We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Edge Motor Lodge

2.0 of 5 655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Edge Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Edge Motor Lodge
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    45
    29
    47
See reviews for
110
102
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
hershey pa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed this comfy, roomy and simple but everything you need lodge/motel. We got a great deal on the Internet and were pleasantly surprised how nice the facilities were. It's not perfect it's got it's little quirks but it's an older place that has been renovated on a budget. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean, TV was nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes our breakfast is limited due to lack of space in our breakfast area. We are glad you enjoyed our new beds we agree they are very comfortable. Please visit us again soon. More 

Lincoln, Alabama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a room for our 25th wedding anniversary. Big mistake. The heart shaped tub looked dirty. The room smelled like smoke. (It was a nonsmoking room) It does not have a separate shower. We walked around Gatlinburg the first night, bought cleaner, cleaned the tub and went to bed. I couldn't sleep. We left that night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Follette, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my husband stayed here during a convention and had a great time. The location was great and close to the parkway and convention center. The employees were helpful and kind. The room was spacious and had a fireplace. Everything was clean. The heater worked really well. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. The breakfast was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When we got there being greeted seemed ok, pretty friendly. What bothered me was the terrible room service and cleanliness b/c there was none. I found several bugs in the room so of course that made me second guess on actually sleeping IN the bed. There was mold around the shower all over. the ceiling to the shower was falling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Okay, I'm a very reasonable reviewer... I give places the benefit of doubt and I'm not excessively picky. But I won't be staying here again. The pros: Very close walk to the parkway... it comes out near Ober Gatlinburg or Flapjacks, depending on which route you take. Fairly quiet. Our suite was spacious enough for our family. Small (very small)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnson City,TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We booked a room at the last minute on Black Friday. We have stayed here before, so we knew what we were getting into ahead of time. This hotel desperately needs some TLC and major updates. It's certainly not a luxury hotel by any means. I love that they have a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I have to say, I loved reading your review! I liked that you tell it like it is, and the things you had to say were right on. This hotel is 50+ years old, and there are things that come up on a daily basis, that keep us hopping, BUT we love this property, and try to keep up as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I arrived the night before Thanksgiving & stayed four nights in the King/Jacuzzi room. Had one issue with the jacuzzi which was fixed very quickly & the maintenance man was exceptionally courteous. On Friday night my truck broke down. Saturday morning I called Mary, the desk clerk, to inquire about a mechanic expecting to pay a small fortune since I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you had a good experience, and while I'm not happy that you had car trouble, I AM glad to hear that Mary took good care of you. We want to do everything we can to make sure that you felt at home with us. Thank you... More 

Westmoreland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

This was my second time staying here.. I loved the balcony and fireplace.. The staff was nice..The location is great.. It is really close to the parkway.. The room was spacious with a nice king size bed.. It had a frig and microwave also. It's not the newest hotel on the block,, but just like we like.. The price was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about River Edge, and your recent stay here! We appreciate our guests, and try to make sure that everyone feels welcome when they visit our property. I was also happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and hope that when you get back in this area we can repeat the experience for... More 

Pratt
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I made our reservations through HOTWIRE and in our recent motel/hotel stays I haven't had a room that I would consider "awful" but I guess it was time for a change. Checking in was great, no problems, friendly and informative staff. We parked our vehicle and unloaded the suitcases and were headed to the room via the elevator and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you hoped it would be. I am happy to hear, however that you had a good experience at check in, as we try very hard to make sure that our guests feel welcome here. I hope the rest... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

BE AWARE! This place does no maintenance nor takes care of this property. Our family booked the two bedroom suite for a vacation in November. The rooms aren't clean and the property isn't maintained. The front door does not open all the way before it hits the refrigerator (see attached pictures). Every member of my family pinched their fingers between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to River Edge Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Motor Lodge

Address: 655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Edge Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Edge Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Edge Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
River Edge Hotel
River Edge Gatlinburg

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay