We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 87 Gatlinburg hotels

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort to your Saves list
50%
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
JScott85 Lake Charles, Louisiana
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    5
    13
    13
See reviews for
25
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Saved a long time for our vacation. Thought a cute little mountain cabin would be perfect . Rented the "sugar house", looked alright at first , until I pulled the covers back on the bed. It looked like someone had literally sat in the bed and shaved ?? Called down to get clean sheets , maintenance man showed up cigarette... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were not happy with your accommodations. Upon your request for clean sheets, we did provide them. We also sent housekeeping in to clean this cabin again. The Jacuzzi jets were simply turned off, which will make them appear to not work, when our maintenance department was able to gain entry and check.... More

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at The Sugar House Cabin. It had one king size bed, one bathroom, and one kitchen. The bathroom had a tub/shower and located in the common area of the cabin was a whirlpool tub. On the back deck was a small bbq grill and hot tub. We stayed for five nights and during the stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you found the cabin as expected, and that our maintenance crew responded quickly and were able to repair the hot tub to your satisfaction. We strive to address any concerns our guests have and resolve the issues, if any, to their satisfaction quickly. Hope to see you again real soon!! More

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My family booked a trip here and upon arrival the first night there were bed bugs. It was disgusting and left us in a position where we had to pack to an get out of there. The staff's solution to the problem when we called to report the incident was to make us wait 45 minutes for an employee to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely want to apologize for this troublesome experience at one of our cabins. This sort of situation is very rare and unusual and when discovered, is regrettably by a guest rather than our housekeeping department. While all of our cabins have bedding outfitted with protective covers to ward off such pests, it seems a previous guest may have left... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family of eight gathered here for a family reunion. Plenty of room. Good location. The pool table was crooked and unplayable. The hot tub was broke the whole time we were here. We complained every day. They reimbursed us the $60 hot tub cleaning fee, but that's it. We actually had to take light bulbs from one room to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Christine, Thank you for your comments. Upon review of your folio, we see that you stayed with us 4 nights. On your second day you advised the office of the hot tub situation, and although we called in maintenance, we were unable to repair while you were with us, so we did refund the hot tub fee. If you had... More

CHICAGO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The cabin we were in was Maple Tree. It was very tastefully decorated. My family and I were very impressed how well everything matched and flowed together Also the kitchen was fully stocked, pots, pans, plates and this all matched as well. I loved the private secluded area, it was super. The grill provided for delicious barbecue. The jaccuzzi was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the cabin, Maples Tree Cottage. The owner of this cabin does a great job of decorating, and we get many, many compliments. Although this cabin has extra windows for full viewing of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, we will... More

Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For our honeymoon we decided to rent a cabin. Before we booked it we looked at the photo's of the cabins & they seemed really nice! some had upstairs, Big bathrooms, fire place etc.so we decide to book a cabin, so we pay for our stay and we put the address in the GPS and its already 2 Am since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are so sorry you had such a bad experience for your honeymoon. You stayed in a studio cabin, which is an open floor plan, and our pictures are accurate. We explain to all guests who call us to book a studio cabin that these cabins are one big room, with the exception of the bathroom. If you were not... More

Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We rented a studio cabin for three nights in July. We had an issue with the wifi not working, but it was resolved in a day. Everyone from check-in to check-out was very nice and friendly. The cabin was very comfortable. The back porch had a hot tub and a nice gas grill - and you couldn't see any other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Front Office Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Jayne, Thanks so much for your comments. We have thousands of happy, repeat guests who have the same experience that you had, that's why we've been in business 16+ years! We look forward to seeing you again. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

They need to spend more time on fixing all the broken items. Need to replace pots and pans and higher a better cleaning crew. The unit wasn't even clean at 3 checkin. Crew rushed to clean the place and when we open the downstairs pullout the sheets had blood on them. Our unit 322 Serinity had trouble keeping the upstairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Hi Malinda, So sorry your stay was not as you desired. As you recall we moved you from a 2 bedroom to a 6 bedroom at no additional cost due to problems you seemingly had. Not sure why you had the need to use a pull out sleeper sofa in a 6 bedroom cabin if you only needed a one... More

Arvada, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I would be very leery of renting a cabin from this resort. They have unethical business practices. They used a bait and switch game with us and have been known to change the names of their cabins once bad reviews have been written about them. We initially looked into availability on a cabin they have posted on Trip Advisor. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We welcome all feedback and try to use all criticisms (good or bad) as tools to better our homes and services. Just to be factual though, Unit # 17 received a name change due to a change in ownership and we happily identify this cabin as being “formerly Norwegian Hus” cabin to all prospective guests,... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I just returned from a trip to the Smoky Mountains in Gatlinburg, Tn. We stayed at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort and were not disappointed. The resort has many choices of accommodations and home styles.We stayed at a cabin named "Cuddly Bear". There were four of house and the cabin was a great place to spend the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We brought the issue of the dusty area to the attention of housekeeping. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again. More

Do you own or manage Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Alewine Pottery
Alewine Pottery
Art Galleries
Sugarland Riding Stables
Sugarland Riding Stables
Horseback Riding Stables
Smoky Mountain Riding Stables
Smoky Mountain Riding Stables
Horseback Riding Stables