We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Special Price
15% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    17
    7
    16
    15
See reviews for
31
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Mountain Shadows Resort is a “sub-division” of all privately owned cabins. The owners agree to rent them out a certain number of days a year. Those rentals are handled by the company, Mountain Shadows Resort. There are many cabins of varied sizes all jammed packed in together up a hillside. It’s just a couple of miles off the strip…turn at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved our cabin! We stayed in Bears treehouse. The hot tub was perfect our cabin was very clean. The pool table was okay needs new felt on the table and the pool sticks were horrible. But it was still fun. The drive way on the other hand was not so great it is very steep and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Far enough from Gatlinburg to get peace and quiet while close enough to go there and have a nice night on the town. For $700 a week this is a nice deal. AC didn't work the first night but the staff quickly fixed it. Both hot tubs outside and inside were nice. Great cabin for a family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
greenville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cannot imagine being in Gatlinburg and not staying in a cabin because this area of Tennessee is the perfect place to have cabin fever. I am appalled by the bad reviews here and I think it is so unfair because some people want a champagne cabin for the price of a beer. I think if we all have reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thought we were getting a good deal but I was wrong. Our hot tub was COLD maintenance wouldn't turn it up we asked three times. It was right by the pool so it was like people were on our porch at all times and wasn't private at all. Mwe had no bowls to eat with, it was dirty there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. Our staff did make every effort to address these issues as we were notified of them, which we always do if any problems arise. Our housekeeper performed some re-cleaning shortly after check-in, some requested items were delivered to the cabin, and the hot tub was reset as we were... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We stayed in the "Almost Heaven" cabin booked through Interval International but it didn't live up to it's name. It was dirty, smelled, damaged furniture, one chair smelled like urine. Sheets and towels were worn, dishes were all dirty and had to be washed. First night was freezing but management said they had no blankets. The only response we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We wish to sincerely apologize for not meeting this guest’s expectations. At their first indication of dissatisfaction they were offered another larger cabin but chose to remain in Almost Heaven for their week’s stay. Since all reported cabin issues are documented in our unit notes for each guest, save for that first day’s alternate cabin possibility, we had no record... More 

East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We returned from a family vacation in Gatlinburg. We were lucky enough to stay at this resort in a cabin called Almost Paradise. Everything was great. The pictures on line do not do the cabin justice. Everything was clean and we'll maintained. We would highly recommend this resort!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Gatlinburg and for your kind comments about our Resort and the Almost Paradise cabin. We're so glad you had a great time. Please come back and see us again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Walls are paper thin. Dirty. Cabins are too close together. Pool is tiny and was FREEZING. You have to take all your garbage when you leave, dumpster is off site a mile down the road, VERY inconvenient. Parking sucks. The refrigerator wasn't on when we arrived and it took forever to get cold. Hot tub was dirty and took forever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry this guest had a less than satisfactory experience at one of our cabins. We always make every effort to address concerns we are able to correct, such as some of those mentioned, when we are notified of a problem. However, after going through all of our rental notes and guest surveys for that period, we could... More 

Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We spent a week with friend's family in the 5-room cabin - two stories with a loft. The lower floor is the entertainment center with two bedrooms. Pool table, shuffleboard table, and large screen TV are included. Each room has its own bathroom and small closet; the bed size is king size. The cabin has washer/dryer and full kitchen with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We want to take this opportunity to thank this guest for their comments which has a lot of positive notes about our resort, but did have a few issues with the housekeeping. Thankfully, our housekeeper was dispatched immediately to address those concerns we were aware of, which from our folio notes, it appears she did. We do wish we had... More 

Rockwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

My husband, my two sons and myself looked at many different Resorts with cabins before calling and speaking with Chip from Mountain Shadows Resort. Chip was extremely helpful with the information he gave me. He informed me that they are about 3 miles off of the Gatlinburg strip. That was fine with us. We were looking for a nice cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind and spot on comments about the Maples Tree House cabin and your stay at Mountain Shadows Resort. It truly is a little gem on the hillside overlooking the Great Smoky Mountains and it is packed with the amenities couples and small families love. We're so pleased you had a great visit to Gatlinburg. Thanks again for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 86 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
3.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#58 of 86 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay