We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pike's Waterfront Lodge

3.0 of 5 1850 Hoselton Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Offers & Announcements
500 Alaska Air Miles bonus points with your stay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    139
    69
    35
    12
See reviews for
89
138
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (414)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed overnight when I was passing through town. Nice that it is close to airport with free shuttle. Rooms are dated in decor and the ones next to the elevator really noisy with the motors and ice machines. Breakfast was great for a 'continental' breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. For clarification: our room decor is intended to convey a Fairbanks, lodgey feel. We are sorry that you feel it is dated but we are going for the Gold Rush, old time feel. We freshen our rooms every winter and last winter did the curtains and some carpets. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast.... More

singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to the Fairbanks Alaska airport - about 10mins ride Next to the Chena river - lovely sight to wake up to (if your view opens to that part) or a walk around the vicinity (great for sunsets) Payable transport to and from shops or eateries - USD2.5 for each round trio from one point and back. Highly recommended as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. At Pike's, we are trying to emphasis the Gold Rush era in room decor, thus we have fringe, velvet and the lush curtain treatment in the bath room. We are trying for historic not dated! Deborah More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A reasonable stay in an average hotel. The rooms are dated; cleaning never left additional shampoo/conditioner or Kleenex. If you are not a sound sleeper, make sure you get a room that faces the river (rather than the airport). Airport and road noise affects rooms away from river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our Gold Rush era room decor. Every winter we renew the rooms; last winter, we re did the draperies; this winter we are redoing bathrooms. Additional shampoo and amenities are available at the front desk. We stopped renewing them every day due to the waste but felt by offering... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good place to stay it is comfortable has a very friendly staff and the price was great. My only complaint was that part way through the trip my key stopped working and it took 3 tries to get it working again

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your encouraging comments. Regarding the keys, we battle against static electricity wiping them out. Cell phones will also erase them and sometimes, we get a bad batch. I am sorry for the inconvenience; it is quite irritating about the keys but we are glad that you had a good stay. Deborah More

Longs, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and I have been welcomed guests at Pike's Waterfront Lodge last September and this past September. The lodge is rustic yet modern, the rooms are meticulously clean and the lobby is comfortable. The dining area serves a breakfast buffet that is worth the cost. You will not be disappointed! The staff at the lodge are friendly, willing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing and mentioning the gift shop in particular. Judy and Janet who run it and make the purchases are always looking for just the right item to carry in our shop. Thanks for your compliments; we will pass them along to our staff. Deborah More

Santa Monica, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel twice in September 2014. Hotel is a bit of a factory for tours and volume customers. NOT good personal service. But front desk gives you a wake-up call in the middle of the night if you can see the Aurora Borealis (The Northern Lights!) Awesome!!! Step out onto your river-front balcony for a great view! Hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on our Northern Lights wake up call. We try very hard to treat every guest personally and meet individual needs. It is amazing that one can see Northern Lights over the Chena River from our rooms. We are glad that you saw them. Deborah More

Stockton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Upon arrival we were hungry and went to the restaurant and lounge to have a cocktail and dinner. That was a mistake. The female bartender there was so rude and such a bad bartender, we left. We were to stay 3 nights here, but decided to leave after the first night and gave our notice at the front desk. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Hello- We are sorry that you did not enjoy you meal at the restaurant next door, Pike's Landing. Please be aware that this is not the hotel's restaurant which is the Binkley Room. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your cabin. We regard the cabins as an upgraded room type since they have a kitchenette area, a... More

paradise, arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Unfortunately, we only stayed Pike’s Waterfront Lodge for only one night. I wish we could have stayed more than that! I have to say upfront that I am smitten. It was the end of August, the end of our cruise tour, and we were even one of the last tours of the season. At first blush, a new looking exterior... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your fabulous review. You very thoroughly reviewed us and found and mentioned almost all the amenities. One correction is that we named the Binkley Room after a long time Fairbanks family of whom our owner (not related) is quite fond. Our owner is replacing many soft goods - bedspreads and the like- this winter. We continually renew ourselves... More

Greer, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of land package prior to our cruise. Cozy lobby with fireplace. Small room but comfortable. After touring all day, shower very relaxing. Buffet breakfast (not free) was adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Hello- Thanks for your stay; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry that you did not think our buffet is great. We have fine tuned it based on comments for what people like to eat thus we expanded the oatmeal bar and added Greek yogurt and a carver for the reindeer sausage and ham. Thanks again for... More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We started our Alaska trip here before heading to Denali and found this place to be very nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor with a direct view of the Chena river. The room was very nice, good sized, had a fireplace and a standing balcony (no room for chairs) to see the river. The bed was very comfortable as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review; you seem to "get" what we are offering at Pikes: a homey. comfortable and Alaskan place to stay. We keep improving and working on what we are offering. Thanks for the feedback. Deborah More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Address: 1850 Hoselton Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay