We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Hotel

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Chateau Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #96 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Manami S Tokyo, Japan
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    191
    79
    51
    45
See reviews for
67
250
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (554)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Located in one of the main street in French Quarter, it was a nice hotel to stay. The staffs were very good, the room was clean and resting at the balcony was my favorite time. There were people walking by at the late night so you can walk back from the Bourbon street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Manami, I'm so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us -- creating a clean, comfortable, and welcoming spot for our guests to call home is our top priority, so your words mean a lot to me. We'd love to have you back next time you visit New Orleans! Best, Sarah Drake Manager More 

mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We travel to New Orleans about once a year and stay somewhere different each year in the Quarter. This is my absolute favorite, so I have no need to even try others now. It is so charming with it's beautiful courtyard and excellent Quarter location. It's super clean with modern conveniences and updates that have not diminished the feel of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you felt so at home in our hotel! It's an honor to hear we exceeded your expectations in charm, cleanliness, and service. Our team will be happy to hear your kind words. Hope to have you back for the next New Orleans vacation! Safe travels, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was 108 on ground level and it was unbelievably noisy but I'm convinced no where is quiet in the French Quarter. The shower also had terrible pressure but the bed and pillows extremely comfortably. Good wi-fi was included and an acceptable continental breakfast which you could have in your room or out by the pool. The location was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

It can get a little noisy around the French Quarter, but we'll always do our best to make you as comfortable as possible! I'm glad you had a great stay, and I can't wait to have another chance to host you. Until next time, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient to the French Quarter -- literally surrounded by it. An easy walk to the many points of interest. Be aware that they charge $25 per night for valet parking. Room cost was $149. Room was small but nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. Full of old New Orleans architecture and charm. No elevators, so be prepared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Isn't it nice to be able to walk to your favorite spots around New Orleans, Rick?! Thanks for this great rating, too. It always means a lot to us when our guests have an excellent stay, and take the time to share it. Hope to see you again soon! Until then, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Navarre, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small but comfortable room ..Pricey for the ammenaties you get..Good location in the French Quarter. . great balcony ..when using the shower it fluctuated from hot to cold had to wash my hair in the sink...love the restaurant next door to hotel . Irenes excellent food and service..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you were comfortable during your stay, Parker! Being in the French Quarter is one of the main reasons our guests love staying with us, and that brings along a little high-season price increase. However, we've found it to be very affordable for the area. I can't wait for another opportunity to host you again. All the best, Sarah... More 

Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to New Orleans a lot. The French Quarter is a National Treasure. You have to put up with some things if you want to get at some world class food and drink. This property is in a great location. But we had an interior room with no windows. The bathroom had no ventilation. It was very moldy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

We love the French Quarter, too! However, I wish your room would've impressed you a little more during your stay. The bathroom should always be clean, and any of our staff would've been happy to take the time to clean it for you. We have also recently installed new custom furniture and mattresses into our rooms, and are constantly making... More 

Gillespie, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped at the visitors center and they gave us this card for this hotel. My husband and I thought this hotel looked pretty neat, and we wanted to stay here! Rooms from $69 through the weekdays-- BONUS!! 1) they would not honor that-- guess that was just a way to bait you there... 2) okay, I can deal with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get the best first impression from us. I know you would've really loved the hotel if you had booked a room. As stated on our Welcome Center cards, Welcome Center rates are based on daily availability and are From $69. We're located right in the heart of the French Quarter, and our guests... More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the two room suite for my daughter and I. The suite was located across the road from the hotel. Very high ceilings and lots of brick give this room a real authentic feel. A balcony of the master bedroom is a great place for coffee and the loft bedroom had its own bathroom. It can be very noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like you and your daughter had a great weekend, Don. However, if there's ever anything in your room that isn't perfectly clean, feel free to reach out to the front desk and we'll clean it right up for you. We do not stock the kitchen with a full service cookware set because we do not allow cooking of... More 

Fort-de-France, Martinique
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had second thoughts about writing a negative comment but eventually I think one must be honest. The one and only thing this hotel can boast about is the location. In the heart of the French Quarter, it is really, really great to be a few steps away from some of the city's main attractions. Otherwise, the experience was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Most of our guests really love staying with us, Taina, so obviously I'm disappointed you didn't have a great experience. It seems like there were a few issues that we would've been happy to fix if you had let us know while you were staying with us. Your bathroom should always be spotless, and your water temperature should be consistent.... More 

Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location.Quite part of town but walking distance from Bourbon Street and animations. Simple breakfast in room. We went during Carnaval....perfect time!....We could walk all the way to watch the parade...about 30min walk

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

You did come at a perfect time, Amande! Isn't it nice to be able to walk to all your favorite things in New Orleans? Anyway, thank you so much for this review, and I hope to see you again! All the best, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

411 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (206)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (42)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (189)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities