We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ikweta Safari Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya
Offers & Announcements
$66 Full-board
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Ikweta Safari Camp to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ikweta Safari Camp
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Ikweta Safari Camp
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
23
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I had drove for over 200km under intense tropic heat of the day. We decided to visit Ikweta Safari camp for a quick bite before embarking on our journey home. I must confess that our fatigue was calmed by the cool environ in the camp. The variety in the camp vegetation is exciting with a blend of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

What an uplifting review of iKWETA Safari Camp! Your appreciation of our Camp and its serene environment with smiling happy Staff is indeed warmly received. We were happy that you made the stopover and we hope that you will be able to spend a night the next time to enjoy the bush experience including dining under the stars and having... More 

Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went recently to Ikweta and we can confirm the good reviews it enjoys. The lodge itself it's easy to find and really close to the park's gates. The rooms/tends are lovely and secure, with a nice decor; the welcome was nice and warm and the patio is also pleasant. Food was up to standards, be sure you let them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

iKWETA Safari Camp is about affordable Safari luxury and value for money. Your review affirms the same and we appreciate this! As we are a small intimate camp our Chef prepares every meal meticulously to order using fresh produce from our Camp greenhouse, farms and the local area. Offering quality cuisine is of top importance to iKWETA. As you point... More 

Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly helpful staff. Warm welcome. Comfortable, clean tents and beds. Good wholesome food. Tranquil environment, close to Meru National Park. Great pool area - ideal to just relax after lunch. Personal attention by owners contribute to a memorable stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

What a pleasure having you and your family for the weekend. It always gives us great satisfaction to see families enjoying themselves and our Camp. As owners we try to be as attentive as possible to assure that our guests are receiving the best of service. We were encouraged by your positive reviews of Meru National Park and your appreciation... More 

embu county- kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1. The rooms are very good and secure. 2. The service is excellent 3. The whiskey offer for our anniversary was excellent 4. The hospitality of all the staff was very touching. 5. everything is good and I look forward to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We were delighted that you chose iKWETA Safari Camp to mark your 10th Anniversary and celebrate your birthday! We were all very happy for you. More and more couples are coming to iKWETA for romantic getaways and special occasions. Hope you will come back to iKWETA again soon. More 

Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay. The camp is clean & the rooms are good. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The menus are limited with few options but not surprising with so few guests. The only disappointment was having to vacate the room before lunchtime despite being booked in for lunch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Happy you enjoyed your stay at iKWETA, short as it was! Our Chef does a three-course table service for lunch and dinner. Our main course comprises a meat/poultry/fish dish or vegetarian option. We use fresh produce from our Camp greenhouse, iKWETA farms and local producers. Our check-out time is 11:00 am. On your date of departure, we were expecting a... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Affordable luxury safari is what Ikweta claims and it is not just standard marketing trick. The tents are possible the best designed we have stayed at in Kenya. You have enough privacy with easy access to all facilities. The salt water pool is just divine and it doesn't even feel salty. Their chef has been properly trained in one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Appreciate your endorsement of our Camp and affirming that “affordable Safari luxury” is indeed the real thing at iKWETA and not just a marketing gimmick. You are spot on concerning how overlooked Meru National Park actually is despite it being one of Kenya’s most beautiful parks. For those keen on wildlife in true wilderness, Meru National Park is it! If... More 

Streetsboro, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Beautiful African lodge in a remote setting . Had outside dinner under amazing skies. Great and friendly staff. Living quarters tent was awesome, just be prepared for serenading from very loud frogs. Great location to get ready for game drive in Meru National park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Great review! We wish you could have stayed a bit longer, but maybe next time. We celebrate nature at our remote location in the vicinity of the complete wilderness of Meru National Park. We always look forward to the frog’s evening serenade under the star-filled skies. More 

Vejle, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Only 2 km from the Gate into Meru National Park this camp is a very good choice when you want to visit. Prices are reasonable, the atmosphere relaxing and the service is very good. There are lots of birds around on the grounds if you are a birder and with luck you can see small game animals as well. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

What a pleasure it was to have you at iKWETA earlier this month for four nights. You are so knowledgeable about Kenya and the region. We enjoyed our many chats, always very informative, as well as seeing you relaxing at the Camp. Not to forget your spectacular photos especially of that cheetah! We appreciate your love for Kenya and look... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

It was an amazing get away from the daily lifestyle. likes the way the rooms were presented although fans would be a good idea as it can get very hot. Food was amazingly good. Very friendly staff and Management who had the care and concern to keep checking on us if we were ok which made us feel cared for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We enjoyed hosting your group on Easter Weekend especially as we could see you were all having fun. So much laughter, it was great! Since our Camp is small and intimate we can offer individualized and attentive service as you have so nicely highlighted. Looking forward to your next "get away" to iKWETA! More 

Northern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Very helpful staff, wonderful comfortable safari "tents", located outside the Meru National park only a short distance and more affordable than in park. Food and service wonderful. Had great wildlife viewing, especially Hippo pool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Your review captures what iKWETA Safari Camp is all about and, that is - affordable Safari luxury, convenience and value for money! As you say, Meru National Park, one of Kenya's most beautiful parks, offers a complete wilderness experience! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Near Ikweta Safari Camp

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay