We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Hotel

Hotel website
1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Announcement
Jazz Fest!!
Chateau Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #88 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Nohapa Memphis, Tennessee
Add Your Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    184
    75
    46
    43
See reviews for
65
235
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (533)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Our room was the worst we've ever stayed in, small, NO window, black mold in the bathroom and alternating hot and cold water in the shower. Other rooms were better and actually were charged less than our room. I'm amazed that there doesn't seem to be any municipal code in New Orleans. I'd give this hotel a pass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful stay at the Chateau Hotel. It has a great location, wonderful room and the staff was very friendly also. Breakfast was delivered to your room every morning. Had a great time and will stay there again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While this hotel does have it's charm, and the location was terrific, it lacked greatly in the cleanliness department. The bathroom floor was covered with hair, the carpet needed a good vacuuming and you could barely see thru the windows. Also, the water in the shower went from scalding to ice-box cold over and over again. The hotel's saving grace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

my husband & i was in new orleans a few weeks ago. We changed our tickets last minute and needed a one night stay at a hotel. We found chateau hotel. when we first arrived, I was excited about the location. The bell man took our luggage and assisted us to our room. When he opened the door there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The mold at the base of our tub was disgusting. It was raining but there were no safety measures in the flooded hallway or courtyard. Office staff was not particularly friendly. Air wasn't on so I asked for a fan

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Above all else, we pride ourselves in our friendly staff, so I'm disappointed to see you didn't have a great experience with us. We're always happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible, so I hope you were able to get in touch with our staff about cleaning your tub and keeping you safe during the rain. Don't hesitate... More 

Dover, DE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival is when we first informed that our room was not in the main hotel but in an annex 100 feet south of the office and across the street. Then the phone in our room was not working and they said it was an AT&T issue, no apology given, just the attitude of not my problem. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very disappointed to read your comments about your stay with us, Patrick. When you booked your rooms with me, I described your rooms in absolute detail. We received all of you complaints upon your arrival and your sister-in'law's issues as well. We informed you repeatedly the phone was an AT&T issue and called out workman as soon as you... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Previously had stayed here so I knew it was a safe bet. Decided to book a romantic suite, the room was wonderful after a couple hours the door handle failed and required locksmith services. Management was nice enough to comp our parking for two days and gave us an even nicer suite! The previous night we stayed at the Royal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, William, Thanks for the support. Next time you need a romantic getaway, keep us in mind. Best, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second time at Chateau Hotel, New Orleans. Located in the heart of French Quarter it is located just two blocks away from Bourbon St, French Market, Frenchmen St and some other attractions of New Orleans.. Affordable.. Attentive staff, specially Lilian. Definitely I would come back to Chateau Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for coming back! If you could only choose one, what's your favorite place to eat in NOLA? Best, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Bridgewater
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well kept Hotel in the french district. Definitely old , but redone. Room was small and beds were hard as a rock. Excellent breakfast delivered to your door whenever you request it. Great courtyard with pool. Staff are very friendly and and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the support! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the city. Next time you need a getaway, keep us in mind. Cheers, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Portola Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a clean, well run small hotel on the eastern periphery of the boisterous "French Quarter". The interior courtyard with swimming pool is quite nice. The prices are good too. But be advised. If you drive to the hotel you will need to pay an additional $20 per night for valet parking. This is more than the $16 noted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. We'll work to make improvements and hope you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans. Cheers, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

404 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (189)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question