We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan, Bali 82162, Indonesia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    22
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is situated just on the Balian Beach so the location and the views from the swimming pool are unbeatable. This hotel is just perfect if you want to relax, surf or practice yoga. The only minor complain we have is with the restaurant staff, it took for ages to get the breakfast served. This happened everyday so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Based on the quality of this accommodation in comparison with other accommodation throughout Bali and indonesia, pondok pitaya is nearly 3 or 4 times the rate of others. A fair price for theirs aircon rooms would be 300k and not 850k. A fair price for their fan rooms would be 200k and not 750k. In addition to thieir ridiculous prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi PK, We are very sorry that you did not have a great experience with us. I am so sorry that you think our pricing is slightly higher than what you expected. For the room quality that we provide our customer, it is a fair price that we offer to our guests. I assume you are looking for a budget... More 

Santiago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated right on the Balian beach break, which makes it an ideal location if you're in Balian for the surf. Great little bar with good food options and reliable WIFI. It's a good mid-range accommodation option.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi JK, Thank you for staying with us, we hope we can constantly provide our guest with a good standard of service for a better Balian experience. Thanks again for your kind testimonial, we wish you a safe travel. - Pondok Pitaya - More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just came back a few days ago and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. It was simply peaceful and relaxing. Very family oriented as well as well suited to single travellers. Enjoyed the vinyasa yoga while I was there but unfortunately I don't know how to surf otherwise, you won't want to leave the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Momokinky, Thank you for your testimonial. we hope Balian can be a short breeze holiday away from Singapore. please come back and we hope the next time you are here, we can provide you with a surf lesson. have a nice day. -Pondok Pitaya- More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of night during our last visit to Bali. The beach is right outside our step which is amazing. The room is antique look which is nice but it was not clean, the sheets felt worn out and what is wrong with the shower? With three young kids the shower gave us hell!! Drips only,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing property! The decor is artful, service is awesome. Rooms are clean, tidy and so artsy. None of those city decor and closed up walls. Learn to Surf or Yoga in this place will surely make you a human being again! Love the team!! When you come to this place, you realize what Bali is all about or what they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi SW, thank you for your lovely testimonial. we hope you really had a nice stay with us and thank you for being a very fun guest while staying with us. we look forward to see you again. - Pondok Pitaya - More 

Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pondok Pitaya is for surfers. Don't expect a 5 star Seminyak hotel. We stayed in a 2 person room with a beautiful bed. Great being able to get up early and check the surf easily. Be prepared for all of the families who stay up the road in A/C lodges to take over the pool during the day. Limited set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Dear Australian07, Thank you for your kind testimonial. We are adding and upgrading more sunbed in the pool for everyone to enjoy. We will take your input for pancakes and muesli for the breakfast menu. Thank you and we hope you have a great stay with us. we look forward to have you again in the future. - Pondok Pitaya... More 

Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked the happy house....a big mistake the house was dirty (geko / frog poo every where) it was dark and very open letting heaps of mozzies in. Mosquitoe nets had holes and both my 2 and 4 year old were eaten alive despite mozzie nets down and mozzie coil burning all night we also taped up holes for my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Rocky, Thank you for your feed back and thank you for your kind patience. We are aware that the Happy House needs an upgrade and we thank you for pointing it out. yes, our River Suite is the latest addition to the hotel with brand new aircon, beds and all. We are trying to deal with the dog issue,... More 

Seaside Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Pondok Pitaya I have just finished 45 days in Balian and loved every minute of it. Everyday the surf is almost perfect if not perfect and the smiles and vibes throughout the village makes you feel way more welcome than at home. When you step onto the property of Pondok Pitaya you are first stunned in awe with how perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Dear Tyler Hasselhoff, Thanks so much for the testimonial. We hope you enjoyed your daily burger and chicken schnitzel. place is not the same without you, need to put back those guns back in your arms for paddling. hope all is smooth back home and we hope to see you soon for a longer stay. Send our regards to your... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I stayed here for one month for an organized event and was impressed with the beautiful location and setting, however extremely disappointed with the state and price of my shared room and the daily buffet. The room itself was made of concrete cylinders and the bathroom was always wet and dark. There was no hot water and at one point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Moonbeams, Thanks for staying with us for a whole month during the teacher training and for the review. Nothing much to say but that is the price we offer, we are sorry if you took the more affordable option with a sea view and feel dissapointed about it. The old room offers sea views for the beach break, it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
7.9 mi away
Alila Villas Soori
Alila Villas Soori
#2 of 9 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balian Paradise Resort
Balian Paradise Resort
#5 of 9 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 9 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
11.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
1.1 mi away
Villa Rumah Pantai
Villa Rumah Pantai
#616 of 1,565 in Bali
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay