We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Special Price
15% off room rate
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #61 of 86 Hotels in Gatlinburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Norma_H321 greenville
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    15
    6
    16
    14
See reviews for
31
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
greenville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mountain shadows Gatlinburg is a resort indeed and there are cabins that are rented out either through the resorts webpage www.mtshadows.com or directly through owners on VRBO or owners that have there cabins with other rental companies. My experience: I rented directly through VRBO . My review here is of the resort itself and place where these cabins are located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the "Almost Heaven" cabin booked through Interval International but it didn't live up to it's name. It was dirty, smelled, damaged furniture, one chair smelled like urine. Sheets and towels were worn, dishes were all dirty and had to be washed. First night was freezing but management said they had no blankets. The only response we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We wish to sincerely apologize for not meeting this guest’s expectations. At their first indication of dissatisfaction they were offered another larger cabin but chose to remain in Almost Heaven for their week’s stay. Since all reported cabin issues are documented in our unit notes for each guest, save for that first day’s alternate cabin possibility, we had no record... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned from a family vacation in Gatlinburg. We were lucky enough to stay at this resort in a cabin called Almost Paradise. Everything was great. The pictures on line do not do the cabin justice. Everything was clean and we'll maintained. We would highly recommend this resort!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Gatlinburg and for your kind comments about our Resort and the Almost Paradise cabin. We're so glad you had a great time. Please come back and see us again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Walls are paper thin. Dirty. Cabins are too close together. Pool is tiny and was FREEZING. You have to take all your garbage when you leave, dumpster is off site a mile down the road, VERY inconvenient. Parking sucks. The refrigerator wasn't on when we arrived and it took forever to get cold. Hot tub was dirty and took forever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry this guest had a less than satisfactory experience at one of our cabins. We always make every effort to address concerns we are able to correct, such as some of those mentioned, when we are notified of a problem. However, after going through all of our rental notes and guest surveys for that period, we could... More 

Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We spent a week with friend's family in the 5-room cabin - two stories with a loft. The lower floor is the entertainment center with two bedrooms. Pool table, shuffleboard table, and large screen TV are included. Each room has its own bathroom and small closet; the bed size is king size. The cabin has washer/dryer and full kitchen with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We want to take this opportunity to thank this guest for their comments which has a lot of positive notes about our resort, but did have a few issues with the housekeeping. Thankfully, our housekeeper was dispatched immediately to address those concerns we were aware of, which from our folio notes, it appears she did. We do wish we had... More 

Rockwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

My husband, my two sons and myself looked at many different Resorts with cabins before calling and speaking with Chip from Mountain Shadows Resort. Chip was extremely helpful with the information he gave me. He informed me that they are about 3 miles off of the Gatlinburg strip. That was fine with us. We were looking for a nice cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind and spot on comments about the Maples Tree House cabin and your stay at Mountain Shadows Resort. It truly is a little gem on the hillside overlooking the Great Smoky Mountains and it is packed with the amenities couples and small families love. We're so pleased you had a great visit to Gatlinburg. Thanks again for... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin Luxury. it was definitely not luxurious. it was not nearly as big and spacious as the pictures portray... I guess they got good angles in the pictures. We had some pros and some cons. We have been to Gatlinburg several times and don't think we would return to this company. Pros: ▪We liked the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We always appreciate hearing from our guests concerning areas where we can do better, whether in person or on the comment cards included in their “Welcome Packet”. We also are grateful for the positives noted in this particular review, such as the fact our resort was liked for its location, the proximity of our playground to this guest’s cabin, that... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I am so happy to report that I had a wonderful stay in the one bedroom Crockett's Cabin 10/17/14-10/19/14. I had no idea what to expect because I have only seen the spooky cabins in movies with axe murderers. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the master suite was very spacious with a whirlpool tub and washer/dryer unit. I loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We at Mountain Shadows are so glad you had an enjoyable stay in Crockett's Cabin. It's a great cabin with a great view of the National Park. Thanks for the wonderful comments, we hope to see you again real soon!! More 

Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed at the Morning Star Cabin! We arrived and found the cabin nice! it was basic clean, There were a few things that were not right, stains on the carpets in the upstairs bedroom, cobwebs on the ceiling, missing blind in the living room , the kitchen was not stocked well, there were NO wine glasses, there were no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Marilyn D: We have advised the owner of this cabin of your concerns, the stained carpet, blinds, and the kitchen not being well stocked. So glad we were able to get the projector in the theatre room working, it was a long, involved process, and thank you for your patience. So sorry you thought this cabin had a mountain view,... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Saved a long time for our vacation. Thought a cute little mountain cabin would be perfect . Rented the "sugar house", looked alright at first , until I pulled the covers back on the bed. It looked like someone had literally sat in the bed and shaved ?? Called down to get clean sheets , maintenance man showed up cigarette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were not happy with your accommodations. Upon your request for clean sheets, we did provide them. We also sent housekeeping in to clean this cabin again. The Jacuzzi jets were simply turned off, which will make them appear to not work, when our maintenance department was able to gain entry and check.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
3.0 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#32 of 86 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#55 of 86 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay