We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Madison hotels

HotelRED

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Save Saved
You added HotelRED to your Saves list
HotelRED
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
87%
Ranked #12 of 63 hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Erin D Chicago, Illinois
  • Overview
  • Reviews (219)
  • Photos (107)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    42
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
43
71
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had such a great stay @ HotelRed during the Madison Mini Marathon. When we got there, the front desk personnel was warm and friendly. Offered us a complimentary cocktail-of-the-day and truffles from a chocolate shoppe down the road. We had a view of Camp Randall with a balcony to boot; the room itself (a king suite) was gigantic and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before booking my room anywhere, I read the reviews so I was aware of many of the complaints against HotelRED. My wife and I went there for a one day visit to Madison and just wanted to hang out away from the kids. HotelRED is a unique hotel and not for everybody. The use of concrete throughout the hotel (floors,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mequon, wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We stayed with my daughter and family with a one year old who was crawling. The floor was dirty when we came in and even after 3 phone calls and one person to person contact the floor never got cleaned, it was FILTHY, not even swept. Kitchenette very sparse,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay. I am very sorry you had several issues. With this information I can work with our team to improve on everything that happened. If we say we’re going to clean the floor then we need to clean the floor. It should have been properly cleaned to begin with and... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were in Mad-town for a 50th birthday party in Shorewood Hills. Recommended by our dear friend. She was spot on! Hip, cement, clean lines, and friendly. Wonderful staff. Have a hotel shuttle. Ben took care of us and loves and knows Madison well. Thank you Ben! Great mini bar stocked with WI high-end products. Great out-door balcony We'll be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review of your stay. I’m really happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. I am also happy that you were able to use the shuttle. We are very lucky to have Ben. Please let me know if you ever in Madison again, we’d love to make your next stay even better. I hope you... More

Saline, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A very nice hotel. Very contemporary, so if you want typical "mid west" don't stay here. But we loved it. Large rooms, very comfortable bed, and absolutely fantastic shower. Service good but just lacking something - not sure what. But saying that, I will definitely stay here again if I return to Madison.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at HotelRED for a personal getaway of a few days in Madison. This boutique hotel was everything I had hoped it would be, and even a bit more. I had a king executive room, which was extremely spacious, and had a well-equipped kitchenette and a fantastic bathroom. The multi-jet shower really is worth raving over. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STILLWATER
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't be deceived by the exterior. This boutique contemporary hotel is delightfully warm. We were greeted by charming staff who treated all four of us to local gourmet chocolates. The rooms were quiet, and perfect location for us to explore the campus. I imagine during a football game the ambience is different as it sits next to the stadium.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at HotelRED. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the Maurie’s chocolates. We’re very lucky to have such a great local chocolatier so close. I also hope your exploration of UW was successful. If I can ever help with anything in the future please let me know. Thank you again and I hope... More

Bloomington, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We (two couples) came to Madison for the weekend and stayed here. What a great find. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, including Ethan, one if the chefs, who helped us with our bags and gave us some yummy strawberry cake to sample. Free biking and boating. Comfortable rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of HotelRED. We are very thankful for both the review and your choice of hotels. I was very excited to read the nice comments about Ethan. We are very luck y to have him as part of the team. He has been with us since opening and his joy has not quite... More

Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice staff, nice room, great shower, good location...if only the room didn't smell like a damp basement. Not sure if it was due to the rainy days, or the fact that the shower opened to the room, but there was a definite musty odor. I thought maybe it was just the price of staying in a concrete room, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us at HotelRED. We are very appreciative you stayed with us. Thank you as well for letting me know about the smell in your room. I am personally sorry. Every room should smell fresh. With the help of your comments we have checked all possible causes including our AC units and possible leaks... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second stay and decided to get a one bedroom capitol suite this time as I was staying for a few days. The upgrade was worth the extra money. Had a nice kitchen area but with so many good places to eat in Madison did not use it. Great sun-filled room with modern furniture that not only looks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage HotelRED, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Address: 1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HotelRED 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Madison with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madison #8 Business Hotel in Madison #10 Family Hotel in Madison
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from HotelRED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer