We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Share an Experience

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    54
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
42
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel was fine. We had a leak in the bathroom that took two days to be fixed, the manager compt us one night. It is close to the hiway and easy to get to all major attractions. The breakfast was fine and unlike other reviewer we did not find any problem, food was always plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Creek, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'll preface by saying that we gave NUMEROUS chances for this hotel to make things right and avoid a negative review - including during our stay and via calls after our stay. They failed. On a 4 night points (free/award) stay: - Enquiries at the front desk regarding the local area were met with blank stares (a general theme -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed at the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS for 5 nights for the GCI open north american sled dog championships, and your super accommodations were a big asset in us winning the 2015 race. THANK YOU it is one of the nicest hotels we stay at all winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed over "spring break" and it was full of tour groups and families with young children. The pool was popular so there were kids and adults walking and dripping through the lobby and elevator. Our room was not serviced twice during our stay. I think they were understaffed for the number of guests. Overheard housekeeper tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A wonderful place to stay at Ft. Wainwright, Fairbanks, Alaska. Comfortable suite room with kitchenette proved more than adequate. The price included a hot breakfast which included eggs, meat, cereal, juice, coffee, milk and assorted breads. Oh, they had pancakes too! On Wednesday nights they have a hot dish and salad from 5 to 6. This was a wonderful experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for my Birthday weekend. This hotel was nice. The room was clean and the room had a fridge and microwave. The only complaint I have is that we called and asked for them to bring up a tooth brush (they have a nice sign in the bathroom that says they will bring you ANYTHING you need and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will not hesitate to choose this HIE if I visit Fairbanks again. This HIE provides complimentary shuttle service to Fairbanks airport and train depot. The complimentary breakfast is pretty descent: plenty of yogurt, milk, fruit, oatmeal and eggs. The swimming pool and hot tub are definitely a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A short four months ago, I stayed at this Holiday Inn and was completely satisfied with the place (see my previous review from November). I guess I can attribute what has happened since to a "change in local management", but I was very disappointed by my last stay. A decline in housekeeping, room amenities that were not working properly, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review

Dear Dana W, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you you have chosen our hotel as your accommodation preference. We regret that your stay this time was not as outstanding compared to your previous visits. It seems that you were let down by the housekeeping services, room... More 

Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Fairbanks was a comfortable one. The building is an older one but H.I.E. has done a good job of making it a good place to stay inspite of the age. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and good size. The heating/cooling system worked well which is important... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knob Noster, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed overnight for a friends birthday party in town as opposed to driving all the way back to Eielson in the middle of the night. Booking was easy, however, we had to wait awhile to check in (couldn't until after four pm). Staff was super nice when checking in. Due to the wait, we were upgraded at no extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question