We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Degas House

2306 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Degas House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Degas House
Add Photo

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    16
    3
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
59
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
St. Francisville, LA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A lovely historic house with lots of character in a great location convenient to everything. Esplanade has overarching oaks and fabulous architectural variety, and it's easy to get to City Park and the New Orleans Museum of Art, or the Vieux Carre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent five nights at the Degas House for my sister's wedding in mid-June. My husband, nor myself, have ever stayed at a b/b, so we were a bit unsure what to think... Pros: -The breakfast is top notch. The bananas-foster french toast is to die for and the service was always great. We enjoy talking with the younger girl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Degas House. Since it was your first B&B experience, we realize you have nothing to compare us to, but we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast, grounds and staff and that you recognize and appreciate our history. We apologize that you were uncomfortable on... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent the first days of our marriage in New Orleans, in the Estelle Suite, at the Degas House. We chose the Estelle Suite for its gallery overlooking Esplanade Avenue. We've since heard it described as a magical place, and it certainly was so for us. Time seems to move slowly there; even the sun rises more languorously, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing Degas House for your honeymoon. We are glad that you stayed in the Estelle Suite, as that beautiful room is typically used as the honeymoon suite. The Estelle balcony is spectacular and gives our guests a true experience for this particular part of New Orleans, away from the noise and... More 

Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Degas House in the Mathilde Suite with one friend of ours which is located in Degas II (second building next to Degas I but also facing the street) and had a fantastic time. The suite itself has two rooms that could accommodate up to four people in my opinion, one with a king size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Wow! What an amazing review and what a delight it was to share this with our owner and staff! Thank you for choosing Degas House for your stay in New Orleans and writing this review. It is obvious that you appreciated the history of the home and what it represents as being the only home or studio of Edgar Degas... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

My wife and I pre-paid and booked one of the suites for a week, beginning on Easter Sunday. We arrived in town earlier than expected so went straight to the B&B. We were informed (by a service worker) that the room wasn't ready yet, and to come back after 2:30. So we went into town and came back later. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

We apologize that you could not get into your room early on Easter Sunday. Check-in time is 3:00 pm but you must have arrived early. Also, your check-in followed a very busy holiday weekend. Perhaps you are not familiar with staying in a B&B. Ours, like the majority of B&Bs, only have a few rooms and do not provide concierge... More 

Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Don't be fooled when you book a room at the Degas house. To begin, when arrived at the Degas house and entered our room they didn't even bother to turn on the air conditioner in advance so it wouldn't be an oven when we arrived which they new of our arrival time in advance. There are no windows on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

We apologize that the air conditioner was inadvertently not turned on prior to your arrival. It was cool in the morning when your room was checked. Unfortunately, we are sorry that you did not read the literature on our rooms which explains that the third floor is a garret (attic) which has sloping ceilings and there are no windows. In... More 

Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

If you're an art and history buff, then you'll probably enjoy staying at the Degas House B&B. The house was occupied by Edgar Degas in 1872-1873 and has been recently restored (within last ten years or so). It has wide-plank wooden floors, paint to match the period, and copies of Degas' works throughout the house. The house is furnished with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Degas House. We are sorry that you had a problem with the furniture in your room. In an effort to keep with the historical nature of the home, we provide antique furniture throughout. The pieces may not work as well as modern furniture which we feel would lessen the historical experience. Thank you... More 

Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Amazing place to stay for a quick 2 night visit for myself and my 20 year old daughter. Away from the French Quarter in a quiet beautiful neighborhood but close enough to be in the French Quarter in 10 min (by bus) or even quicker by cab. The breakfasts were AWESOME!!!. My daughter, who can't eat gluten, brought gluten free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Michelle, it was a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us. As you mentioned, Degas House is located in a beautiful area of New Orleans, along scenic Esplanade Avenue. The Bananas Foster French Toast you spoke about is by far one of the most requested items on our menu. We are glad we could accommodate your gluten-free... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

"My sister and I stayed at the Degas House for a family vacation. Where do I begin? We initially had a small discrepancy in our booking. However, the zealous effort that Marie put forth to accommodate us went well beyond the scope of what we expected to heighten our comfort level. The sense of professionalism, coupled with her well trained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Wow, Shannon, thank you so much for your wonderful review of Degas House and our breakfast. First, we thank you for choosing Degas House for a vacation for you and your sister. We are glad that you appreciated the efforts of Marie as she is an asset to Degas House and does whatever she can to accommodate our guests. Your... More 

Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay out the hotel, but decided to visit and go on the house tour as my wife was interested in Degas and his work. Overall the tour was a bit expensive for what it covers. There's a 20 minute video to start, which basically covers most things, and then the tour guide tells you about the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review

We apologize that you were not happy with your tour experience. Normally, the tours are given by one of the great grand-nieces of Edgar Degas. These ladies have been with us for many years (the senior tour guide for 12 years). Some of what is stated in the tour comes from their own experience as this was their family home.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay