We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Certificate of Excellence
Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan, Bali 82162, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    19
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pondok Pitaya is for surfers. Don't expect a 5 star Seminyak hotel. We stayed in a 2 person room with a beautiful bed. Great being able to get up early and check the surf easily. Be prepared for all of the families who stay up the road in A/C lodges to take over the pool during the day. Limited set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Dear Australian07, Thank you for your kind testimonial. We are adding and upgrading more sunbed in the pool for everyone to enjoy. We will take your input for pancakes and muesli for the breakfast menu. Thank you and we hope you have a great stay with us. we look forward to have you again in the future. - Pondok Pitaya... More 

Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the happy house....a big mistake the house was dirty (geko / frog poo every where) it was dark and very open letting heaps of mozzies in. Mosquitoe nets had holes and both my 2 and 4 year old were eaten alive despite mozzie nets down and mozzie coil burning all night we also taped up holes for my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Rocky, Thank you for your feed back and thank you for your kind patience. We are aware that the Happy House needs an upgrade and we thank you for pointing it out. yes, our River Suite is the latest addition to the hotel with brand new aircon, beds and all. We are trying to deal with the dog issue,... More 

Seaside Heights, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pondok Pitaya I have just finished 45 days in Balian and loved every minute of it. Everyday the surf is almost perfect if not perfect and the smiles and vibes throughout the village makes you feel way more welcome than at home. When you step onto the property of Pondok Pitaya you are first stunned in awe with how perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Dear Tyler Hasselhoff, Thanks so much for the testimonial. We hope you enjoyed your daily burger and chicken schnitzel. place is not the same without you, need to put back those guns back in your arms for paddling. hope all is smooth back home and we hope to see you soon for a longer stay. Send our regards to your... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I stayed here for one month for an organized event and was impressed with the beautiful location and setting, however extremely disappointed with the state and price of my shared room and the daily buffet. The room itself was made of concrete cylinders and the bathroom was always wet and dark. There was no hot water and at one point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Moonbeams, Thanks for staying with us for a whole month during the teacher training and for the review. Nothing much to say but that is the price we offer, we are sorry if you took the more affordable option with a sea view and feel dissapointed about it. The old room offers sea views for the beach break, it... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

So you have yoga camps and set reserved times for them to eat and that's great but stick to the times so the general tourists can have a drink at sunset and then plan to have a meal. The yoga crew come in and have a shake while the rest of us are willing to have a drink, entree and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Happy Campers, Yes, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. We are fully aware of the situation, we open the place to public at the best time so that everyone can be happy and get their meal. and again, thank you for the compliment for the food. we wish you a safe travel and hopefully to see you... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I've been to Pondok Pitaya a few times now. It's a great way to get away from the more crowded parts of Bali and truly relax. The hotel is right on the beach, with healthy food, surfing and yoga. The yoga teacher is fantastic and lead us through a slow yet intense class (all with waves in the background). This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for the review!! Finally a review from a repeater, we hope you had a better Balian experience as each more years passes. The resort is heading to the healthy and active life style to give something different than Seminyak or Canggu. We hope you enjoy the food selection and the activity we try to provide. Again,... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Very beautiful hotel decorated mainly with re-used old wood. The surrounding is very quite and peaceful. There are water features outside the rooms which attracts lots of insects so insects repellent is a must. If you are a surfer then this is the best destination for you. Nearby is a sunset point if you fancy some nice relaxing sunset moment.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Nabin, Thank you for your easy to read, compact and full of kind words testimonials. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a safe travel and hopefully we can see you again in the near future. - Pondok Pitaya- More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I traveled to Balian with my family in February. I am the mother of 4. My husband and eldest son surf and I am an avid yoga buff. My other 3 kids were happy to play in the pool and enjoy the lush open space at the Pondok. I will return,..90 minutes of full attentive yoga by an experienced and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Renae, Thank you for your testimonial. its really good to hear that you and your family had a blast in Balian. We hope we can have you back next year for more beach adventure. again, thank you for your kind worlds. - Pondok Pitaya- More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I'm 4 months pregnant. My husband and I knew this might be our last chance to holiday before the baby comes. So we wanted it to be special. Destination? (Easy...) Bali. But this time we want to experience the real face of Bali, not those we usually see in Kuta, Legian, etc. Darius, a good friend since childhood happens to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Dear Audrey, First of all, thank you for the long and detailed testimonial. We are very happy to have you and your husband here. Its good to make new friends and we hope to see you and Aqi for many years to come. we wish you the very best for your young family, eat lots of good food and look... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Pondok Pitaya is the perfect place to surf, do yoga, or just relax. The property is located right on the beach, which is perfect for those who want to surf. The pool and restaurant also overlook the beach. The entire property is beautiful and the rooms are clean and lovely, with a rustic touch. They also offer a few yoga... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DariusSadeli, General Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review

Hi Tiff, Thank you for taking your time to write us a testimonial. We hope Pondok Pitaya can be one of those place you remember during your quest to travel the world in 80 days? months? years? again, thank you and look forward to see you again...or soon. - Pondok Pitaya - More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay