We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Certificate of Excellence
Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan, Bali 82162, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one month for an organized event and was impressed with the beautiful location and setting, however extremely disappointed with the state and price of my shared room and the daily buffet. The room itself was made of concrete cylinders and the bathroom was always wet and dark. There was no hot water and at one point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Moonbeams, Thanks for staying with us for a whole month during the teacher training and for the review. Nothing much to say but that is the price we offer, we are sorry if you took the more affordable option with a sea view and feel dissapointed about it. The old room offers sea views for the beach break, it... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So you have yoga camps and set reserved times for them to eat and that's great but stick to the times so the general tourists can have a drink at sunset and then plan to have a meal. The yoga crew come in and have a shake while the rest of us are willing to have a drink, entree and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Happy Campers, Yes, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. We are fully aware of the situation, we open the place to public at the best time so that everyone can be happy and get their meal. and again, thank you for the compliment for the food. we wish you a safe travel and hopefully to see you... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I've been to Pondok Pitaya a few times now. It's a great way to get away from the more crowded parts of Bali and truly relax. The hotel is right on the beach, with healthy food, surfing and yoga. The yoga teacher is fantastic and lead us through a slow yet intense class (all with waves in the background). This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for the review!! Finally a review from a repeater, we hope you had a better Balian experience as each more years passes. The resort is heading to the healthy and active life style to give something different than Seminyak or Canggu. We hope you enjoy the food selection and the activity we try to provide. Again,... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Very beautiful hotel decorated mainly with re-used old wood. The surrounding is very quite and peaceful. There are water features outside the rooms which attracts lots of insects so insects repellent is a must. If you are a surfer then this is the best destination for you. Nearby is a sunset point if you fancy some nice relaxing sunset moment.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Nabin, Thank you for your easy to read, compact and full of kind words testimonials. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a safe travel and hopefully we can see you again in the near future. - Pondok Pitaya- More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I traveled to Balian with my family in February. I am the mother of 4. My husband and eldest son surf and I am an avid yoga buff. My other 3 kids were happy to play in the pool and enjoy the lush open space at the Pondok. I will return,..90 minutes of full attentive yoga by an experienced and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Renae, Thank you for your testimonial. its really good to hear that you and your family had a blast in Balian. We hope we can have you back next year for more beach adventure. again, thank you for your kind worlds. - Pondok Pitaya- More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I'm 4 months pregnant. My husband and I knew this might be our last chance to holiday before the baby comes. So we wanted it to be special. Destination? (Easy...) Bali. But this time we want to experience the real face of Bali, not those we usually see in Kuta, Legian, etc. Darius, a good friend since childhood happens to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Dear Audrey, First of all, thank you for the long and detailed testimonial. We are very happy to have you and your husband here. Its good to make new friends and we hope to see you and Aqi for many years to come. we wish you the very best for your young family, eat lots of good food and look... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Pondok Pitaya is the perfect place to surf, do yoga, or just relax. The property is located right on the beach, which is perfect for those who want to surf. The pool and restaurant also overlook the beach. The entire property is beautiful and the rooms are clean and lovely, with a rustic touch. They also offer a few yoga... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Tiff, Thank you for taking your time to write us a testimonial. We hope Pondok Pitaya can be one of those place you remember during your quest to travel the world in 80 days? months? years? again, thank you and look forward to see you again...or soon. - Pondok Pitaya - More 

balisurfing
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Great location on the beach, perfect place to hang out watching the surfers. Daily yoga classes, free Wifi and a much improved menu. A while back the food was rather poor but it has been much improved and have enjoyed some delicious meals from a very wide menu. Also excellent cocktails. Great place for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Would live... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Robyn, Thank you for your kind testimonials. we are very happy to hear that you and your partner had a blast with us. We wish you more happy and safe travel, and hopefully see you next year...or month hehe. - Pondok Pitaya- More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at pondok pitaya, lovely surroundings can watch my partner surf while lying by the pool, room was nice, free wifi at the restaurant,food was great, best mie goreng I've ever had,staff friendly and very helpful,good service ,Darius the manager really friendly, was going to stay in canguu next visit but will come back to pondok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Robyn, Thanks so much for the kind testimonial. Thanks for spending time here and enjoying your time in Balian. We hope you and your husband have a blast while staying here. we look forward to have you back. Thank you. - Pondok Pitaya - More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is a great place to go. It's got everything you could want from a holiday in Bali, without the crowds. The hotel and its amenities (restaurant, pool, gardens, yoga studio) hold absolute prime beachfront position that cannot be beaten. I think that a real standout is their staff. Every single one of them is always smiling and happy. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Ryan, This is probably the longest testimonial Pondok Pitaya ever had. Thank you for spending time typing and writting the best possible words for us. We are so happy to have you around in Balian, we wish you the best of luck when you are back in Sydney so that everything is smooth and awesome. Again, thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay