We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Alappuzha accommodations

Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Save
You added Mandala Beach House & Cottages to your Saves list
North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Hotel amenities
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
53
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

yeah, what to say about this place. they were very accommodating to the budget traveller. we spent 800 ruppees a night. the owner was an interesting individual who had good help. they own another place down the street. not much to say about this beachfront place really. the owner is cool and the location is fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joliette, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in the afternoon and the owner jay was nice enough. We took the cottage on the beach, which was quite expensive but seemed worthwhile. A loud crowd was right beside us, but this was not an issue in the afternoon. When we came back at around 8 pm, the party was much louder. We checked the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No frills rooms right on the beach. Bathrooms leave a bit to be desired but was roughly the right value for what we paid. Beachfront chairs and deck overlooking the water were great for hanging out, and it's a fun crowd. We did the ocean view cottage the first night and a more basic room the second night which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place, right at the beach front with super relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are simple but comfy. Jay and Manu who run the place are great guys, super friendly and honest and always helpful!! They helped us organise the Kerala Backwater boat trip, yoga classes and further travel arrangements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at Mandala for 4 nights in November 2014 in the large ensuite beach hut. The location of this accommodation is amazing, the properties are right on to the clean, quiet and largely tourist-free beach and yet only a 5 minute drive from Alleppey town itself and the backwater tours. Also a great place for wildlife... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I loved my stay here. The rooms were basic, btu the staff and help was super. Jay and his team cover everything and anything. Theres a little tree house to sit and spend the night laughing and playing music right on the beach. A stay for 3 days easily becomes 3 weeks. Watch out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Londngland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

The room we took was a ground floor one for 650 Best budget place in town. Awesome location on a very quiet part of the beach, almost private. Good internet speeds (for India). Laid back chilled atmosphere. Very basic room, not much light a bit cave light, needs a thorough clean. No hot water. What makes this place is Jay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

Hi, we booked the beach hut, its dirty and expensive! furthermore in the morning were everywhere huge cockroaches also next to my suitcase! friends of me stayed in another room, they had fleas on the matrace. Its an awful place. The pictures are fake and definitely not worth it to go there. The town is also not very special just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Free_bird30, Owner at Mandala Beach House & Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your valued information. Dear travelers from this review itself you can see that its a fake review. 1) They said they booked the place. If you booked the place then why you went to another guest houses and searched for a room? We don't push anyone stay with us if they don't like. The summary... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I chosen Mandala Beach House, because it was suggested to me by a friend. She particularly told me to take the main house with the beach view, so I did. The house had a really nice beach view and it was literally on the beach, which was great. The house is wooden, so the condition of it was not perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I arrived at Mandala planning to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying for 3 - it would have been a longer stay if i didn't have to fly home the next day! I stayed in the small room one the beach which is incredibly basic with only one plug socket. For the price of the stay (650 Rs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mandala Beach House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Address: North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mandala Beach House & Cottages Kerala/Alappuzha, India

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay