available parking In a secured lot by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Concho, what an awesome experience!!! It is great to hear that you didn't want to leave because of how well we took care of you. We hope you will be passing back through soon so we get to see you for another extended vacation!! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Typically I don't find myself writing reviews from experiences I've had at different establishment/venues, but I suppose there are alway exceptions that can and should be made. Luckily for me this review is a pleasant one. I could go on and on about Hotel Modern and speak about the intimate and relaxing rooms that remind me of home, which would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Joshua thanks for your review, we are excited to hear that your stay was so exceptional that you just had to tell the world about it!!! Damien and LaDonna always do their best to make sure the guest is taken care, and obviously they hit the mark once again. We hope to see you back soon! More 

Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Luis & Victor welcomed us to the hotel; provided information & tips on where to go in the City. The room was great & very comfortable. Manuel in Valet was super. The hotel is great; the staff makes it superb! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review

Amazing staff is one of the greatest compliments that we can be given!! And also one we will never get tired of hearing. Thank you very much for the praise and we hope to see you again so that we can further show that we are truly here to serve you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

321 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Large King Room (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (36)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question