We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 145 New Orleans B&Bs / inns

New Orleans Guest House

2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1118 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Treme - Lafitte)
Hotel amenities
New Orleans Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Orleans Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #78 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Jeffrey L
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
51
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed one night, rooms were slightly dirty but the location made up for it, being a 5 minute walk from bourbon st. Staff was really friendly and the outdoor patio was a really nice touch. Would definitely come back if even in New Orleans again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went 10 years ago - this place is located other side of street from French Quarter, therefore less pricey (at that time). Parking has high gates, locked at night, to secure car. We rented 2 rooms on 2nd floor - plush carpet, vintage furniture, sinks, etc., but everything worked. Quaint outdoor porch where they served excellent breakfast (paper doilies, strawberries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days and really enjoyed the location. It is a very short walk into the French Quarter and an even shorter walk to a little convenience store if you need anything. The staff was friendly and it was a perfect little spot for our honeymoon on a budget. Bring your own hair dryer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room needed some major updating: bathroom mirror needs replacing, one area of baseboards needs replacing. The chair in the room looks dingy) more of an outdoor chair). Overall, bed was comfortable and looked clean, but there was a stain on the bedspread. The bath towels were thin (one even had a hole in it). Several cats outside. Outdoor breakfast area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I went the last weekend with a friend, we didn't have any idea about this place, but when we arrived there we were really happy to see is so close to the french quarter, is basically in the French Quarter is only one street from there. we walked everyday to the french market and bourbon street and it was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

If you're looking for an authentic hotel in the French Quarter - look no further! The hotel is very hard to miss with its bright pink exterior, I happened to think it was somewhat cute - others thought differently. The room that I stayed in was on the ground floor right in the courtyard. It was convenient to access -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anoka, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

This is the unqualified worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We checked in, room #8 looked presentable and cute with antique furniture. Two drawers were immediately opened, one on the dresser, one on the night stand. The night stand contained what appeared to be illicit drugs, white powder in a baggie. The dresser contained live wriggling white wormy termite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
philip p, General Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this review

I am very disheartened that you had anything other than an excellent stay with us at New Orleans Guesthouse and will be happy to respond to each issue you had as we on a daily basis strive to improve and value each and every guests concerns and opinions. I was called by Marcia the front desk agent on duty as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a room by the courtyard and it was clean and so comfortable. Every member of the staff we encountered was gracious and so friendly. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Wendy, the desk clerk that checked us in, was an absolutely wonderful!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
philip p, General Manager at New Orleans Guest House, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay! We loved having you as our guest, and we loved the event you were here for the group was so much fun! Wendy is a joy to have . Hope to have you as our guest again soon! More 

Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This a great spot to stay! Very convenient to everything! Staff is super sweet! Does need some updating, especially in the courtyard area, but all in all a very nice place to stay. If you are not a cat person this is probably not for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My husband and I traveled to NOLA for medical reasons and needed a place for two nights. We like old, friendly, charming, quaint places and wanted a place where we could safely walk to the French Quarter at night after our medical appts and one that wold not break our budget. We were very happy with the New Orleans Guest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Orleans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Guest House

Address: 1118 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme - Lafitte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Orleans Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Guest House Hotel New Orleans

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay