We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grand Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    305
    437
    235
    88
    55
See reviews for
293
494
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1120)
  • Mar-May only
    (325)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (369)
All months
Koksijde, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the outside of the hotel and the lobby, lounge and sitting rooms all still reflect the grandeur of colonial times; the rooms however do need an upgrade to modern comfort (old TV and cabling, bathroom, no wifi, noise, ....); breakfast was OK but our meal in the inhouse restaurant was not digested very well; the personnel in the hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went there for dinner and wished we had booked to stay there. Beautifully decorated hotel. Had drink in piano bar before delicious meal in Thai restaurant. What sets this place apart though is the fantastic service from the minute you step in the door. Duminda(?) in the Thai restaurant was particularly good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at heritage hotels is always been a delight for me and staying at Hotel Grand Nuwara Eliye was like living in a heavenly dream. Hotel Grand is in Nuwara Eliya and adjacent to it is a beautiful lush green golf course and the hotel property itself is surrounded by tropical greenery and enjoying cool climates. Even if you choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night coming from Yala on our way to Kandy. The food was delicious at the magnolia restaurant. The staff was amazing! They were very welcoming. The management should consider modernizing for the needs of today's travelers. Power outlets are minimum and compared to other hotels we stayed in. Although the hotel says you can request for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Our sincere thanks for reviewing us. We are happy to note that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We have taken special note of areas for improvement mentioned by you and will most certainly take remedial action We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Nuwara Eliya and look forward to serving you... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed at Grand hotel recently for couple of nights. It is by far the best hotel in Newara Eliya.The quality of food has improved tremendously over the years. The mexican chicken and mixed grill at magnolia restaurant is a must try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for reviewing us. To surpass expectations of every single guest is our prime objective and to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one, gives us encouragement to do even better. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Nuwara Eliya and look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Resident Manager. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrible service. We found hair all over the bathroom wall and it was very disgusting. $200+ for a five-star experience. wow. The interior is very dark and the staff wasn't very helpful, if not rude and aggressive at all. Yes, everyone can put on a smile but don't expect sincere services. We have great hopes and expectation for our only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lapta, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We knew this was an old hotel but were disappointed with our room.There was no balcony and no fridge which you would expect in a hotel of this standard.It was the only hotel on our trip where we had a free day so we were very disappointed to find out that there was no swimming pool.What the hotel lacks in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, and we are happy to note that you had enjoyed in particular the food we serve in our restaurants. Your disappointment at not being able to enjoy time in a swimming pool is understandable, and in fact, we are commencing work on a heated swimming pool and a state-of-the-art Spa, which you would... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent in all respect ,aothantic thai food, i can recomen food is hygenic food. Grand hotel is super authentic & excellent service staff.the garden is super and got the 1st place in april flower festival.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for reviewing us. To surpass expectations of every single guest is our prime objective and to hear that your stay and particularly your experience at our Thai restaurant was an enjoyable one, gives us encouragement to do even better. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Nuwara Eliya and look forward... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't stay at The Grand Hotel but visited for High Tea which is daily from 3:30pm and cost us Rs850 each. We were put off from the beginning as we received a lovely warm welcome from the doorman only to then witness him being chastised in front of us by a rude colleague. Apparently we should not have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Whilst thanking you for reviewing us, we are saddened to hear that your High Tea experience was not what it should have been. However, we are pleased to inform you that your comments have been studied closely and remedial action has already been taken. We strongly believe in improving our selves constantly, as such I hope you will... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very beautiful, and is located in the heart of the town. So it is walking distance for many other places. The hotel is wonderful and well maintained. The service is good, but the food is exquisite. The rooms are quite spacious but the rooms does not have Air-conditioning, and someday times get a bit warm. Heaters are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks for reviewing us. To surpass expectations of every single guest and deliver an excellent brand of service is our prime objective and to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one, gives us encouragement to do even better. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Nuwara Eliya and look forward to serving you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

833 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (825)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (284)
Viewed
Room/suite (121)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
View from room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (239)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay