We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Madison hotels

Dahlmann Campus Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Langdon St, Madison, WI 53704
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Dahlmann Campus Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Dahlmann Campus Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
SanDiegoW_traveler San Diego
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
28
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights and overall good experience. Nice touches like they pay for cab to and from airport and free shuttle to campus. Also decent breakfast and complimentary appetizers. Negatives were soft uncomfortable mattress (at least to my taste) and WiFi a little spotty. Overall good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear SanDiegoW Traveller, Thanks for much for staying with us and for taking a few minutes to share your impression. I'm glad that your visit was overall very enjoyable! You may be happy to know that as part of a significant renovation taking place this winter, our WiFi service will be upgraded and improved to alleviate the spotty service you... More

indianapolis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Picked this hotel at the last minute and had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. Very quiet, even though there were several families with small children. The free appetizer in the evening and free breakfast the next morning was a bonus I wasn't expecting. I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nancy V, I'm so glad you enjoyed your first visit with us! It's great to know that you found the hotel to be quieter than you expected, and that you appreciated our numerous complimentary amenities. I appreciate your sharing your thoughts and we'll look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Madison. Sincerely, Bill... More

New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We've stayed at the Campus Inn several times, so when we were planning room blocks for our July 2014 wedding, this was an obvious pick. The location is perfect, the rooms are lovely and the freebies (breakfast, evening appetizers) are a nice perk. The sales staff was so easy to work with, and the weekend of, the front desk staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear KateinNY295, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts. We're so glad your wedding was a success, and we were honored to have been part of your very special day. I've passed your very nice comments regarding our sales and front desk staff to those teams - I'm glad they were able to make your planning and your guests'... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I really like this hotel. The staff is very friendly and the facility is charming if a little old fashioned, and it's in a great location. However, if you need internet service to stay in touch with work or the world it's really a problem. The Wifi is virtually non-functional, and you are tied to a 2 foot long ethernet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hillary2014, I appreciate your taking a few minutes to share your impressions of the hotel, and I'm very pleased that overall, you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel, our staff, and our location to be to your liking. We are currently addressing improvements to our internet service which will be incorporated into a renovation which will begin next... More

Philo, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the location, right at the lake and State Street, the heart of UW campus town. Stayed there three times. Room sizes vary greatly while price is the same. I continue to stay there year after year because of ease of parking, nice hotel overall, service oriented staff, and free breakfast and happy hour. I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear molly K, I'm so glad you have found our location to be so perfect for your many visits to Madison. I have shared your very nice comments regarding our service with our staff, and they are very appreciative. Thank you for your loyalty, and for taking a few minutes to share your review with other Trip Advisor readers. We... More

Winona Lake, Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Great location for a Badger football weekend/birthday weekend. No hot tub but you can park there before an early game and get to the game in time. They even park and retrieve your vehicle from the tricky parking situation. The lobby/breakfast room/garden patio are awesome. They even put breakfast out early for the Iron Man people:). It may not be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear dchandler1, I really appreciate your taking a few minutes to submit a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your choosing us and I'm glad that our parking and valet parking situation worked well for you on a busy football weekend. Your comments about our public areas, and most notably our outdoor patio are much appreciated - we've... More

Kirkland, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I have stayed here twice now, and had similar experiences both times. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are helpful, however the rooms are small and outdated, as others have mentioned and the first time I stayed, I actually got a double bed, which is almost unheard of in a hotel. This time I was 'upgraded' to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall, and appreciate your loyalty to us! I think you'll be happy to know that we are going through a significant renovation very soon and will see an update of our décor as well as the elimination of double beds... More

Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I stayed at the campus in this week. It is a GREAT location and seemed to be VERY clean. The style of the hotel, old and outdated, are NOT my style, but may be yours. I had a room with one queen bed and it was a very small room and bathroom. As far as the free appetizers, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Go_to_AZ, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm very glad you found our hotel to be extremely clean, our location to your liking, and that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I'm disappointed that our classic décor was not to your liking, however you may be glad to know that we... More

Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This hotel looks better in person than the pictures on line make it seem. Some things in the hotel are a bit out dated but there is so much this hotel offers that makes our stay so easy, it remains our first choice hotel. If you are visiting the Univ of Wisconsin and your student lives near Langdon, Lake, Greek... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Opmom24, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a good stay and found the hotel to be so much to you liking in terms of our location and our complimentary amenities and services. I appreciate your comments regarding some aspects of the hotel appearing dated - this could be partially due to the nature of our classic... More

Williamston, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I believe that a hotel can only be as good as its management, and the Campus Inn is an excellent hotel because Mr. Wellman is an amazing manager. If you have had an occasion to speak to Mr. Wellman, like I have, you know that he genuinely cares about guests satisfaction with their stay in the Campus Inn. That makes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear JoLa6555, Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive, detailed, and complimentary review! Your comments regarding the perfect cleanliness, quiet, and comfort of our guest rooms, along with your compliments of our staff and the building itself, are all is very much appreciated. I'm glad we could be a relaxing, convenient retreat for your activities in... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dahlmann Campus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahlmann Campus Inn

Address: 601 Langdon St, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dahlmann Campus Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dahlmann Campus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campus Hotel Madison

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay