We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Special Offer
SUPER SPRING SPECIAL
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Gatlinburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Beth H Rockwood, Michigan
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    14
    13
See reviews for
26
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Rockwood, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, my two sons and myself looked at many different Resorts with cabins before calling and speaking with Chip from Mountain Shadows Resort. Chip was extremely helpful with the information he gave me. He informed me that they are about 3 miles off of the Gatlinburg strip. That was fine with us. We were looking for a nice cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin Luxury. it was definitely not luxurious. it was not nearly as big and spacious as the pictures portray... I guess they got good angles in the pictures. We had some pros and some cons. We have been to Gatlinburg several times and don't think we would return to this company. Pros: ▪We liked the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We always appreciate hearing from our guests concerning areas where we can do better, whether in person or on the comment cards included in their “Welcome Packet”. We also are grateful for the positives noted in this particular review, such as the fact our resort was liked for its location, the proximity of our playground to this guest’s cabin, that... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I am so happy to report that I had a wonderful stay in the one bedroom Crockett's Cabin 10/17/14-10/19/14. I had no idea what to expect because I have only seen the spooky cabins in movies with axe murderers. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the master suite was very spacious with a whirlpool tub and washer/dryer unit. I loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We at Mountain Shadows are so glad you had an enjoyable stay in Crockett's Cabin. It's a great cabin with a great view of the National Park. Thanks for the wonderful comments, we hope to see you again real soon!! More 

Riverhead, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed at the Morning Star Cabin! We arrived and found the cabin nice! it was basic clean, There were a few things that were not right, stains on the carpets in the upstairs bedroom, cobwebs on the ceiling, missing blind in the living room , the kitchen was not stocked well, there were NO wine glasses, there were no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Marilyn D: We have advised the owner of this cabin of your concerns, the stained carpet, blinds, and the kitchen not being well stocked. So glad we were able to get the projector in the theatre room working, it was a long, involved process, and thank you for your patience. So sorry you thought this cabin had a mountain view,... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Saved a long time for our vacation. Thought a cute little mountain cabin would be perfect . Rented the "sugar house", looked alright at first , until I pulled the covers back on the bed. It looked like someone had literally sat in the bed and shaved ?? Called down to get clean sheets , maintenance man showed up cigarette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were not happy with your accommodations. Upon your request for clean sheets, we did provide them. We also sent housekeeping in to clean this cabin again. The Jacuzzi jets were simply turned off, which will make them appear to not work, when our maintenance department was able to gain entry and check.... More 

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Sugar House Cabin. It had one king size bed, one bathroom, and one kitchen. The bathroom had a tub/shower and located in the common area of the cabin was a whirlpool tub. On the back deck was a small bbq grill and hot tub. We stayed for five nights and during the stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you found the cabin as expected, and that our maintenance crew responded quickly and were able to repair the hot tub to your satisfaction. We strive to address any concerns our guests have and resolve the issues, if any, to their satisfaction quickly. Hope to see you again real soon!! More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My family booked a trip here and upon arrival the first night there were bed bugs. It was disgusting and left us in a position where we had to pack to an get out of there. The staff's solution to the problem when we called to report the incident was to make us wait 45 minutes for an employee to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely want to apologize for this troublesome experience at one of our cabins. This sort of situation is very rare and unusual and when discovered, is regrettably by a guest rather than our housekeeping department. While all of our cabins have bedding outfitted with protective covers to ward off such pests, it seems a previous guest may have left... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family of eight gathered here for a family reunion. Plenty of room. Good location. The pool table was crooked and unplayable. The hot tub was broke the whole time we were here. We complained every day. They reimbursed us the $60 hot tub cleaning fee, but that's it. We actually had to take light bulbs from one room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Christine, Thank you for your comments. Upon review of your folio, we see that you stayed with us 4 nights. On your second day you advised the office of the hot tub situation, and although we called in maintenance, we were unable to repair while you were with us, so we did refund the hot tub fee. If you had... More 

CHICAGO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The cabin we were in was Maple Tree. It was very tastefully decorated. My family and I were very impressed how well everything matched and flowed together Also the kitchen was fully stocked, pots, pans, plates and this all matched as well. I loved the private secluded area, it was super. The grill provided for delicious barbecue. The jaccuzzi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the cabin, Maples Tree Cottage. The owner of this cabin does a great job of decorating, and we get many, many compliments. Although this cabin has extra windows for full viewing of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, we will... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For our honeymoon we decided to rent a cabin. Before we booked it we looked at the photo's of the cabins & they seemed really nice! some had upstairs, Big bathrooms, fire place etc.so we decide to book a cabin, so we pay for our stay and we put the address in the GPS and its already 2 Am since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are so sorry you had such a bad experience for your honeymoon. You stayed in a studio cabin, which is an open floor plan, and our pictures are accurate. We explain to all guests who call us to book a studio cabin that these cabins are one big room, with the exception of the bathroom. If you were not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay