We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whitney Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Whitney Hotel
Add Photo

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    191
    149
    43
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
134
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (407)
  • Mar-May only
    (191)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice hotel, parking ridiculously expensive. You park yourself and save a lot of money. Staff was wonderful especially Justin at check in desk. No pool, building was very historic and in a nice location. We felt very safe walking around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
washington, d.c.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is an attractive hotel, nice rooms, conveniently located, but 3 major problems: 1. Beds are awful. cheap, uncomfortable mattress--hard (but I like hard beds) that provide no back support. rather felt like sleeping directly on the box springs. 2. gym--2 pieces of broken down cardio equipment. 3. not insulated, so hear all the street noise. I now know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Decatur, Illinois
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the stay. The Whitney is in a former bank and has a historic feel but it is very well updated. The room was fine. The common areas were not large, but you have a quaint feeling on the lobby floor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A short walk to the French quarter, but you avoid the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We appreciate the great review and feedback. If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Quiet room except for housekeeping at 9am. Parking was kind of expensive but the same everywhere else. Service was awesome. Very friendly and helpful people. Room was perfect for 2 people.............

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Temple City, California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Whitney is convenient to the French quarter and down to the Convention Center (where my daughter was in a volleyball tournament.) The room was comfortable and very clean. We were on the top floor which was nice and quiet as well .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We appreciate the great review and feedback. If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The water is very hot and there's no cold water at all... It's awful.. The food is not good.. The staff is friendly and very nice.. More upscale items should be offered for the price of the room at 200. A night! Snacks, toiletries, menus and food and drinks offered.. Promote your business...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear we didn't exceed your expectations but thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We take your feedback seriously and will share it with the staff. I hope we'll get another opportunity to make a better impression when you return to New Orleans. Feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Whitney hotel was a beautiful hotel with great architectural features. The room was spacious and clean with a beautiful bathroom. The bed, though soft, was very comfortable. Its prime location was from walking distance from the French Quarters, Bourbon Street, Riverwalk and many wonderful venues. My regards to the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Gautier, Mississippi
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Whitney Hotel is a great lodging experience. The room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of several really good restaurants and attractions, including the World War II museum. The entire staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is certainly a good buy for your money. We highly recommend it and will stay there... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We appreciate the great review and feedback. If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Newark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I enjoyed staying at The Whitney. The location was great, and the high ceilings were atmospheric. The French Toast option for breakfast was fabulous. And the free WI-FI worked and was most welcome. I would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

10 mins walk to Bourbon St and RiverFront attractions. Conversion from original Whitney Bank has been done very well and very sympathetically. Very comfortable stay, and good value for money! Would stay there again when in New Orleans (but not the valet charges on top of room price - there is NO sensible and secure self-park option!)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans. We appreciate the great review and feedback. If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Casey A. Callais General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

350 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (274)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
King Room (42)
Viewed
King Suite (52)
Viewed
Queen Room - Accessible (44)
Viewed
Queen Suite (48)
Viewed
Standard Room - Two Double Beds (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay