We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Independence hotels

Residence Inn Kansas City Independence

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 South Arrowhead Avenue, Independence, MO 64057
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Kansas City Independence to your Saves list
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
77%
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Independence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Suzann47 Belleville, Illinois
  • Overview
  • Reviews (58)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
8
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

All the family stayed here for a funeral in the area. The rooms were awesome. They were very clean & spacious. We had a separate bedroom, full kitchen (we only used the fridge), living room with sofa sleeper, desk (free wifi). I did have to have someone come & get me connected. There is a TV in bedroom & living... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Good Morning & Thank You for your recent review! We are glad you enjoyed our "Awesome" suites! It is great to see when our guests are able to utilize our facility to its fullest and enjoy each of our numerous amenities. Should you return to the area, we would love to have you choose the Residence Inn in Independence again!... More

Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, a decent stay here-- well located to the interstate, and otherwise fairly representative of Residence Inn quality, with two exceptions. First, the manager's reception (complimentary dinner) was of poor quality-- beef tacos, but the filling was unappetizing, and the taco shell was stale and hard to chew. Difficult to make dinner out of this. The second complaint is that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Good Afternoon and Thank You for your review! I have shared your comments with our kitchen staff and they have vowed to make sure to check on food quality in the future. Taco Night is typically a huge hit for our guests and one of our extended stay guests favorites! The parimeter of the hotel is surrounded by parking spaces.... More

Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, the hotel was OK, Rooms were clean and breakfast was OK. My only complaint was that the hotel address could bot be found on my GPS (built in Tom-Tom). A hint is to use the address of the Fairfield which is adjacent. We were lost in some suburban neighborhood for 15 minutes. Thankfully, the Residence Inn people were able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

I am certainly Glad you found us! I am not sure as to why the GPS was unable to locate us, I will have to do some research on the issue. By the looks of it, once you were able to find us, everything else went smoothly! Thank you for choosing to stay with the Independence Residence Inn! Looking forward... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Recently stayed at this property for a couple of days for our girls trip. We had travelers from Nebraska and Texas. We wanted a place where we could all be in the same area and have access to a full kitchen. We opted for the 2 bedroom/2 bath suite. There is eating utensils for 4 and most common cooking utensils... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review! We are glad you and the other ladies in your party were able to spend time together in one of our spacious Two Bedroom Suites! I have noted your comments regarding the bathtub area and will work with our maintenance team to solve this issue. Guest safety is a top priority and your comments... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days on the advice of family members. We were traveling with seniors, so I called ahead to ensure we could have 2 rooms together and close to the elevator. I was assured this would happen and that rooms were saved for us. When we arrived I was again assured that the rooms would be close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review! I wanted to apologize on bahalf of our staff for the trouble you experienced during your stay. We certainly do try to accommodate all our guests and their special requests. We dropped the ball with your requests, especially if we verified that they had been met prior to your arrival. You are correct, our... More

Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Our car along with four other cars were broken into. Items were stolen from my car and I spent several hours filing a police report. My car was parked directly in front of the lobby and under a bright light.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Good Afternoon & "Thank You" for your recent review! It is extremely important to us that we make sure your stay is as Enjoyable as possible. The hassle that the car break-ins caused you truly isn't something that we ever want to see. After speaking with the local authorities, the break-ins were part of a string of vandalism that spanned... More

Omaha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a softball tournament. I was a little surprised at the size of the room as it was a lot smaller than what we imagined. The rooms were clean, but were a little outdated and there were not enough towels for us all. Breakfast is VERY good at this hotel. We all got our fill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WSwanMCIAR, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

We hope you are Enjoying your summer! Thank you for your recent review! We are glad that the staff "Met your Needs" while you were visiting Independence. Our staff takes pride in the fact that their customer service skills exceed others. I will be sure to share your comments with them as their faces light up when they hear about... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very friendly staff, clean room, stayed for two weeks. Only improvement they need is the breakfast served. A simple omelet station with fresh veggies would work well along with fresh fruit. Waffle,cereal,and breads same as anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Independence. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We specifically appreciate your comments on our complimentary breakfast- our rotating menu for breakfast items allows guests to enjoy a new menu item each day. In addition, we offer complimentary light meals Tuesday through Thursday to help you... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel had a very good rate and is located near I70. It is only 30-40 minutes to downtown and even closer to the Stadiums. The hotel is nice but needs some cleaning and refurbishing. The rooms was Ok but seemed a little stale. The exercise room did not have towels and the wastebasket had not been emptied in several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Our staff appreciates you sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. While our hotel is excited for our renovation next year, we are proud to offer one of the best customer service experiences in Kansas City. Being one of the hotels with the best locations in Independence is also helpful to allow our guests... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The service here was good--everyone was friendly and seemed to enjoy visiting with the guests. The rooms are very large and quiet,and include a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, microwave, and a 2-burner stove (no oven). The set-up is sensible and roomy. We enjoyed the fireplace. The kitchen area is updated with a modern countertop and wood flooring. The bathroom countertop... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ResidenceInnDMD, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your review of your stay with us. We strive to please every person who visits our hotel, and we sincerely appreciate your time. While our hotel is in the process of updating our facility, we believe we offer an mazing value and fantastic service to the guests who choose to stay with us while traveling in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence Inn Kansas City Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Independence

Address: 3700 South Arrowhead Avenue, Independence, MO 64057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Independence 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Independence Hotel Independence
Residence Inn Independence
Independence Residence Inn

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Independence with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Kansas City Independence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer