We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Madison hotels

Dahlmann Campus Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Langdon St, Madison, WI 53704
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dahlmann Campus Inn to your Saves list
Dahlmann Campus Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
82%
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Go_to_AZ Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    35
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
27
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the campus in this week. It is a GREAT location and seemed to be VERY clean. The style of the hotel, old and outdated, are NOT my style, but may be yours. I had a room with one queen bed and it was a very small room and bathroom. As far as the free appetizers, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Go_to_AZ, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm very glad you found our hotel to be extremely clean, our location to your liking, and that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I'm disappointed that our classic décor was not to your liking, however you may be glad to know that we... More

Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel looks better in person than the pictures on line make it seem. Some things in the hotel are a bit out dated but there is so much this hotel offers that makes our stay so easy, it remains our first choice hotel. If you are visiting the Univ of Wisconsin and your student lives near Langdon, Lake, Greek... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Opmom24, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a good stay and found the hotel to be so much to you liking in terms of our location and our complimentary amenities and services. I appreciate your comments regarding some aspects of the hotel appearing dated - this could be partially due to the nature of our classic... More

Williamston, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I believe that a hotel can only be as good as its management, and the Campus Inn is an excellent hotel because Mr. Wellman is an amazing manager. If you have had an occasion to speak to Mr. Wellman, like I have, you know that he genuinely cares about guests satisfaction with their stay in the Campus Inn. That makes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear JoLa6555, Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive, detailed, and complimentary review! Your comments regarding the perfect cleanliness, quiet, and comfort of our guest rooms, along with your compliments of our staff and the building itself, are all is very much appreciated. I'm glad we could be a relaxing, convenient retreat for your activities in... More

Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives: Great location and parking, pretty lobby and first floor, nice breakfast included. Negatives: Our room was shabby, tired and in disrepair - didn't want to look in the corners that were dirty, peeling paint, and peeling wallpaper. Extra air bed was flat in the morning. Walked into room both days to hear the scratchy small clock radio playing (that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear BayAreaSloz, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our location and complimentary parking, and we appreciate your comments regarding our lobby and our complimentary breakfast. I'm very concerned that you were disappointed in the quality of your guest room; we pride ourselves in taking great care... More

Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here to see a concert at the Overture Center which was about six blocks away. It was move in weekend on Campus and we heard no noise at all in our room. The hotel was very clean and had traditional furniture. The staff was friendly. We could walk to great bars and restaurants on State Street. Once we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joyce J, Thank you for the very nice review. I hope you enjoyed the concert at the Overture Center and I'm honored they you selected our hotel to host your visit. I appreciate your very nice comments regarding our quiet rooms, our staff, and the cleanliness of the hotel. Please let me know how we can make your future... More

Hamilton, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Campus Inn for two nights while leading a training at the Lowell Center. The folks at the front desk and bar were super friendly, the hotel was cute and clean, and it was perfectly located (across from the Lowell Center and a few buildings away from the Memorial Union and lake). It's also very close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Martha B., Thanks so much for taking a few minutes to share your experience with other travellers. I'm so glad you had such a great stay and that our location worked out so perfectly with your work at the Lowell Center. Your very nice compliments about our staff are sincerely appreciated and have been passed along to them. We... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times and always found the staff exceptionally helpful and cheery, the rooms very attractive and well appointed, including comfortable beds and good chairs and lamps for reading. The cleaning staff does an excellent job. The comfortable, quiet lounge offers a good refuge for a drink at end of day or a simple breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mary P, Thank you for being such a loyal guest! I'm glad you've found the hotel to be such a great experience for you. I've passed your very nice compliments regarding our staff along to them. I'm really glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful garden patio - it really is a pleasant experience, made even more so... More

North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Here are the positives: good location, helpful front desk staff. However these do not outweigh the negatives: The room rate is overpriced for the value received. My room with 2 queen beds was small, the bathroom tiny, the closets do not have doors on them, the wifi is spotty and slow, the hotel is not "perfect" as described, the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I'm glad you found our location and service to you liking. Needless to say, I'm disappointed that we let you down regarding some of the other aspects of your stay. I believe our web site accurately depicts all of our guest room, both in photos as well as descriptions. Our standard rooms are more... More

Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Service at the hotel was good as those at the front desk were helpful, but that didn't make up for the old and worn everything. Carpet and overall decor is obviously old and not the classy, well kept old. Our bed was so old that the whole thing sloped towards our heads. Shuttle was very limited. Walls seemed paper thin,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Dear TBS-VeryFunny, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I'm so glad you enjoyed the service provided by our staff during your visit but I'm quite disappointed that our décor seemed lacking to you. We strive to keep the hotel and all of it's furnishings in top condition; I do think that some of your impressions may be the result of... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Previously a reviewer had said this hotel was so old that it still used standard metal keys. That's part of the charm of this nice old hotel. It is decorated like my great aunt's house, but also just as clean. Actually, even though the furnishings, carpet, and wall paper appear to be a very conservative and old style, I believe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-The_Campus_Inn, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and for taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers. I'm glad you appreciated the charm of our classic European style décor. I hope you found your stay to be a good value, as we do offer more complimentary amenities (breakfast, parking, WiFi as a few examples) than any of our... More

Do you own or manage Dahlmann Campus Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dahlmann Campus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahlmann Campus Inn

Address: 601 Langdon St, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dahlmann Campus Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dahlmann Campus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campus Hotel Madison

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Dahlmann Campus Inn