We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

5.0 of 5 Jln. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Price
25% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    35
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
50
186
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Grembergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great surroundings. A quiet location, even if the resort is located next to a busy road. PERSONAL welcome by the Manager. Smooth service in the restaurant, at the beach, at the reception, with the cashier. Even if I wanted to formulate a complaint (what I didn't want to do), I can't find anything wrong with this hotel/resort. You can experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kindermans, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am very pleased to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you recommend our resort. Our location is perfectly suited for relaxing as you have mentioned. It’s nice to hear that you pointed out the “smooth services". I... More

Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Let me start this review by saying that retrospectively having started out in Ubud at the wonderful Uma by Como (see review) and ending at the extraordinary Amankila, The Matahari Beach Resort is not the level of elegance and sophistication of either of those properties. That said, the room and property were beautiful. We were upgraded to what we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lee F, Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoyed your time at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa but very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet 100% your expectation. Giving great importance to your feedback, I have shared your thoughts... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were in the Matahari for 3 days in the rain but it was well worth it. The dining is incredible and the service top class. It's a good bit our from everywhere but suits a day trip to Menjangan Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JaveyF, Thank you very much for this kind review. It is a pleasure to read on TripAdvisor that you enjoyed your recent stay in our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, as well as our services. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon . Warmest regards from the North West of Bali. Jany-Michel Fourre General Manager More

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Absolutely stunning rooms, service and location. Staff could not have been more accommodating. Beautiful grounds. Lovely lounges by the beach. We were warned that is was "quiet up there". Not a place if you want to attend Bali night clubs, but serene and intoxicating. Good place to snorkel and scuba. Largest rooms require a step up into bed. Step is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Caracal2011, We appreciate very much your great review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had such a "perfect" stay with us and I'll make sure to share your comments with my entire team! We would like to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back soon! Warmest regards from the North West... More

Diest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

People our friendly, original wooden carfed balinese furniture and woodwork, excellent food, the bungalows are wonderful.The beach restaurant is right at the beach with tables on the beach.Some Balinese life music in the back ground during breakfast and lunch. Just perfect. Beautiful beach, no white sand but that is not a problem and is part of the natural environment. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vince816, We would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit at our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed all the details we are putting together to satisfy our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Warmest regards from... More

Berkeley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I appreciated Jon C.'s warning about the short ladder/stairs to the bed and the slipperiness of the bathroom floor and I am certainly sorry about the painful and frightening experience he describes. And I'm sure I would have also been quite angry if I had written to the owner and received no response. But I want to express my hope... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Travel_Lover, Thank you for your kind comments after your stay some time ago. My team and I are especially glad that we not only gave you a nice time during your stay but that you also brought back home nice memories. Thank you so much for sharing these with us and the TripAdvisor readers. We hope to welcome you... More

London
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
81 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was our final stay after 5 weeks of travelling and we were looking forward to some relaxation and beach time. On the plus side, our room was very attractively furnished with a carved wooden four-poster, a very nice bathroom with a full size bath tub and an outside shower. It was very well maintained with towels changed twice a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jinty27, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and writing a review about your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the design, the surroundings, the ambiance, the service and the culinary offerings of our resort. I would like to inform those who would like to watch TV, that we... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I am sorry to say that this beautiful hotel is dangerously deficient in safety standards and management acceptance of responsibility. Until this is rectified, it would be best to avoid it or run the risk of serious injury, as happened to us. There are no doctors on the premises and good hospitals are at least a 4 hour drive away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 48
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Readers of Tripadvisor, We are very sorry that you have read this private email between Mr. Copeland, an otherwise respectable travel writer, and me. From the first mail on Mr. Copeland insinuated and later threatened us to publish about this very unfortunate accident with Ibu Murni. We would like to inform our future guests that our beds are traditional... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

this resort was like heaven! months after my stay, i still rave about it and highly recommend it to anyone who needs a change of perspective. it's location is very of the beaten path, secluded and ideal for someone seeking to get away from it all. the villa we had was beautiful, the food amazing, and the service beyond reproach.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Robert A, Thank you very much for your recent stay and review. I am so pleased to read that you have had such a wonderful experience stay with us and that you will recommend our resort. Our location is perfectly suited for relaxing as you have mentioned, and I am happy to read that the service from our team... More

Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This place really is a magnificent place to relax. The rooms are delightfully decorated with intricate wood carvings. The lack of tv in the room was strange at first, but if you are staying in such a wonderful place you don't want to spoil the absolute peace and quiet with tv nonsense. The gardens are immaculate and wonderfully maintained. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Travelboo76, Thank you very much for your kind comment about your stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa. I am very pleased to read that you have had such a great time with us and did enjoy the traditional Balinese atmosphere of our Resort and all its facilities. I would like to inform those who would like to watch... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jln. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay