We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Jln. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    278
    49
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
57
234
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (356)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Buonas, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

- perfect location - great villas - very nice atmospare - Beach front perfect to relax - staff extreamly friendly - Food excellent - specialy the Breakfast Buffet was great - we will come back in the futures

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only went for lunch. Beautifully landscaped resort with great little touches everywhere. We had a great lunch with great staff and service. It was a little overpriced but a nice experience. The barracuda in banana leaf was a highlight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michael L, Thank you very much for choosing our Leon Beach Bistro for lunch and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the quality of our cuisine as well as the service of our dedicated team. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Delightful total experience. Flexible helpful staff and beach front restaurant that dreams are made of. The yoga class at 8 am wast very good with personal guidance. The pool is beautiful and the gardens are well kept.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy M, We want to thank you very much for taking the time to share such a nice feedback on your stay with us on TripAdvisor. How wonderful to know you love our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa. Our quality of service is our main priority and we are therefore delighted to hear you found our staff “flexible helpful”.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. We were made very welcome by the staff and the manager made a special effort to come up and say hello. We did the snorkelling from their boat to Menjangan island and it was well organised and the fish were plentiful and colourful. The food is extraordinarily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ofearlessone, We want to warmly thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa on TripAdvisor. It is an honor to read that you noted us as “one of the best places we have stayed in Bali”. We are very grateful for your kind comments in regards to the quality of... More 

Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good hotel with a beautiful garden and nice rooms. The black volcanic beach is accessible directly from the garden. The hotel is very quiet, maybe too quiet with no tv and poor internet connection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Norwegian83, Thank you very much for having stayed at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and for sharing your experience. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Resort. I truly apology for the inconvenience caused with the lack of service concerning the Wifi connection. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second time staying at the Matahari hotel in Pemuteran. Lovely setting on the beach, good food, nice pool and lovely gardens. The barman actually recongnized us after a five year absence. It was lovely seeing him again. The next time we come to Bali I think we will start our journey at the Matahari. Its just a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 1954Elizabeth, Thank you very much for visiting us for the second time and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you love our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and had a memorable stay. Our quality of service is essential to us and we are therefore enchanted to hear that Komang... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Photos on website are very well touched up. This resort is tired and nowhere near 5 stars. Massages are a joke; no technique or body knowledge just light-up-and-down movements with bored hands. Beach littered with trash. Very disappointed. I'm sure at some point this lodging had its day but no more. On a positive note, staff is lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear PT, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our resort. I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality, service and hospitality and I truly regret that we fell short on our goals.... More 

Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at the Matahari was a beautiful experience the staff were wonderful gardens were serene the pool was delightful and the beach was a stroll away. The down side was the furniture was uncomfortable and the activities were and meals were expensive fortunately alternatives were a just a short walk away. Awesome place to stay and so nice to experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jen102014, Our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa team thanks you for your kind recommendation to fellow Trip Advisor readers that we are "Stunning location"! I am very pleased to know that you have had a beautiful experience with us. I am very sorry to read that the comfort of our furniture didn’t meet completely your expectations. You are right... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This was my 2nd visit to Bali and I was not disappointed. If you are prepared to take the 4 hour long but very scenic taxi drive over the mountains to the Northern coast, you will get right away from the hectic hustle and bustle of the South. Here you will find only tourists who come to relax or dive,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul O, Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and for sharing your experience. I am very pleased to know that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you would like to come back again. I am very sorry to read that our service in our restaurants... More 

Kel662
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We went here for our last 6 days in Bali on our honeymoon and when we arrived we were greeted with beautiful flower wreaths, a delicious fruity cocktail and taken to our room. We stayed in room 8 and it was really nice and central so equally close to the pool and the beach. The whole resort was so beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jany F, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kel662, Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your impressions with TripAdvisor readers. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Resort and all its facilities. I truly apology for the inconvenience caused with the lack of service concerning... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (229)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (101)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
50.0 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
26.0 mi away
Damai
Damai
#1 of 19 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#2 of 8 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 1 in Buleleng
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay