We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Street Inn

124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Street Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Street Inn
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    238
    93
    83
    56
See reviews for
107
418
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (778)
  • Mar-May only
    (239)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (185)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (152)
All months
There are newer reviews for River Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beds need to be replaced today! The sheets smelled of smoke. Some of the staff seemed to have a poor attitude. We thought the location was good, but it is showing heavy wear, and needs some renovation soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kellie L, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

I thank you for sharing your concerns and your input. We are in to process of updating our product and I want you to know we take your concerns to heart! More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled with 3 other couples, all booked at the same time many months ago . We were given a room in another part of the hotel, in a very small room. When we queried this we were told there were no other rooms available, that we had not booked a "River view" room and a street view room only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kellie L, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and apologize for the confusion upon your arrival. We work diligently to make sure that every guest request is taken care of and I am sorry if you experienced any negative issues with your arrival. i am happy that we were able to resolve this and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a great time, though my trip was short. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are clean and the inn was beautiful. However, that elevator needs to be replaced. I got in; it took me to the floor requested, however the elevator doors never opened. I pressed another floor number, hoping the doors will open.... it didn't. Someone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here a while ago, but the experience I had here is so hard to shake that I'm compelled to write a review. I slept on a pull-out bed in the living area of our suite/room. I couldn't fall asleep, feeling like someone else was in the room. Then the clapping started. For 4 hours that night the sound... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kellie L, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Wow!! that is the first time I have heard of this one! We do hope that you and the ghost enjoyed your stay. More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dirt in the bathroom. Light fixture hanging off ceiling. Lights not working. Huge scrapes of paint missing on the wall. Bad paint job. Huge bed in small room. Bathroom last done how many years ago? This hotel is relying on its great location overlooking the river and whilst others have moved on this one hasn't bothered. It shows no love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were so many problems with this stay (or 6 hour disaster) I am not sure where to start. When I booked the reservation over the phone An hour outside of Savannah I was told they would give me the reduced AAA rate but when I checked in I was informed they could not honor it. I should have known... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Wife and I stayed here for the week of 12-17 April 2015. River Street Inn was recommended to us by AAA Travel. The Mattress was flat and hard and Pillows were Flat. Every Morning are Bodies hurting and our Good Night's Sleep was Joke. The Price we paid for Room did not match Recommendation and Comfort we expected. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kellie L, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Endoman, I don't intend to defend the product as I agree that we do need to update some areas of the Inn and want you to know that we are working with ownership to improve all of the areas of the hotel. We have ordered all new matresses and bedding for the Inn and it should arrive in the next... More 

Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
36 hotel reviews
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this property based on its location in the same building as one of our favorite restaurants in Savannah, Huey's on the River. I booked a river view room with balcony for $288.00 for one night. We were in route from our winter home in Florida to the summer cabin in Tennessee. I called the property when we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

First time visiting Savannah. Went to meet up with friends and tour the city. We were only there for 3 days, which did NOT cover everything, you really need a full week to enjoy all. River Street Inn was exactly as I expected. It's an "old" building with wooden floors, banisters and tall ceilings. Our room was on the 5th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Koloa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The hotel was perfect, the room was fabulous and the staff were great. The location was perfect and we had a room overlooking the river, what a view. The room overlooked River Street and was a bit noisy but we did not mind. KB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kellie L, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am thrilled that your first visit to Savannah was a pleasant one. We hope to welcome you back very soon!! More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(6)
  • Great location(3)
  • Historic district(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

377 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
City View Double Queen Room With Balcony (33)
Viewed
City View King Room (54)
Viewed
River View King Room With Balcony (33)
Viewed
River View King Room With Balcony - 2 (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities