We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Independence hotels

Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14800 East 42nd Street, Independence, MO 64055 (Formerly Crossland - Independence)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence to your Saves list
Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
32%
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Independence
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    10
    13
See reviews for
3
8
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Crossland economy suites on October 19, 2013 in order to attend The Kansas City Chief's game on the 20th. I thought I was getting a great deal because the price was so cheap! That old saying "you get what you pay for" rings true! The place was in a safe great location, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and having holes in your comforter. In response to your feedback, I am meeting with the laundry and housekeeping staff to ensure they are carefully selecting linen before placing it in rooms. I am grateful for... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We were staying for 4 nights and have stayed here a few times before. The room was fine. Location is excellent to where we needed to be. The wireless Internet did not work though. They said they were working on it. Since it was never fixed, they comped is a night's stay! We will be back again next summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to read your remarks about our convenience . However, I am very sorry that the WiFi wasn't working during your stay but, I am glad that we were able to provide you with a complimentary night for your inconvenience. As this hotel’s manager, I can... More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Here is the review I left Crossland for their survey response. First of all, I would like to note that I will never be staying at Crossland Economy Studios ever again. Nor will I be referring any of my family or friends to your accommodations. When I first arrived to the check-in office, there was no one present in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please know that we are sincerely sorry for your experience at our hotel. It is disheartening to read that our staff did not attend to your needs properly, your room did not meet your expectations and that our hotel's location was not ideal. In... More

Alamogordo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Overall, this is an average motel. The A/C was good, the bed was comfortable, everything seemed to be clean enough. However, there was no shampoo, no ice, and it was explained that the maids do not fill the ice trays in the fridge. If you want ice in your room, you have to go buy ice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Your comments in regards to our cleanliness and comfort are much appreciated; yet, I was disheartened to read there was no ice in your freezer. To uphold our company's high standards, we will ensure the ice trays are filled moving forward. The staff and I appreciate your... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Though the staff was amazing, the rooms were not. The bed was so uncomfortable i ended up sleeping on the floor. The a/c unit was on the fritz and wouldnt stop running so i was in an ice box. The coffee pot didn't work. The hotel had no extra pillows or towels. Overall i was highly dissatisfied by my stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff; however, we apologize that you had such an uncomfortable stay. In response to your feedback, we are repairing the A/C unit in your room and replacing the coffee pot. As for the bedding, this is chosen based on guests feedback. As we... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had an awful experience -- I had to switch rooms and the second one was much better but the first one was like a horror movie of hotel rooms. Sticky, stained carpet, dirty bathroom, black goo all over microwave, bug under the mattress, stained mattress, terrible odor, musty, just bad! The second room improved the smell and carpet, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Charvey - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I am sorry to hear that the first room you received was not in good condition and the second had an odor as well as items in need of repair. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are going to shampoo the carpets and work with our... More

Glencoe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For the amount of money I spent for 3 nights was a good deal. I only spent $90 for the 3 nights. The room was little and the mattress was hard but I would say it was worth the price. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly during check in and check out. There is not cleaning unless you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Katie - Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and pricing; however, we apologize that the bed wasn't as comfortable as you would have liked. Our bedding is chosen based on guest feedback. As we continue to improve our hotel's offerings, we will definitely keep your feedback in mind.... More

Lincoln
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed there June 15th and the room was horrible. It stunk like cigarettes and we were reserved for a non-smoking room. We were told it was a fully stock kitchen and nothing was in it. There were no towels and no blankets. We were to stay there for 6 nights. We lift the next am. We got a refund... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Sharon - Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your room was not stocked properly for your arrival and that it had a slight smoke odor. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are going to redouble our efforts when cleaning and inspecting guest rooms moving forward to... More

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I usually swear my the extended stay brand hotels. With that being said, I expected a normal extended stay room i.e bed, fully equip kitchen, as the website stated . These was my first experience with Crossland. Sweet baby Jesus, I should have stayed in my vehicle. Rude staff, smelly rooms, outdated furniture and decor! ... Never again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. In response to your feedback, I am coaching our team on how to provide better customer service moving forward. As well, I am working with our housekeeping staff to enhance our cleaning services as well as eliminate any... More

Haughton, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ended up here through Hotwire.com. This is an Extended Stay Property. The price was great but we found out if we'd asked for a military rate it would've been even cheaper. Regardless, it was a nice stay. Very quiet property. We had a queen bed. The TV was small so don't look for a 32" flat screen, but cable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am proud of our team for providing you with great customer service. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our free cable and wifi. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence

Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Independence
Address: 14800 East 42nd Street, Independence, MO 64055 (Formerly Crossland - Independence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.