We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Kampot accommodations

The Magic Sponge

Save Saved
You added The Magic Sponge to your Saves list
Guesthouse Street | Kampong Bay District, Kampot MS1 KP2, Cambodia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (190)
  • Photos (30)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
The Magic Sponge
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty lodging in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
67
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the spot for late nighters! William, the owner, keeps guests and others entertained all day long with movies, put-put golf, a pool table, and good eats. At nights the bar doesn't ever officially close. For those that are night owls, this is a great spot - but if you like to go to sleep early (like us!) make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

EricandSarahSeattle, thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated our many amenities, our food and our services. We do apologize that you could hear our late night crowd. We must admit that since we opened over four years ago, we have never had a complaint from your room and have had many families with small children stay... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing place ran by two great guys. Very helpful, fun and you may stay longer than planned. Tasty grub and cheap beer = perfect. Family room was huge, dorm was cool, open planned, each bed has a fan, safe and mozzie net.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

Ecallaw555, we're glad you felt at home! Our big TV lounge with it's comfy sofa and chairs is popular for chill time. We're glad you liked the food and the beer - so do we! Thanks again for your compliments, and for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for us. Williamj More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome place to stay in, 5-10mins walk from thr riverside. Stayed for 2 days in the dorm, beds and pillows were sturdy, even though the showerhead was faulty, but for 3USD a night, that's quite worth it.The owner, William is extremely funny and has a huge collection of movies. the food is soso, except for the Indian food, which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

Brianong83, thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your compliment on our Indian food. We are constantly making improvements to our facilities, and just completed completely rebuilding the penthouse dormitory toilet from the ground up. The existing shower head is a temporary measure that provides a lot of water, but the new permanent shower head we are... More

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. First in the penthouse Dorm and then in a private room. The penthouse cost 3 dollars. Every bunk had a mosquito net, safe and light. The penthouse had a huge balcony and rooftop den which was cool. The showers are basic but how much can you ask for 3 dollars? The private room cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

MrKarl84, we're glad you stayed with us and got a taste of both our Penthouse Dorm and one of our private rooms. The basic shower is only temporary - we're putting in a fancy new one! We're also happy you got lots of chances to play on our minigolf course and made the best of our sports and movie bar.... More

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Hosts are super welcoming and helpful. We ended up staying 4 nights! Cheap beer, amazing food, great movies, pool table, nice people, and big clean rooms. Plus, Kampot actually has quite a few things to do. And the food is some of the best in Cambodia. Can't ask for much more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We originally booked for one night here, but ended up staying 5. There is a good vibe about the place the moment you arrive. Good place to meet other travellers. The town is also laid back. The room we had was basic, but it did the trick. The room was clean, fan worked well(option for ac is avail), comfy bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

Chrisakennedy, thank you very much for your review. We're glad you decided to extend your stay with us, and want to thank you for your comments on our establishment, especially your comment about our food being the best you've had in Cambodia. Cool! We hope you get the chance to come visit us again in the future. Cheers. William More

Beijing, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've experienced really bad luck in Cambodia so far, everything from having all my stuff stolen in Sihanoukville to being chased by packs of wild dogs everywhere I go (don't cross to the other side of the river in Kampot, some MEAN animals there). Wasn't much to do in Kampot so I entertained myself trying to eat at every restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

Yang C, thank you very much for your review. I'm glad the Magic Sponge was such a respite from your many problems, and that you enjoyed our facilities so immensely. We have worked very hard to restore our beautiful building, and still have many improvements in the works.I really do appreciate your empathy. You see the hard work and understand.... More

Kampot, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Even when you phone to make the reservation, you know it is going to be a great place to stay. That was how we felt talking to William, owner of Magic Sponge. We were not disappointed. Magic Sponge is in Kampot but on a quiet street within walking distance of the center of town. William warned us that Wednesday evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

Wow! Dan W, thank you!!! You have no idea how pleased you have made us and our staff with your many compliments. We're so glad you appreciated our Wednesday Night Jam and the talent we bring in free of charge for our guests. Unfortunately, I don't think we could pack the house with a night of me playing classical music,... More

Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

William the owner is fantastic so welcoming and full of enthusiasm. Nothing is too much. The room was great we had a private room but heard the dorms were great too. It was clean and very well kept. Our room was very hot but it did have a massive ceiling fan so I'm not sure what else he could have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

SeAsia_explorer_2014, you've managed to embarrass me! Thank you so much for your personal compliments and especially for your compliments on The Magic Sponge, our food and our staff. You did arrive during the hottest part of the year, and yes, in Cambodia it does get HOT! Our big fans are a huge help, but we also do have rooms with... More

Laie, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Magic Sponge is the best guesthouse I've stayed at in Cambodia. Rooms are very comfortable and a great value. Friendly bar/kitchen downstairs with EXCELLENT food. William and Raph have a well-run shop. Their attention to details shows in all aspects of this place. The staff are nice and they cook some killer indian dishes. Oh, and William plays some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicSpongeRest, Owner at The Magic Sponge, responded to this review

Tyler L, it was great having you here! Everybody had lots of fun and we were really glad to have you extend your stay - several times. Thank you very much for your compliments on our food, especially our Indian dishes, and thank you very much for taking the time to review our humble establishment. We sincerely hope that someday... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Magic Sponge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Magic Sponge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magic Sponge

Address: Guesthouse Street | Kampong Bay District, Kampot MS1 KP2, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kampot with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our strikingly designed building offers spotlessly clean and spacious air-con or fan rooms with en-suite toilets and hot showers. All of our beds feature top quality mattresses and pillows for a superb night's sleep in comfort. We also have a dormitory room for single or budget travelers. Delicious food and fully stocked bar with a western barman for late night banter. 9-hole mini golf course, pool table, board games and DVD lounge are free for all customers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Magic Sponge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer