We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet Street, Brooklyn, NY 11206
Hotel amenities
The New York Loft Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Daran K
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    105
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
8
24
90
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very affordable and cosy place, has a nice rustic look that's synonymous with a New York lifestyle. Beds are not that comfortable but for the price you pay it's what you get. The reception staff are friendly. Free breakfast is provided with your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Varese, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a trick in another hotel,arrived in New York I needed a new accommodation where stay,fortunately someone gave me the address of the hostel and I go there,take a room and stayed only one night to continue my travel.but I can suggest even more than one day,because the hostel is comfortable,nice,clean and the staff is very professional and gentle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel was really nice,with good decor and facilities, however the wifi was slow, and the hot water came in short bursts. The staff weren't too friendly and the hostel didnt have a great atmosphere, the bar was closed all 5 nights we stayed. We visited in January however,and the hostel had potential to be great in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I stayed at the new york loft hostel 6 nights in total and found the accomodation to be nice and clean the rooms were good being only 3 people which was nice. However you werent able to drink at the hostel which kills the vibes/ there isnt really a social aspect. I was unsure as to whether the location would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I was in the city to work some shows at New York fashion week and needed a cheap place to stay. I got a private room with a shared bathroom. The room was fine. Just a bunk bed and a safe. I wish the room had more light, it only had a super dim overhead light and two desk lamps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NYLH, Front Office Manager at The New York Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back very soon! More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Value for money is a bit hard to find in New York. The rooms a bit dirty and worn out. Bath and toilet in the hall. Location was okay - you are able to walk to the subway in 5 minutes. There is a nice café just 25 metres away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NYLH, Front Office Manager at The New York Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back very soon! More 

smokinggun0759
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I had always given this place a great rating because l loved it and coming back and forth from out of country travel, have to have a place to stay and find a new place to live in niece to settle made it better to than staying in sleazy hostels in other parts of dark nyc. however they have done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NYLH, General Manager at The New York Loft Hostel, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest review. More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

This might be a little out of the way for you, depending on where in NYC you want to go. The closest subway stop is Morgan Av on the L train line, which is a block or two away from the hostel depending on if you need to put more money on a Metrocard or not. The Brooklyn area is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NYLH, Manager at The New York Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate it! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great hostel. Stayed here for 4 nights in total. The rooms were really nice and clean, and very warm! The staff were fine. Really close to the subway into Manhattan. Few stops from Bedford av which is a trendy area to visit! Overall, great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NYLH, Manager at The New York Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review!! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Stayed here on two separate occasions in November 2014 as part of a group of 3 in a private dorm. The hostel is located in a fairly good area. The subway is a few minutes walk away and once onboard it is 15/20mins into Manhattan. There are many places to eat nearby or purchase some supplies. Particularly enjoyed the Brooklyn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NYLH, General Manager at The New York Loft Hostel, responded to this review

We appreciate you review! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

263 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (24)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Bronx Four Bed Dorm (Ensuite) (12)
Viewed
Brooklyn Bunked Private Dorm (5)
Viewed
Four Bed Dorm (13)
Viewed
King Two Bed Bunked Private Dorm (4)
Viewed
Kong Three Bed Dorm (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Three Bed Dorm (Ensuite) (13)
Viewed
Two Bed Bunked Private Dorm (8)
Viewed
Two Bed Bunked Private Dorm (Ensuite) (8)
Viewed
Two Bed Private Dorm (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question