We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

2.5 of 5 240 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    133
    103
    66
    78
See reviews for
145
165
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (477)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed there for two nights, and it's not the most updated hotel, but for the price and location it worked for us. My son left his I pad behind and we didn't notive until the next day. They called and the cleaning ladies turned it in! We thought we had lost it and he was really upset! Think it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The options in Gatlinburg are not great. We booked rooms here as a part of a group visit for an event. We will certainly not return. The location is great, but this older resort needs updating and cleaning. The lobby is nice and provides a great gathering place for groups. We had a terrible experience and had to move rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights front desk staff was really nice and helpful. I could have done without the timeshare representative attacking you after checking in. Room was ok we stayed in a standard king room, you definitely get what you pay for. Very convenient to parkway. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The positive is we had a great view of the mountains and short walk to the strip. The negative is the room was so outdated i was surprised they didn't have dial up internet. The tube is nasty looking and stained the staff was rude and to beat it all the air conditioner didn't work. There is no coke or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked two rooms for the family at the River Terrace Resort and Convention Center and little did we know we had ring side seats to watch a spectacular view of Gatlinburg’s excellent New Year’s fireworks exhibition. Many plus’s to the River Terrace include location to major sightseeing spots in town, a brief drive to the mountains and the parking off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We are pleased you have discovered Westgate River Terrace. We offer the perfect place to stay while visiting Downtown Gatlinburg, the Great Smoky Mountains and any of the other fun attractions. New Year’s Eve was definitely a great event and what better place to stay than our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a little worried by some other reviews, but we had 2 adjoining rooms here for nearly a week. The rooms were a little larger than a typical Holiday Inn. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. The television worked and we had free WiFi. The rooms met all of our needs. We were close to the aquarium,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Westgate River Terrace. We love that our resort was at a perfect location for everything you were interested in and that our units exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon! Allie More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the River Terrace Resort just after New Years. I was a little concerned based on the posted reviews that I had read. However, I found this place to be clean, and charming. The location was great, tons of shops within walking distance, short drive to the smoky mountains, and neighboring towns. The staff was very friendly especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience. It’s great knowing that you were able to enjoy our resort, and even though you had some concerns our experienced staff and great location were able to change that. We strive in customer service and thanks to our customer’s feedback we are able to improve in the areas we... More 

Rossville, Georgia, USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Excellent location, clean, & beautiful view from the deck. Able to see the space needle for new years eve from balcony. Cons: not our idea of a resort. This is the loudest place we' ve ever stayed. This resort was along the lines of a La Quinta. While the room was clean it was not decorated as a resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your fair and honest feedback. We are pleased to read that you thought our location was excellent and beautiful. On the other hand, it’s very unfortunate we weren’t able to meet your expectations at the River Terrace Resort & Convention Center. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. Our renovation process will... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The comforter and furniture looked like it came fr a dumpster. The desk and dresser had deep gouges like someone had taken a screwdriver to it. Bedcover thin old polyester from the 60s. The sheets very grey, thin, and threadbare from years of use. Crimson rug was very dark hiding God only knows what stains, I didn't take off my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas for improvement in order to provide out guests with the best vacation experience. We certainly regret all that we fell short during your stay. Westgate River Terrace started renovation on the property as of January 2015. We certainly hope that the experience... More 

Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always stay here on our first night in, especially after riding in the car all day. We just park at hotel and walk to all our favorite places. Its wonderful to taste free moonshine and not have to get back in the car and travel up a mountain at night to a cabin. Hotel is always clean and has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you like the convenience of our Resort. Being able to have access to all your favorite places makes any vacation hassle free and more enjoyable. It’s also pleasing to know you like that our hotel is always clean and it has everything you need to make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay