We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Hotel website
1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - $299 Ski Free!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I loved our stay here over MLK weekend, and plan to return! I saw where people said it was not secluded, and while from the front we could see many other cabins close by (and our parking was actually an area shared with 2 other cabins) once you were inside the cabin we heard nothing. From the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misty A
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We saved and waited 4 months for this getaway and it was ABSOLUTELY AWFUL & management does not care at all! BEWARE! We could only spend one night away from our kids. They wanted a 2 night stay and they made it sound like they were doing us this HUGE favor by letting us only stay for one night. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank joe37919
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

It is difficult to imagine how so much disappointment can register in such a short visit, but when the intensity of anticipation meets a malfunctioning tub drain valve it seems one must pull out all the stops! Since the causal event occurred late in the day and our maintenance staff was unavailable, our clerk on duty made every effort to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Upon check in the cabin had a very bad rotten odor. We searched to find where it was coming from and could not locate it. I called the office and they stated maintenance was gone for the evening but they would try to get ahold of housekeeping and send them over. They also asked if I thought febreeze may help... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaNel W
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the discomfort at your cabin and our staff’s inability to help solve issues during your visit. Please know we typically make every effort to handle problems as soon as possible. Our maintenance department discovered the water issue was system-wide in the community as several cabins in the immediate area lost water at the same time. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

It was advertised as a one bedroom and we were pleasantly surprised at how spacious if was. It had large bedroom with jacuzzi tub, fireplace in bedroom and living room, full eat in kitchen and a loft with pool table and bar and hot tub on deck. We were visiting family and coming for fall colors. Everyone liked the cabin... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cmramage
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous comments about your cabin. This cabin does have a somewhat unusual layout, working well for couples and families with small children. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your vacation experience at Mountain Shadows Resort & Rentals. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

First, a disclosure, we rented this cabin, through the resort, but a friend's family member owns it. Bear Necessities is a 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin. It has a pool table, hot tub and foosball table. There's a fold out sofa and a fold out cot (in the Master closet) We had 5 people in the cabin and it was just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RuthlessBunny
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Bear Necessities cabin. Each cabin in the Mountain Shadows Resort log home community is individually owned and includes many standard amenities as well as some specific additions by the owners themselves. This variety of offerings enables guests the option of finding an ideal vacation cabin experience. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon...we stayed at Mountain Eden. It was so nice. There was a jacuzzi, tv, king sized bed, and everything else you would need or want..including things to cook with. We were shocked at how they literally had everything. I would not recommend if you have more than 2 people because the cabin... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel W
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate this nice review of a studio cabin in the Mountain Shadows Resort community. Although this particular cabin is not presently in our inventory, we have several just like it with the same amenities at value rates, ideal for a couple’s getaway. More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Mountain Shadows Resort is a “sub-division” of all privately owned cabins. The owners agree to rent them out a certain number of days a year. Those rentals are handled by the company, Mountain Shadows Resort. There are many cabins of varied sizes all jammed packed in together up a hillside. It’s just a couple of miles off the strip…turn at... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsFoodieLouisville
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your perspectives in reviewing your cabin and stay at our Resort, both the good and the not so good. Some things about our Resort setting and amenities are appealing to some while not so much to others. The issues mentioned that we can fix or change, are already underway. As we say in our guest surveys, “we... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

I loved our cabin! We stayed in Bears treehouse. The hot tub was perfect our cabin was very clean. The pool table was okay needs new felt on the table and the pool sticks were horrible. But it was still fun. The drive way on the other hand was not so great it is very steep and there is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CwilliansA
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We always appreciate kind words, especially when everything wasn’t as ideal as it could have been. The owners are working on the pool table issues. We look forward to your return visit…and the higher riding vehicle is a good idea for the mountain roads. More 

Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Far enough from Gatlinburg to get peace and quiet while close enough to go there and have a nice night on the town. For $700 a week this is a nice deal. AC didn't work the first night but the staff quickly fixed it. Both hot tubs outside and inside were nice. Great cabin for a family.

Helpful?
Thank shaqkobefan
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our resort. The community’s proximity to local attractions and services is a big plus for our guests. We’re so glad we were able to get your AC issue handled quickly. Please do come back and see us again. More 

greenville
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

I cannot imagine being in Gatlinburg and not staying in a cabin because this area of Tennessee is the perfect place to have cabin fever. I am appalled by the bad reviews here and I think it is so unfair because some people want a champagne cabin for the price of a beer. I think if we all have reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norma_H321
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Although this reviewer did not stay in one of our company’s homes, we want to thank them for the nice comments about the Mountain Shadows Resort community setting and location. It is a great vacation destination IN Gatlinburg and close to all area attractions and activities. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#54 of 85 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#49 of 85 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay