We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Special Price
15% off room rate
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Lisa D East Windsor, New Jersey
Add Photo

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    15
    6
    16
    13
See reviews for
29
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We returned from a family vacation in Gatlinburg. We were lucky enough to stay at this resort in a cabin called Almost Paradise. Everything was great. The pictures on line do not do the cabin justice. Everything was clean and we'll maintained. We would highly recommend this resort!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Walls are paper thin. Dirty. Cabins are too close together. Pool is tiny and was FREEZING. You have to take all your garbage when you leave, dumpster is off site a mile down the road, VERY inconvenient. Parking sucks. The refrigerator wasn't on when we arrived and it took forever to get cold. Hot tub was dirty and took forever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry this guest had a less than satisfactory experience at one of our cabins. We always make every effort to address concerns we are able to correct, such as some of those mentioned, when we are notified of a problem. However, after going through all of our rental notes and guest surveys for that period, we could... More 

Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week with friend's family in the 5-room cabin - two stories with a loft. The lower floor is the entertainment center with two bedrooms. Pool table, shuffleboard table, and large screen TV are included. Each room has its own bathroom and small closet; the bed size is king size. The cabin has washer/dryer and full kitchen with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We want to take this opportunity to thank this guest for their comments which has a lot of positive notes about our resort, but did have a few issues with the housekeeping. Thankfully, our housekeeper was dispatched immediately to address those concerns we were aware of, which from our folio notes, it appears she did. We do wish we had... More 

Rockwood, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

My husband, my two sons and myself looked at many different Resorts with cabins before calling and speaking with Chip from Mountain Shadows Resort. Chip was extremely helpful with the information he gave me. He informed me that they are about 3 miles off of the Gatlinburg strip. That was fine with us. We were looking for a nice cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind and spot on comments about the Maples Tree House cabin and your stay at Mountain Shadows Resort. It truly is a little gem on the hillside overlooking the Great Smoky Mountains and it is packed with the amenities couples and small families love. We're so pleased you had a great visit to Gatlinburg. Thanks again for... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin Luxury. it was definitely not luxurious. it was not nearly as big and spacious as the pictures portray... I guess they got good angles in the pictures. We had some pros and some cons. We have been to Gatlinburg several times and don't think we would return to this company. Pros: ▪We liked the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We always appreciate hearing from our guests concerning areas where we can do better, whether in person or on the comment cards included in their “Welcome Packet”. We also are grateful for the positives noted in this particular review, such as the fact our resort was liked for its location, the proximity of our playground to this guest’s cabin, that... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I am so happy to report that I had a wonderful stay in the one bedroom Crockett's Cabin 10/17/14-10/19/14. I had no idea what to expect because I have only seen the spooky cabins in movies with axe murderers. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the master suite was very spacious with a whirlpool tub and washer/dryer unit. I loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We at Mountain Shadows are so glad you had an enjoyable stay in Crockett's Cabin. It's a great cabin with a great view of the National Park. Thanks for the wonderful comments, we hope to see you again real soon!! More 

Riverhead, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed at the Morning Star Cabin! We arrived and found the cabin nice! it was basic clean, There were a few things that were not right, stains on the carpets in the upstairs bedroom, cobwebs on the ceiling, missing blind in the living room , the kitchen was not stocked well, there were NO wine glasses, there were no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Marilyn D: We have advised the owner of this cabin of your concerns, the stained carpet, blinds, and the kitchen not being well stocked. So glad we were able to get the projector in the theatre room working, it was a long, involved process, and thank you for your patience. So sorry you thought this cabin had a mountain view,... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Saved a long time for our vacation. Thought a cute little mountain cabin would be perfect . Rented the "sugar house", looked alright at first , until I pulled the covers back on the bed. It looked like someone had literally sat in the bed and shaved ?? Called down to get clean sheets , maintenance man showed up cigarette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were not happy with your accommodations. Upon your request for clean sheets, we did provide them. We also sent housekeeping in to clean this cabin again. The Jacuzzi jets were simply turned off, which will make them appear to not work, when our maintenance department was able to gain entry and check.... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Sugar House Cabin. It had one king size bed, one bathroom, and one kitchen. The bathroom had a tub/shower and located in the common area of the cabin was a whirlpool tub. On the back deck was a small bbq grill and hot tub. We stayed for five nights and during the stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you found the cabin as expected, and that our maintenance crew responded quickly and were able to repair the hot tub to your satisfaction. We strive to address any concerns our guests have and resolve the issues, if any, to their satisfaction quickly. Hope to see you again real soon!! More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My family booked a trip here and upon arrival the first night there were bed bugs. It was disgusting and left us in a position where we had to pack to an get out of there. The staff's solution to the problem when we called to report the incident was to make us wait 45 minutes for an employee to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely want to apologize for this troublesome experience at one of our cabins. This sort of situation is very rare and unusual and when discovered, is regrettably by a guest rather than our housekeeping department. While all of our cabins have bedding outfitted with protective covers to ward off such pests, it seems a previous guest may have left... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay