We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santai Hotel Bali

Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santai Hotel Bali
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Santai Hotel Bali
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    41
    57
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Our first part of the stay we had a garden view room. I would not recommend that. It is really dark and old. The bathroom does not smell nice and the shower is old, soaps are not nice. But is is peaceful. The second part we moved to a sea view bungalow, more expensive, better view, little more light. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the comments written on Tripadvisor. It is a very good input for improvement in the future. We would like to clarify one or two things like: the rooms are dark or less light, it is actually due around the room or bungalow overgrown with many plants, causing a bit of light into the room.... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stayed 2 nights in Santai Hotel. When driving through Amed, we started to worry about how close to the road and what standard we would get (seemed mostly backpackers type, home stay etc...) Once we got there, we were very happy with the bungalow we had with sea view and no noise from the road. Very comfortable. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Can't fault the location, rooms, food, service. Thoroughly enjoyed our four days at Santai. We were lucky to get an upgrade to beach front bungalow and loved the little extras like a tray of hot tea delivered to your verandah at 6am so you could enjoy a cuppa with sunrise. The pool area is so amazing, clear, cool and beautiful... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

This was a peaceful retreat right on the ocean. The hotel was quiet, and the staff was helpful, kind, and gracious. We loved being able to step out the door onto the beach for snorkling among the healthy coral reefs. The villa was a delightful Balinese home, and the food was delightful. I will return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Amed is much busier than when I first visited 20 years ago, but it is still quieter and more peaceful than other parts of Bali. We really enjoyed the snorkling right off the beach and playing in the pool. We took a dawn trip in a fishing boat, but didn't see dolphins as I had 20 years ago. The staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viby J, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Very quiet and nice little hotel. Charming villas and amazing food. Nice, kind and helpful staff, they just want you to have a good time. Fine diving sites nearby. We were very happy about our stay, and had a perfect time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We went to the Santai Hotel in order to relax (after spending a week in the middle of the Kuta madness). What you will find at the Santai Hotel: Modern balinese-styled bungalows, very clean! A small swimming pool, fair WiFi (you will need to find the spots with the best WiFi connectivity...I for one preferred the restaurant), food and beverage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The different buildings that made up the accommodation were a bit too close together for me, giving it a bit of a claustrophobic feel. We had a second floor room, nearest to the road and I would avoid this if you don't like Bob Marley or like going to bed early! It's too close to the club on the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this review

Dear Poppy186414, Thank you for the nice comments about the service. Especially with regard to live music.Indeed, there are three restaurants and club near the Santai Hotel , which is only one restaurant/club who plays the live music. This restaurant/club only plays live music once a week and they play music a maximum until 11 pm, according to the rules.... More 

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Having read the reviews we were really looking forward to celebrating a birthday with a special dinner and opted for the restaurant. I am sorry to say that the experience fell short of what we expected. Yes the gardens are nice and the table settings are above the general majority of restaurants found in Amed but I cannot say that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Had a wonderful meal here, one of the best from all our Bali trips. Try the 4 fish meal where you can try all the local fish. The restaurant also has a very warm, traditional & romantic atmosphere with a little garden & fountain, soft lights & traditional Balinese dancers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay