We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Edgewater Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel packages
402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Edgewater Hotel
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    201
    119
    56
    33
See reviews for
219
182
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (599)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (232)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Edgewater Hotel, April 10th & 11th of this yr. The location was Great so was the continental breakfast. I was there for the Elk Convention with friends. The parking was terrible, we actually had to park off site. The elevators were impossible, very slow and rarely came to the parking deck, had to walk up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for your accident in the pool. I'm glad Lisa was able to help and you did not need emergency assistance. I assure you the ladder was repaired quickly. I appreciate all of your comments and concerns and hope you will choose to give us another opportunity to host... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the edgewater hotel. The room was nice, although we were missing some food from our room when we left. The elevators stink. Parking stinks...spaces too small and there was an Elks Convention while we were there. Cars were parked all over the place and some even took up 2 spaces, and no one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Edgewater during your recent visit to Gatlinburg. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while here. Yes, unfortunately, our parking garage does get tight when we are full as we were when the Elks were here. I appreciate your comments and hope you will consider returning to the Edgewater when you are next in... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Edgewater Hotel over four nights this past Easter weekend and I must say that we enjoyed one of the most pleasant stays we've ever had in Gatlinburg! I had booked the room online several months in advance and there were several factors that I took into consideration before deciding to stay here, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your positive comments and I will pass them on to our staff. I'm glad your stay was a pleasant one and you took advantage of our downtown location. We look forward to hosting you again during your next Gatlinburg visit. Best Regards, More 

Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Again we visited Gatlinburg for a conference. Our stay at the Edgewater was good. The elevators continue to be slow. It is funny that they have seats by the elevator doors, so you can sit and wait. The location of the Edgewater is fantastic. One block over from the parkway and easy access to the parkway from the hotel. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate the information about the Continental sign. I will address that immediately. I appreciate your patronage and am glad your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Gatlinburg. Best Regards, More 

Beckley, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family just returned from a week stay at your hotel. We were pleased with our room and location. I had read some of the reviews and had some concerns over parking, noise, breakfast, and check in speed. The parking was better than expected, we never had trouble finding a spot or driving in the building. We drive a Cadillac... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable with the exception of the smoking. We do our best to monitor and control the floors and I'm sorry that you continued to have a problem. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the... More 

Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 3 nights here last week and was my first visit to this hotel and room was good size but I had a view of dumpsters and a parking lot and a hillside which is the mountain view. Parking is dark and very tight which others have already mentioned along with the slow elevators. took me a few days to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments and hope that you will decide to consider us again for a future stay in Gatlinburg. Best Regards, More 

Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed at the Edgewater at a convention that was being held there. The hotel is just fair to say the least. The best thing is that the rooms are good size and if you can get a room facing the creek it has a small balcony where you can drink your morning coffee or have a glass of wine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and I hope you will consider staying with us again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Sincerely, More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater. I have a 12 year old boy and he loved the heated indoor outdoor pool. The free breakfast was good. The location is one of the best reasons to stay there. Even when it was raining we only had a very small walk to get to everything. I stayed on the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your positive comments. I'm glad you stay was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Best Regards, More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was fine and parking deck was free but tight fit. Good location. Check in was delayed bc of remodel, elevators took forever, breakfast left a lot to be desired (esp if you have gluten intolerance). Overall it was average but we will choose somewhere else next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during our property upgrade. I'm glad you enjoyed our downtown location and hope you will consider staying with us again when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards, More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Just got back from a wonderful stay! River view rooms not only overlook the river but great views of the mountains. Spent most of my time on the balcony and in the clean and large indoor pool...the two jetted hot tubs were a plus!! Rooms and pool were very clean. Staff was nice...easy walking to main drag but quiet. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your positive comments and will share them with our staff. I'm glad you enjoyed your riverside view of the beautiful Smoky Mountains from you room. We look forward to seeing you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Best Regards, More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(6)
  • Parking garage(6)
  • Very clean(5)
  • Free breakfast(4)
  • Pool area(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
View from room (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question