We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Edge Motor Lodge

Hotel website
655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Offers & Announcements
Saving Combo up to $1000.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Edge Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Edge Motor Lodge
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    89
    48
    30
    47
See reviews for
113
103
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is definately not the Hilton, but then again - they don't charge what the Hilton does either. It has some cosmetic issues, but, for us, we just want a place to sleep at night. Beds are VERY comfortable. Pluses: rooms were nice with plenty of space, liked the two sinks and the way the lights around the one sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have had while visiting with us. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location. Beds are awesome. Very comfortable. Only complaint I have is the maid service and breakfast. Maids rarely cleaned the room while we were there. If we were in the room, she would change the trash and give us towels and that was it. Breakfast was all starch. Doughnuts, bagels, muffins. Coffee was horrible. Front clerks were very nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while staying with us. Please come back and give us another chance. More 

Upton, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed here. The rates are very reasonable and it is in a great location close to the Parkway. It is obviously an older motel that has been updated. There are a lot of cosmetic issues but it is clean. If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower inexpensively, this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and was happy to have you return for a visit. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Gatlinburg. More 

Woodruff, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Clean, quite, nice rooms. Very friendly staff. Very inexpensive. Good value for a place off the main drag. Older motel, but quaint. Within walking distance of just about everything in Gatlinburg! Did find it odd the cleaning staff left an envelope saying "tips appreciated.. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you found us to be a good value. We strive to keep our hotel clean for our guests, and are happy you found it so. There are a lot of hotels that the housekeeping does put an envelope in the rooms for the housekeepers, as some guests like to leave a little... More 

Dillsboro, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Can't say enough good things about the staff. Very helpful and treated us great. Ended up staying an extra night due to weather & got a reduced rate in turn. Extremely close to all downtown. Park & walk anywhere you want to go. An older property, but the value makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had quiet time for you. Due to the recent bad weather we have had, we are very pleased we were able to help you in any way we could. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to the area More 

Nashville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I don't know what people are expecting. This is not a $300 a night hotel. It's an inexpensive place to spend the night. Location is VERY convenient to Gatlinburg. Fireplace in the room is nice. Beds and bedding have been recently updated. There are vanities both in the bathroom and outside(2 queen beds). It's a bit dated overall and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Mary works very hard to help all of our guests, and we are pleased she was able to assist you during your stay. Our beds are very comfortable and we do receive a lot of compliments on them. Due to our limited space in the breakfast area we are not able to offer a full... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

We were very happy upon entering the room. It was a spacious room and appeared clean. The next morning ,however, both my husband and I had to take cold showers and in the middle of winter you would hope for a nice warm shower. When we inquired about it we were simply told it was because it was there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We use all reviews in a positive light in order to help us in the future. We apologize we were not able to meet your expectations, we working very hard to fix the problems you have mentioned. I hope you brought it to our attention about the bathroom door, and we apologize for that, sometimes... More 

hershey pa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We really enjoyed this comfy, roomy and simple but everything you need lodge/motel. We got a great deal on the Internet and were pleasantly surprised how nice the facilities were. It's not perfect it's got it's little quirks but it's an older place that has been renovated on a budget. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean, TV was nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes our breakfast is limited due to lack of space in our breakfast area. We are glad you enjoyed our new beds we agree they are very comfortable. Please visit us again soon. More 

Lincoln, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

My husband and I booked a room for our 25th wedding anniversary. Big mistake. The heart shaped tub looked dirty. The room smelled like smoke. (It was a nonsmoking room) It does not have a separate shower. We walked around Gatlinburg the first night, bought cleaner, cleaned the tub and went to bed. I couldn't sleep. We left that night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I wish that you would have let us take care of this for you so that you would not have been inconvenienced, there was no excuse for our housekeeping to have left your tub dirty and your room smelling of smoke, unfortunately some guests smoke in rooms that are designated... More 

La Follette, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Me and my husband stayed here during a convention and had a great time. The location was great and close to the parkway and convention center. The employees were helpful and kind. The room was spacious and had a fireplace. Everything was clean. The heater worked really well. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. The breakfast was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are please we were able to meet your expectations and you had a great time while with us. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in our area, we would love to have you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question