We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Frenchmen Hotel

Hotel website
417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Frenchmen Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Frenchmen Hotel
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    160
    40
    41
    24
See reviews for
52
200
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (131)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Frenchmen is in a great location and the staff was very helpful. We had to wait a little bit at check-in, but the owner upgraded us to a Queen suite! We were only there for one night, but I wish we could've stayed longer (and enjoyed the pool and second-floor deck).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Margie, Happy to hear you had a good stay. It can be quite the chaotic situation at check-in especially if everyone shows up all at once. It seems to have worked out for you though. Thanks for writing in. We appreciate it. Do come back and see us again soon. More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Frenchmen Hotel is a great location with updated rooms and a small pool. Free breakfast, WiFi, and a friendly staff. Right on Frenchmen street for nightlife and now Louisiana Music Factory is right next door! All of your NOLA music needs in one place!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Joe, Thank you so much for taking the comment on our place. We appreciate it. It is short but right to the point. Thanks again. More 

Lafayette
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Alright, alright...I've been convinced...The Frenchmen Hotel is deserving of the coveted five star rating! Impeccable service, AMAZING location, heated pool, continental breakfast included. You've won me over and The Frenchmen earns the five star rating I rarely give out to hotels. The goods, for those who are unfamiliar: - very reasonable price - heated courtyard pool - did I mention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Andrea, We are honored and humbled. Thank you so much for this very glowing review. John is a peach and we know how lucky we are to have him. Can't wait to have him take a look at this. He's going to bust. Again, thank you so much for taking the time write, and so enthusiastically. More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed for four nights Tuesday through Saturday on an "off" week in March 2015. We had an absolutely wonderful time in New Orleans, and were very happy with our time at the Frenchmen. We really appreciated being able to walk out onto Frenchmen Street and find great music and food, and also being able to walk... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

JB1520, Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as if you read the reviews before you got here if you came prepared for the music. Rooms are being renovated one at time at the moment but by the middle of the year they should all be... More 

Conifer, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a Marriot type stay, this is not your hotel. If you truly want to experience New Orleans and the best street in the French quarter, it's a perfect place. The staff is amazing, very accommodating of your needs and the hotel cleaning staff did a great job! We are planning to start doing two trips... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Mike and Lori, Thanks you so much for writing. We to love to hear the staff has been appreciated. We think we have a great staff. You can't image how nice it is to hear that you've chosen us as you New Orleans home away from home. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was hesitant from the website and view from the street. I quickly changed my mind upon entering our room, very clean. The hotel is very New Orleans with pool and hot tub in the courtyard. There is a rooftop deck and a grill is available for you use. The rooms were recently remodeled including the bathrooms are newly tiled.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Ann Marie, It is good to hear that we changed your mind. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We do provide only a continental breakfast as a B & B, and you are right the cafes near by are brilliant. I hope you got down to the Cake Cafe. If you didn't go next visit. More 

Carlsbad, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was wonderful and large to feel comfortable hanging out in before you head out on the town at night. You could hear music near the balcony (you are on Frenchmen St!) but in the bedroom with the door closed it was very quite. The things I did not like was that the WIFI was terrible and all my... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

brew760, Thank you so much for writing. Sorry to hear about the WIFI. We did have to have our internet provider out to fix some of their equipment. Thank you for pointing out that you did not get daily service. This will be brought up to the housekeeping staff as every stay over guest gets service daily unless the guest... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Frenchmen is in the perfect spot, with a gorgeous atmosphere and friendly staff. Incredible music on your doorstep and away from the crowds of the French Quarter. Gorgeous pool too. Couldn't ask for more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

wellitywell, Wow! Now that's a nice review. Thank you so much for writing. We appreciate it more than you can imagine. Come see us again real soon. More 

Chatham, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the anti-Hilton experience in a good way. Everything was in need of repair, but nothing major. Great little patio out of the way of the other rooms where you could party after hours. Pool was perfect. We had a group of 14 folks and our theme for the weekend was Bennie and the Jets - she's weird and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Mark, You're our type of guest. We love guests who get that we are not cookie cutter but unique to our city and our location while maintaining a professional standard. Thank you so much for writing. It makes us happy to know that you and your fellow guests had such a good time. More 

Ottawa, ON
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We choose this hotel for location. It is just outside the French Quarter but close enough to everything. The nightlife on Frenchmen street was amazing. The air conditioning turning off/on was loud and a bit disturbing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review

Eddie21_8 Thank you for writing. We too love our location. We do hope you identified the issue to the Front Desk so that we can get that Air Conditioner on line for repair. We like to stay on top of these things as creating is a comfortable environment for our guests in paramount to us. Hope to see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

407 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (182)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Poolside Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (25)
Viewed
King Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (60)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question