We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Edge Motor Lodge

Hotel website
655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Special Offer
MIDWEEK SPECIAL!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Edge Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Edge Motor Lodge
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    46
    30
    47
See reviews for
111
103
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Woodruff, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, quite, nice rooms. Very friendly staff. Very inexpensive. Good value for a place off the main drag. Older motel, but quaint. Within walking distance of just about everything in Gatlinburg! Did find it odd the cleaning staff left an envelope saying "tips appreciated.. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you found us to be a good value. We strive to keep our hotel clean for our guests, and are happy you found it so. There are a lot of hotels that the housekeeping does put an envelope in the rooms for the housekeepers, as some guests like to leave a little... More 

Dillsboro, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Can't say enough good things about the staff. Very helpful and treated us great. Ended up staying an extra night due to weather & got a reduced rate in turn. Extremely close to all downtown. Park & walk anywhere you want to go. An older property, but the value makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had quiet time for you. Due to the recent bad weather we have had, we are very pleased we were able to help you in any way we could. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to the area More 

Nashville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know what people are expecting. This is not a $300 a night hotel. It's an inexpensive place to spend the night. Location is VERY convenient to Gatlinburg. Fireplace in the room is nice. Beds and bedding have been recently updated. There are vanities both in the bathroom and outside(2 queen beds). It's a bit dated overall and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Mary works very hard to help all of our guests, and we are pleased she was able to assist you during your stay. Our beds are very comfortable and we do receive a lot of compliments on them. Due to our limited space in the breakfast area we are not able to offer a full... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

We were very happy upon entering the room. It was a spacious room and appeared clean. The next morning ,however, both my husband and I had to take cold showers and in the middle of winter you would hope for a nice warm shower. When we inquired about it we were simply told it was because it was there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We use all reviews in a positive light in order to help us in the future. We apologize we were not able to meet your expectations, we working very hard to fix the problems you have mentioned. I hope you brought it to our attention about the bathroom door, and we apologize for that, sometimes... More 

hershey pa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We really enjoyed this comfy, roomy and simple but everything you need lodge/motel. We got a great deal on the Internet and were pleasantly surprised how nice the facilities were. It's not perfect it's got it's little quirks but it's an older place that has been renovated on a budget. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean, TV was nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes our breakfast is limited due to lack of space in our breakfast area. We are glad you enjoyed our new beds we agree they are very comfortable. Please visit us again soon. More 

Lincoln, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

My husband and I booked a room for our 25th wedding anniversary. Big mistake. The heart shaped tub looked dirty. The room smelled like smoke. (It was a nonsmoking room) It does not have a separate shower. We walked around Gatlinburg the first night, bought cleaner, cleaned the tub and went to bed. I couldn't sleep. We left that night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I wish that you would have let us take care of this for you so that you would not have been inconvenienced, there was no excuse for our housekeeping to have left your tub dirty and your room smelling of smoke, unfortunately some guests smoke in rooms that are designated... More 

La Follette, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Me and my husband stayed here during a convention and had a great time. The location was great and close to the parkway and convention center. The employees were helpful and kind. The room was spacious and had a fireplace. Everything was clean. The heater worked really well. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. The breakfast was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are please we were able to meet your expectations and you had a great time while with us. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in our area, we would love to have you back. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

When we got there being greeted seemed ok, pretty friendly. What bothered me was the terrible room service and cleanliness b/c there was none. I found several bugs in the room so of course that made me second guess on actually sleeping IN the bed. There was mold around the shower all over. the ceiling to the shower was falling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Okay, I'm a very reasonable reviewer... I give places the benefit of doubt and I'm not excessively picky. But I won't be staying here again. The pros: Very close walk to the parkway... it comes out near Ober Gatlinburg or Flapjacks, depending on which route you take. Fairly quiet. Our suite was spacious enough for our family. Small (very small)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnson City,TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We booked a room at the last minute on Black Friday. We have stayed here before, so we knew what we were getting into ahead of time. This hotel desperately needs some TLC and major updates. It's certainly not a luxury hotel by any means. I love that they have a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Guest Relations Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I have to say, I loved reading your review! I liked that you tell it like it is, and the things you had to say were right on. This hotel is 50+ years old, and there are things that come up on a daily basis, that keep us hopping, BUT we love this property, and try to keep up as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question