We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Alappuzha accommodations

Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Save
You added Mandala Beach House & Cottages to your Saves list
North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Hotel amenities
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    22
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
50
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I loved my stay here. The rooms were basic, btu the staff and help was super. Jay and his team cover everything and anything. Theres a little tree house to sit and spend the night laughing and playing music right on the beach. A stay for 3 days easily becomes 3 weeks. Watch out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Londngland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we took was a ground floor one for 650 Best budget place in town. Awesome location on a very quiet part of the beach, almost private. Good internet speeds (for India). Laid back chilled atmosphere. Very basic room, not much light a bit cave light, needs a thorough clean. No hot water. What makes this place is Jay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hi, we booked the beach hut, its dirty and expensive! furthermore in the morning were everywhere huge cockroaches also next to my suitcase! friends of me stayed in another room, they had fleas on the matrace. Its an awful place. The pictures are fake and definitely not worth it to go there. The town is also not very special just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Free_bird30, Owner at Mandala Beach House & Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your valued information. Dear travelers from this review itself you can see that its a fake review. 1) They said they booked the place. If you booked the place then why you went to another guest houses and searched for a room? We don't push anyone stay with us if they don't like. The summary... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I chosen Mandala Beach House, because it was suggested to me by a friend. She particularly told me to take the main house with the beach view, so I did. The house had a really nice beach view and it was literally on the beach, which was great. The house is wooden, so the condition of it was not perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I arrived at Mandala planning to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying for 3 - it would have been a longer stay if i didn't have to fly home the next day! I stayed in the small room one the beach which is incredibly basic with only one plug socket. For the price of the stay (650 Rs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My group of eight had a wonderful, two night stay at Jay's beach house. Jay was great in organizing our accommodation over the phone, and was very nice to pick us up at the bus station despite our bus being very later. We really enjoyed the day long backwaters tour, it exceeded our expectations and was very easy to organize.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Hello everybody, We are 7 friends and spend 10 days in kerala. We chose the mandala beach hotel because it had a good Review in the guide lonely planet. The night we arrived we were quite happy because the rooms were nice, clean and cheap. The next morning we had a smal missunderstanding with the houseboat service and suddenly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

Hi everyone I would like to share our experience at mandala beach. We planned to do some boat cruise through the backwater and asked for the prices at the hotel. We knew it should be cheaper and declined their offer. Instead we ordered an auto to go to the harbour to directly negotiate with the jetis. However, instead of just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Jay, the owner, talked to us at the train station and convinced us to stay at his place! Best decision ever! We were three people and got a small, really clean room directly at the beach. It was a really cool and relaxed atmosphere. Good restaurants are not so far away from this place. For the next day Jay organised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ardooie, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Cheap budget rooms right on the beach and a very chill communal area with seaview, hammocks and free wifi. Also a very friendly helpfull host, thanks a lot Jay for fixing my motorbike!!! A perfect place for backpackers!! Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mandala Beach House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Address: North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mandala Beach House & Cottages Kerala/Alappuzha, India

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay