We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Hotel

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Chateau Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #93 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
j2haynes Liberty, South Carolina
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    185
    78
    48
    43
See reviews for
65
239
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (539)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Liberty, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You really can't beat the location and we did get a very good deal on the rates. The courtyard is the saving grace for this place. Our room was so small that you had to go outside to change your mind. Walls were very thin. The couple next door to us were apparently very religious as we heard "OH MY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you had a great time! Staying in the French Quarter can really make your experience of New Orleans wonderful. If you ever have any trouble with our water temperature, please feel free to let any of our staff members know and they'll be happy to assist you. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again... More 

San Miguel De Allende, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 4 days ago and after leaving discovered that 4-5 thousand dollars of silver coins and jewelry were taken from our luggage.The person or person's left the box in the bag so we didn't notice before we left. We were sure that the items were there when we arrived and the bag was either locked in the car or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Guest safety and room security is very important to us, Tomas. Our hotel gives all our guests peace of mind that their personal items will be safe as they go explore the wonderful city of New Orleans, and we would never break that trust. There is a safe located at the front desk which is available for guest use. This... More 

Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had stayed at the Chateau a few years ago and remembered it as an older, quaint hotel with a great location in the French Quarter. We decided to return to the Chateau for a weekend stay in March 2015. Unfortunately, this stay did not live up to our memory of the last visit. While the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I wish your most recent stay would've been as memorable as your first -- I know our staff can create that experience for you! I'll be sure the hot-water knob in your bathroom gets fixed, too -- I know you were only here a few days, but we would've been happy to take a look at it during your visit.... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is right in the middle of the French Quarter - within walking distance of everything that you will want to see in that area of New Orleans. The hotel itself is nice, very pretty and the vintage design is really lovely. The pool isn't really one that I would have wanted to swim in, but its nice having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Isn't it nice to be able to walk to all your favorite spots in Nola? I really appreciate receiving feedback from all our guests, and I'll be sure to keep all of your recommendations in mind. I hope we have the chance to host you again soon! Until next time, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our arrival, the receptionist promised that the parking fee would be waved with travel flier, and upon checkout, a different receptionist insisted on charging for parking. The parking was $25 which took the reasonable price for us, to an unreasonable price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about this misunderstanding between our two receptionists, Michael. I hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay, though! Feel free to reach out to me at (504) 524-9636 if you have any further questions regarding the parking fee. Sincerely, Sarah Drake Manager More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was the worst we've ever stayed in, small, NO window, black mold in the bathroom and alternating hot and cold water in the shower. Other rooms were better and actually were charged less than our room. I'm amazed that there doesn't seem to be any municipal code in New Orleans. I'd give this hotel a pass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I always want out guests to love their visit -- so it's disappointing to see we didn't get it done for you. Mold in the bathroom definitely doesn't sound like us, but I hope you were able to reach out to our staff to come take care of it for you. We're always happy to help! Sincerely, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay at the Chateau Hotel. It has a great location, wonderful room and the staff was very friendly also. Breakfast was delivered to your room every morning. Had a great time and will stay there again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful room and friendly staff?! That's what I like to hear. Hope to see you again soon! All the best, Sarah Drake Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While this hotel does have it's charm, and the location was terrific, it lacked greatly in the cleanliness department. The bathroom floor was covered with hair, the carpet needed a good vacuuming and you could barely see thru the windows. Also, the water in the shower went from scalding to ice-box cold over and over again. The hotel's saving grace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

While I'm glad to see you loved our location and comfortable beds, I wish we could've impressed you a little more with our service. Nobody likes a unvacuumed floor, and you can rest assured I'll be forwarding this along to our staff. It honestly doesn't sound like us to leave a room dirty -- but I hope you were able... More 

chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my husband & i was in new orleans a few weeks ago. We changed our tickets last minute and needed a one night stay at a hotel. We found chateau hotel. when we first arrived, I was excited about the location. The bell man took our luggage and assisted us to our room. When he opened the door there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you were able to sit by the pool and enjoy your lunch during you short stay with us -- that's one of my favorite spots, too. However, I hope you accept my apologies for the cockroach in your room. Don't hesitate to reach out to one of our staff members next time to make sure the problem is... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The mold at the base of our tub was disgusting. It was raining but there were no safety measures in the flooded hallway or courtyard. Office staff was not particularly friendly. Air wasn't on so I asked for a fan

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Above all else, we pride ourselves in our friendly staff, so I'm disappointed to see you didn't have a great experience with us. We're always happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible, so I hope you were able to get in touch with our staff about cleaning your tub and keeping you safe during the rain. Don't hesitate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

404 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (189)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question