We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Kaokoland accommodations

Epupa Falls Lodge

Save
You added Epupa Falls Lodge to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Epupa, Namibia
Hotel amenities
Epupa Falls Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaokoland
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Cape Town
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Great destination located right at the Epupa Falls. The lodge itself is located on the banks of the mighty Kunene River and is the closest of all the lodges to the actual Falls. It offers great camping spots right on the banks of the river with all the camp locations under the shadow of trees and each site provided with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We arrived 2 days before our reservation time and Koos and his staff went out of there way to help us. As a result we stayed longer and every minute was worth while. The camp was clean , ablutions great and even though the camp was very busy , the stay was very nice. I wil visit Epupa again ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You Stronkie for the lovely review. I'm glad we could assist and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you soon again! More

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Location is still great, but prefer the old campsite which was more rustic and less busy. The high deck is fantastic for enjoying drinks and evening meals with views of the falls a stone's throw away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I have to agree with you - Epupa was heaven in the days when it was quiet and there were less traffic. Unfortunately, we had to keep up with the Joneses - but we will always try to keep it as natural and small (private) as possible. More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The lodge is located 250m from Falls and a short walk . The food was average and mass buffet style. The staff were friendly . Overall ,it felt that the lodge was little under duress. Epupa is a long drive from Opuwa where supplies come and catering seemed stressed. There is not facilities for "walk-in meals" for nearby campers at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charles, Thank you for your review, but I think you have the wrong lodge? Epupa Falls Lodge is right on top of the falls, we don't work with generators - we work with solar power and we only have five chalets - all on the river? And we don't serve buffet meals. As for your general impression about the... More

Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Since I know Koos I allways have found best friends in Namibia.The location is beautiful,the stuff so nice,the chalets more then stunning and the food excellent as a 1000 star hotel. We enjoyied breathless sunsets and felt like be in paradise. We visited local people,walked around and met people,great. Hairdryer,TV,play station, electricity not to need in this area because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for the wonderful review. When guests return to Epupa - we are more than happy. When they leave Epupa with happiness, we are over the moon! Hope you return soon! More

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The lodge is quite rustic and although in the most amazing place and site it blends in well with the surroundings. The staff are fabulous and go out of their way to assist with every wish. The rooms are comfortable and the campsite well appointed. The grounds are spotless and although there is a lot of outside noise it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Basil, thank you for the excellent review. The 'rate sheets' have been removed and we do apologise for the confusion. Thank you for the review on the Himba tour as well! More

Delareyville, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were 4 retired couples touring Namibia and Epupa Falls was one of our highlights. The scenery and falls were spectacular and we enjoyed the walks along the river. The chalets on stilts are nice and comfortable. Unfortunately we could not use hair dryers. The service was satisfactory and the food excellent. The owner, Koos, even treated us to Namibian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Munro for your lovely review. As Epupa is situated in the wilderness, we really don't see the necessity of hairdryers and other hotel accessories. We apologise for the few 'bad' hair days. Part of what makes Epupa Falls Lodge special, is the fact that it is owner managed - something none of the other lodges can claim and... More

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice, 2nd time in six months, this time with business partners and their families (wife's). Location, food & rooms very good. Best setting possible. We did however been confronted with smokers in the dining area, that even after requesting them to consider us, continue smoking. Taking it up with Koos was not successful...... One room's solar was out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

JC, thank you for your review. At the time of writing, the no smoking law has not been enforced in Namibia. The situation has always been precarious and it has made it difficult for staff to enforce this. But now with the law, I can assure you that this has been sorted out. As for the room's solar power -... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After rooftop camping our way through Kaokoland during May 2014 we ended with 3 relaxing nights in a bungalow on stilts at Epupa Falls Lodge with a spectacular view over the thundering falls. Rustic, comfortable & neat accommodation, well presented tasty food and friendly service all reasonably priced. A perfect birding, hiking and biking destination in north western Namibia. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jeremy for an excellent review! More

Paarl, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location of the lodge cannot be bettered with a prime location on the falls. The dinner and breakfast were great considering how isolated the camp is. The chalet was comfortably furnished with everything you need. Great advice and information on the area could also been obtained from the owner, Koos Verwey. The value for money is very good comparing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NamCrit, Public Relations Manager at Epupa Falls Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. Epupa Falls Lodge is best known for its prime location and the advice and information that can be obtained from 25 years experience in the Cunene by lodge owner & manager, Koos Verwey. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Epupa Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epupa Falls Lodge

Address: Epupa, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Kaokoland
Hotel Class:2 star — Epupa Falls Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Epupa Falls Lodge Namibia/Kaokoland

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Epupa Falls Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby