We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Edge Motor Lodge

2.0 of 5 655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Edge Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Edge Motor Lodge
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    86
    45
    28
    46
See reviews for
108
101
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Okay, I'm a very reasonable reviewer... I give places the benefit of doubt and I'm not excessively picky. But I won't be staying here again. The pros: Very close walk to the parkway... it comes out near Ober Gatlinburg or Flapjacks, depending on which route you take. Fairly quiet. Our suite was spacious enough for our family. Small (very small)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnson City,TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a room at the last minute on Black Friday. We have stayed here before, so we knew what we were getting into ahead of time. This hotel desperately needs some TLC and major updates. It's certainly not a luxury hotel by any means. I love that they have a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I have to say, I loved reading your review! I liked that you tell it like it is, and the things you had to say were right on. This hotel is 50+ years old, and there are things that come up on a daily basis, that keep us hopping, BUT we love this property, and try to keep up as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived the night before Thanksgiving & stayed four nights in the King/Jacuzzi room. Had one issue with the jacuzzi which was fixed very quickly & the maintenance man was exceptionally courteous. On Friday night my truck broke down. Saturday morning I called Mary, the desk clerk, to inquire about a mechanic expecting to pay a small fortune since I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you had a good experience, and while I'm not happy that you had car trouble, I AM glad to hear that Mary took good care of you. We want to do everything we can to make sure that you felt at home with us. Thank you... More 

Westmoreland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second time staying here.. I loved the balcony and fireplace.. The staff was nice..The location is great.. It is really close to the parkway.. The room was spacious with a nice king size bed.. It had a frig and microwave also. It's not the newest hotel on the block,, but just like we like.. The price was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about River Edge, and your recent stay here! We appreciate our guests, and try to make sure that everyone feels welcome when they visit our property. I was also happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and hope that when you get back in this area we can repeat the experience for... More 

Pratt
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made our reservations through HOTWIRE and in our recent motel/hotel stays I haven't had a room that I would consider "awful" but I guess it was time for a change. Checking in was great, no problems, friendly and informative staff. We parked our vehicle and unloaded the suitcases and were headed to the room via the elevator and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you hoped it would be. I am happy to hear, however that you had a good experience at check in, as we try very hard to make sure that our guests feel welcome here. I hope the rest... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

BE AWARE! This place does no maintenance nor takes care of this property. Our family booked the two bedroom suite for a vacation in November. The rooms aren't clean and the property isn't maintained. The front door does not open all the way before it hits the refrigerator (see attached pictures). Every member of my family pinched their fingers between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We found this place on Trip Advisor and though we would give it a try since it was decent price. Upon our arrival, the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The motel is a little dated but the room was big and very nice for the price. The location is awesome and a quick walk to the strip.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Antioch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

elevator was slow, enough hot water in room for 1 person to shower, and on check out asked for a copy of the bill desk clerk came out screamimg and cussing at us then called the law. bad day or not there was no need to cuss at anyone. will not ever go back here. only good thing was location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We just returned from a six-night stay at River Edge and we loved it. It is older but I found it to be charming (I especially liked all the marble-topped furniture). The room was very large with plenty of places to stash your luggage. It was very quiet. We stayed on the second floor and never heard a sound coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at River Edge! We appreciate the kind words, and look forward to seeing you again next time you get to Gatlinburg. More 

Bardstown, KY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Let me start by saying if you are expecting the Hitlon and all they have to offer, stay at the Hilton right next door and pay 3 times as much. The River Edge is an older motel and does need a little sprucing up, HOWEVER... The rooms are large,... they have two sinks one in bath another just outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of River Edge Motor Lodge! It's always a pleasure to hear when someone has a great stay with us. As you mentioned, we have now completed the replacement of the Televisions with Flat Screens in every room, and the Wi-Fi has been recently upgraded, so it now works perfectly in every part... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to River Edge Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Motor Lodge

Address: 655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Edge Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your River Edge Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Edge Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
River Edge Hotel
River Edge Gatlinburg

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay