We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mara Engai Indian Ocean Retreat

Hotel website
Bofa Road | PO Box 189 - 80108, Kilifi, Kenya
Mara Engai Indian Ocean Retreat
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015
Phil C Surrey, United Kingdom
Add Photo

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We arrived at the Mara Engai Indian Ocean Resort after having spent 3 nights at the Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge. We were looking for total relaxation after our busy stay on the Masai Mara and boy did we find it. The resort was all we imagined and more. A luxury resort with beautiful, almost deserted, white sandy beach stretching for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The beach house is the only place to stay. We had a very relaxing time. The staff were accommodating and very friendly and attentive especially the Manager Mohammed. As we were the only people staying we were upgraded to the beach house which was exceptionally comfortable with it's own pool.. To be honest, had we been in the room we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

If you like waving palm trees along white sandy, nearly deserted beaches, warm clear waters and beautiful gardens around the hotel then this is for you. Mr. Mohommad and his team were wonderful - they could not have been more helpful and friendly. Duke, the chef, produced excellent meals and we will always remember the giant lobster cooked to perfection.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

So disappointed with our 2 week stay here, we were so looking forward to luxury but that's the last thing we got. The beach is beautiful but you can't sit on it without security. The food is utterly dreadful. The beach house is damp & musty. Being the only guests staying there is really not ideal and we felt very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Abiw_mmwl, Marketing at Mara Engai Indian Ocean Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We do not tend to over-book the resort to maintain the element of privacy and feeling of a true retreat and where possible we upgrade guests to our treasured Beach... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

After reading reviews on TA I decided to book this retreat to stay during my holiday visit to my family in Kenya. I love the Indian Ocean coast but have never been to Kilifi. Upon arrival at Malindi airport in Kenya I was met by Said, the retreat's driver. Great guy quite knowledgeable about the area. An hour later, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lincs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We arrived at this hotel after 4 exhilerating days at the engai wilderness lodge in the mara triangle, (see seperate listing) Picked up by Mr Mohammed and had a relaxed (slow) drive to the hotel. It needs to be slow as some of the driving by the locals is madness. We were greeted by the staff and taken to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, Dorset, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Having spent three days in the Maasai Mara, we flew down to Malindi for a week of relaxation. We were met at the airport by Mr Mohammed and Syedi who chauffeured us to Kalifi, the location of this beautiful holiday home. On arrival we were given flower garlands and then taken to our room. I say room, but we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you want to be pampered, and spoilt then this is the place for you. From the moment you step inside, it's just like Paradise! Mohamed and all the staff meet you with a garland of flowers, and refreshments. Nothing is too much trouble, and the friendliness and efforts of the staff are very impressive. Food was excelllent, and lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Mara Engai Indian Ocean Retreat after an adventurous 4 day safari in the Masai Mara, so we were ready for a rest, and that was exactly what we got here. We were lucky enough to be staying in the Black Marlin suite which is part of the private beach house which has it's own private pool.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 2 weeks. It was excellent from start to finish. Being picked up at Malindi airport and having a welcome fruit cocktail and cool face flannel to wipe down got everything off to a great start. The staff are all very friendly and want to do thier best for you. I have never felt so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay