We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apgar Village Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Box 398, West Glacier, MT
Apgar Village Lodge
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    56
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
38
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean and tidy, with perfect location in front of Lake McDonald. While prices were high, this was to be expected while staying in the park. Compared to other options outside the park, this was a clear bet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a motel room, not a cabin. It was sort of two rooms although there wasn't a door between the two, but a wall. Our stay was totally as expected. We've stayed in in-park hotel/motel/cabins in 6 national parks and this is as nice as any. Note, we have not stayed in the high end, resort-type in-park lodging,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Burke, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I booked this motel I knew the rooms were small. I figured we wouldn't be in the room much so that wouldn't be a problem. If you have an issue with tight quarters this is not the place for you. The room was clean and ready for us when we checked in. My only complaint is that there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glacier Park I, Manager at Apgar Village Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Apgar Village Lodge. We’re glad you had good service and that the room was clean but we are sorry to hear you didn’t have sufficient ventilation. We will make an effort to address this issue. We are in the process of making some updates to... More 

Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, so there are a lot of mixed reviews about these cabins, and I was a little nervous before arriving because I didn't know what to expect. Luckily, our cabin was fantastic!! We stayed in Cabin 4 which was fairly close to the river and had a full kitchen. I highly recommend reserving a cabin with a kitchen, it makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my first negative review. I usually only review positive experiences, but, the mismatch between price and quality here spurred me to write. We stayed in a 2-room cabin which had last been updated probably 30 years ago. Apgar Village Lodge is not responsible for the June 2015 heat wave which made the no A-C cabins intolerable from 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Glacier Park I, Manager at Apgar Village Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at Apgar Village Lodge. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was uncomfortable and did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of making updates to the cabins you stayed in and will make an effort to address the screen and amenity issues. While we understand... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Glacier over the 4th of July weekend because our original plans were impacted by road closures. There was a no vacancy sign, but we asked anyway. And we scored a room!! The people at the desk were lovely. The room was clean and neat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it's a nice peaceful place. One of the best views in my opinion is Lake McDonald from this area. We rented kayaks one morning and it was very relaxing. The cabins are extremely old fashioned. I had to laugh because I am only 5'1" and the show was extremely small for me. I kept t bumping into the sides. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made reservations at the Village Lodge but it was the motel. I was told on the phone that I had a creekside motel room with a coffee maker. Not. I was in a room next to the restaurant on the main road. The parking was suppose to be motel guests only. Our room had the smell of the restaurant,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We knew before arriving that the rooms in the lodge would be very small. They are. However, it was clean and we had a view of the stream from our back window. The front window gave us a nice breeze. We were less than a block's walk from Lake McDonald. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

The * free standing cabins * are by my family, more than could be ever rated ! Bring your own food, outdoor chairs etc, go fishing, hiking, drives.....photos upon photos !! We grew up camping, and we know that these cabins are cabins. We love staying in Apgar and would never ponder the thought of anywhere else. If people are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 7 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 7 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 7 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#9 of 15 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glacier Under Canvas
17.0 mi away
North Forty Resort
North Forty Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities