We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Edge Motor Lodge

Hotel website
655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Special Offer
Saving Combo up to $1000.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Edge Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Edge Motor Lodge
Add Photo

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    93
    51
    33
    47
See reviews for
119
110
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (301)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Newport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed there June 21-26, 2015. We were looking for a reasonable price place to stay while we were in Gatlinburg. Over all good place. Beds were comfortable and rooms clean. Watch taking a shower as the hot water is very hot but that is good as long as you don't scald your child.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for a couple of days. In walking distance to downtown. Very comfortable beds. Very Clean needs some little upgrading but other than that very nice. Rooms are big and roomy. Grounds are nice. A lot of nice restaurants within walking distance. Office staff was very nice. Would not hesitate to stay here again. If staying longer the fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walkerton, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The motel is a little dated, but the room was clean and spacious. Great place to stay and a very short walk from the main street. Very nice pool and continental breakfast. Bed was very comfortable. Front desk staff (Mary) was great from the day we made reservations until we checked out. She was very helpful. Would stay there again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them. We are sure Mary will be pleased with your kind comments. We look forward to your return stay More 

Bethel Springs, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great place to stay. Just a few minutes walk from everything. Has a big pool and a kiddie pool. Breakfast was donuts/muffins and cereal. It was quiet and kid friendly. Beds were super comfy. The office staff was nice. Housekeeping was a little irregular but it wasn't bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to hear it felt like home to you, we hope you return and visit with us again. More 

Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in mid Jun, the room was not bad for what you paid...but the bathroom was terrible. the was mold in the shower, walls had been patched a few times, neither sink had a drain cover...and my biggest pet peeve..the shower curtain had mold. And the door did not have a chain and the "mini Fridge will only hold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you had while with us. The bathroom and shower curtain are unacceptable to us and we have addressed this with housekeeping. We were wondering if you notified anyone at the desk about the sinks and bathroom? Our fridges are" mini fridges" they are small, so they don't hold... More 

Valley Station, Kentucky
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I arrived June 7, 2015 around 2pm. Confirmation states room would be ready by 1pm. Not. So we go grab a bite to eat. When we return, room is ready. Had to have maintenance show us how slam the door shut so it wouldn't open on its own. The sheets were never changed the entire 3 days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our check in starts at 03:00pm, we do realize that our computer had a glitch and was saying 01:00pm, we do apologize for our error. We apologize for the sheets and have spoken with housekeeping about this, we could have fixed this quickly if we had known about this while you were here. More 

Pikeville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in 2014, & were very satisfied, so we returned this year (June '15). What a mistake! New "manager" was a joke. We arrived early on Tuesday, so I asked if the room was ready yet, was told no, but was told they'd call me if it became available before check-in time of 3:00. We left, killed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We try to satisfy all of our guests by being prompt and give you our undivided attention, unfortunately it seems we failed miserably on a lot of things with your stay. I would like to offer our utmost apologies to you and your family, and invite you to return and visit with us again so... More 

Stanford, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a good, cheap, clean place to stay, and aren't going to be spending your whole visit in your room, this is the place to stay. They have a continental breakfast, not a lot of room for the breakfast. The staff is nice. It's walking distance to any of the down town attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope you return to visit with us soon More 

Boaz, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was a good value. We paid $39 per night thru Orbitz. The front desk help was exceptional, as was the cleaning staff. Our room was cleaned, beds made, and all the bath linens were replaced EVERY DAY OF OUR STAY. The room was clean upon our arrival and the bedding was super soft and smelled lightly of bleach.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay we apologize for the pool being cold, not sure when you all stayed with us but in the spring when the trees are in bloom it is hard to keep it cleaned at all times, and with the cold weather we experienced in the spring this year... More 

Shelbyville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I am only giving this hotel three stars because it was an ok place to stay since we were gone most of the time and because we got such good deal on it through Priceline.com. We paid $55 for Wednesday, Thursday, and FRIDAY night (Friday was regularly around $140 because off Memorial weekend). My biggest pet peeve was trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you had while staying with us. Our WIFI will be going under some major upgrades here in the next few weeks. The trash under the sink area, did you say anything to the front desk? We appreciate guests letting us know if there is a problem so that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay