We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Jln. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    265
    46
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
223
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (337)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staying at the Matahari was a beautiful experience the staff were wonderful gardens were serene the pool was delightful and the beach was a stroll away. The down side was the furniture was uncomfortable and the activities were and meals were expensive fortunately alternatives were a just a short walk away. Awesome place to stay and so nice to experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my 2nd visit to Bali and I was not disappointed. If you are prepared to take the 4 hour long but very scenic taxi drive over the mountains to the Northern coast, you will get right away from the hectic hustle and bustle of the South. Here you will find only tourists who come to relax or dive,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul O, Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and for sharing your experience. I am very pleased to know that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you would like to come back again. I am very sorry to read that our service in our restaurants... More 

Kel662
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for our last 6 days in Bali on our honeymoon and when we arrived we were greeted with beautiful flower wreaths, a delicious fruity cocktail and taken to our room. We stayed in room 8 and it was really nice and central so equally close to the pool and the beach. The whole resort was so beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kel662, Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your impressions with TripAdvisor readers. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Resort and all its facilities. I truly apology for the inconvenience caused with the lack of service concerning... More 

Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have had the opportunity to stay in some fine hotels/resorts, and this was by far my best experience. I found the property and accomodations beautiful. From the intricately carved doors of the rooms to the outdoor dragon shower, the phenomenal spa architecture to the restaurant by the black sand beach, the fine breakfast buffet accompanied by tranquil and beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michael C., Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review about your experience during your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your kind words about the comfort of our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, the professionalism of our staff as well as the breakfast and the food. I am also delighted to... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The hotel is good. The staff is nice but not great. The person who took us to our room did not know how to operate the air conditioner. When we convinced him it was not working, the engineer came and it took a long time to fix. Food was good, not great. However, they took us snorkeling off a nearby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SandyfSanDiego, Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa. I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality, service and hospitality and I truly regret that we fell short on our goals. I do hope having the pleasure... More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We stayed at the MH Beach R&S during a tour around Bali. From the start we had a couple of incidents that left us puzzled. First, one of our fellow travellers requested a new hair dryer at the front desk. The staff didn’t understand the issue even after the electricity went off when they had plugged the hair dryer in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mare 1205, First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I was too surprised that none could salve immediately the problem with the hairdryer and were not able to secure a table. I have shared your comment with our Reception and Restaurant directors to understand... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Came to check out the Beach Resort and my husband and I went to the restaurant on the water. We saw a buffet that looked nice and the chef told us all the meat was Australian (I have lived in Bali 2 years and am very weary of Indonesian or Balinese supplied meat because of the common practice of putting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline K, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our beach restaurant. I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality, service and hospitality and I truly regret that we fell short on... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Stayed at Matahari Beach Resorts and Spa for two nights in May 2015. This is an excellent place which delivers on the expectation of a high-end resort in a quite part of the island. Few points worth making for those considering the option: 1- The resort is very far from the airport (about 4 hours drive); insure you have enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gdilieto, Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that we reached your expectations. There is a lot to discover during the drive to the Matahari Beach Resort & Spa. Passing small villages you are able to catch a glimpse of daily... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The Matahari is a small and independent slice of paradise in a very quiet corner of Bali. We spent 8-days here and didn't regret it for one second. The rooms (bungalows) are all traditional Balinese in taste - with beautifully crafted features, a huge four-post bed and an outdoor shower (in addition to an indoor shower over the biggest bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JimL, Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor. We are all delivering the best service to provide you the sensation that you are at home, your Bali home. This is our daily objective and I am proud that you had the chance to fully experience this.... More 

hyderabad
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

perfect place, we stayed there for 4 days and enjoyed every minute of them. the staff is really professional, friendly, competent and make your stay smooth. the restaurants are very good, food is served very fast and it is high cuisine. the hotel is nicely designed and you feel home, pool is lovely and we enjoyed it a lot, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Choncon-Hyderabad, What a treat to read this wonderfully written comment on Trip Advisor, regarding your stay with us at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa! Thank you very much. We truly appreciate your honest opinion and your enthusiasm. The beach is not so attractive but, compared to other areas in Bali, the ocean is calm and nice to swim. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (229)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay