We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

309 Ownby Street, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    63
    30
    23
    28
See reviews for
63
64
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon checking in, there was dog poop next to the entrance in the parking lot and the lobby smelled heavily of smoke. They did let us have our parking passes so we could leave a car there and go to town. When we got our rooms we were ready to pack up and leave but they weren't bad. Super simple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This motel was ok. Nothing to brag about. My bed had hamburger meat or sausage at the foot of it...under the covers. The other bed my daughter woke up with itchy feet. But, it did have a small functioning bathroom(shower and toilet only). The sink was in the room. What was nice was the balcony. We were able to step... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spruce Pine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have stayed here the past 2 summers. 4 nights each time. Not had a problem with this place. Has wifi, cable, fridge, micro and clean rooms. You can walk to the main drag in just a few minutes or drive if you wish. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free coffee in the lobby. GREAT PLACE TO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just got back from vacation. We stayed at this motel. It was quiet and the room itself is reasonably clean. The balcony was dirty and the vending machine area could use some help. But I am not complaining, for 50 dollars a night TOTAL , for 2 people, I was satisfied. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
White Lake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent 5 nights at this Motel 6 and it was just fine. Our dog was accepted without extra charges and they have non-carpet floors excellent for a pet room. The staff was very professional and I wish to mention Sharon and Tori specifically. They were there for you when you had a question. You get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights while visiting. This is not a Hilton, Weston or Fairmont hotel. If you're looking for upper-end, elegant atmosphere & service this is not your place to stay. It's a Motel 6 for Christ's sake. It's a typical Motel 6 too. Friendly staff, basic but clean room, bed, and bathroom. A/C worked, plenty of clean towels,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

if you are, for some reason, hoping to enjoy the city of Gatlinburg, then this may not be the best place for you. however, it is perfect for someone who wants to spend their days hiking through Smoky Mountain National Park. it's secluded location, off the main drag and right next to the park entrance, provides a way to escape... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Well booked online which went very well. We booked a jacuzzi room that was pet friendly upon arrival we were a little disappointed by the trash cigarette butts laying around. I will say though the staff was friendly but when we got to are room the door was open the bed was not made and the room stunk like dog... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Dennis, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the... More 

Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

The bathroom has mold along the wall. The bathtub was really nasty and we had no hot water. The room stayed hot as the A/C was not working properly. We asked to switch rooms, but we were told they were full. We were the only ones on this side of the hotel. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this review

Brian, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the A/C condition you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer... More 

Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Well, I guess you get what you pay for, although the room was almost $100. They did not check us in until 3:00, which was a disappointment, even though that is the latest check-in time. We hardly had any time in Gatlinburg and we only stayed one night. I think we are getting too old to stay at Motel 6's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any dissatisfaction during your recent stay with regard to our rate and the inconveniences you experienced with the delayed check-in time you describe. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. Our staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay