We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Cortez hotels

Retro Inn at Mesa Verde

2040 E Main St., Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly American Garden Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Retro Inn at Mesa Verde to your Saves list
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Cortez
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014
Matthew_G66 Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Are you looking for a good place to stay when visiting Mesa Verde? This motel is in a great location. It was really clean and the wifi room connection was good. Our room was located far enough from the street we did not get any street noise. The breakfast wasn't anything special but ok. The surrounding area is full of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin V, Manager at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

It’s Official! We are now Open for Business!!! Come by on your way into town and check out a room! RETRO INN at MESA VERDE has Clean, New, Comfortable, Quiet rooms at a GREAT price! New Pics Coming Daily!! Fully remodeled property at a budget accommodation price! Don't pay double for what you can get for less here! More

Trenton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Was routed to this motor lodge when all else was full. Old time motor inn but clean and since only needed for sleeping after a long day at Mesa Verde full filled that need. Did not care that it was old and not upscale, Don't travel to stay in a motel room but did have wifi and plenty of toiletries... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin V, Manager at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

New Owners!! New Managers!! But thats not what is important.. Whats imortanat is the Rooms have been COMPLETELY remodeled. New Furniture! New TV's! (old retro phones!!) New Carpet!!! with a budget Motel price, now that IS Crazy!! More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped in based on TA posts. Found out that this inn went under bankruptcy protection 4 days ago. Talking to the young lady at the desk, she indicated that the manager of the holiday inn across the street has been assigned oversight responsibilities. Major focus on upgrading and bringing quality up to build occupancy rates. Room we have is twin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin V, Manager at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

We finally did it!! We are now OPEN!! Newly Remodeled! New everything really, lol! You have to check us out when you get into town! Its better than most at a price that seems too low to be safe. : ) Pics coming daily! More

Sedona, Az.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked a room at the American Garden Inn without my usual due diligence via tripadvisor. It was with much regret that I found the facility in need of a lot of attention. We were given a room that had not been made up yet and was furnished with outdated funiture and threadbare carpeting. The parking lot had cracks with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here two nights and the room was spacious and absolutely spotless. The pool and hot tub were nice but the pool was dirty. The breakfast wasn't fancy but it offered a large variety with pancakes, waffles, bagels, donuts, cereal, fruit and juice. I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizMunich, Manager at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindness and the time to share your experience with other travelers - it helps everybody! We all put a lot of time and effort together to keep our rooms clean for you! We have a very steady housekeeping and maintenance team and they take pride in their job! Most of the team has been with us... More

kansas city
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This motel looked OK from outside but room was horribly dated. The walls were not insulated and it was hard to sleep with tractor trailer traffic whizzing past on highway....Breakfast was not decent, so we ate at Denny's across street. Towels were hard and raggedy. Old Tv,. Felt dirty!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LizMunich, Owner at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. In our small town we do not have a lot of street traffic later in the night. We understand that while traveling to unknown places it maybe sometimes hard to rest and relax. We offer different booking categories to meet everybody's budget: Most of our rooms are in economy setting but... More

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very old fashioned but it was very clean. It was as clean or cleaner than some of the higher class hotels I've stayed in. I was pleasantly surprised to find a kreuk coffee maker- my favorite! The pool & hot tub were very nice. My husband used the hot tub while I chose a long soak in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LizMunich, Manager at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

Our team takes pride in the job and everybody tries to do the very best to make your- stay as enjoyable and memorable - let us know where we can meet your needs better! Clean, save and quiet are extremely high on our priorities to allow you a relaxing and peaceful night. We also focus on a secure and fast... More

Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our room appeared to be very recently remodeled,and very comfortable. As a previous Motel owner, I am more critical of cleanliness comfortability than many. Clean means return guests. I will recommend and stay here in the future.Another plus is great management and Elisbeth,(owner/manager) was extremely friendly and helpful. An older large motel, it is easy to access,easy to park, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LizMunich, Owner at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

Thank you for your qualified comment. Your input is extremely valuable for all travelers: As a previous Motel Owner you very well know the heart and effort all of us put together to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. You know the unknown: The hidden spots that make the difference between clean looking and really clean! The spacey room... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spend about 180 nights a year in hotels, mostly on business and am leery of off brand hotels. I was booked into the American Garden in as part of Ride the Rockies tour and I found the hotel to be exceptional. Lisbeth was very friendly when we checked in, the room was ready, clean and spacious. Having a mini... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LizMunich, Owner at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

Ride the Rockies is a challenge for this area: We all are proud and love having you here! We all try to meet everybody's expectations to the best, but we are also aware of the extraordinary situation and the stress of a bike race! Thank you so very much for taking the time and effort to share your experience -... More

manchester uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

clean room comfortable bed quiet not many visitors easy to find, eay to park Pool closed breakfast poor place looks a bit run down and so do the staff! Couldnt figure why sound of music clothes were on sale in the breakfast/ reception room. was going to stay another night but couldnt be bothered driving back from mesa verde to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LizMunich, General Manager at Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, responded to this review

Thank you for the time to allow other travelers to make an educated decision on where they would like to spend the night. - The sound of music clothing is an analogy to the Alps in Europe: Ouray is called the Switzerland of the United States. I have heard alpine Music being played in Durango and Silverton - so I... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Retro Inn at Mesa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Retro Inn at Mesa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Inn at Mesa Verde

Address: 2040 E Main St., Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly American Garden Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Retro Inn at Mesa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cortez

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
2:54
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Completely Remodeled - RETRO themed Motel! Comfortable, New, Clean, Friendly, Convenient, Economical and Quiet! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer