We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Street Inn

3.0 of 5 124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Street Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Street Inn
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    227
    86
    77
    52
See reviews for
103
391
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (737)
  • Mar-May only
    (198)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (185)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (152)
All months
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars NEW

I parked my car for two days ($10 per) at The River Street Inn garage, the desk clerk at checkout did not appear to be very knowledgable and charged me for the two day parking plus $30. I have contacted them three times and they SAY a correction will be forthcoming but it does not happen. I filed a complaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although this hotel was older.....i found it a very pleasing stay, right in the heart of the River Street area (which was accessible from an elevator in the building). Previous guest have commented on the hotel staff as rude, however I found this far from the case....the Bellboy was even so nice as to advise us that we could leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We appreciate your feedback and are always looking to improve. We are in the process of upgrading our bedding to a firmer mattress, new pillows and an all white bedding package. We hope you will return and see all the changes! We will keep the location and staff that you enjoyed so much!! More 

Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was hesitant to book this hotel because of all the bad reviews. I'm so happy I stayed here. This hotel is GORGEOUS! We stayed in a room with a balcony on the river. The room was SO pretty and it was so cool to see all the giant cargo ships go by! We first arrived on a Saturday around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We always want to hear from our guests and it is great when they tell us we are doing it right!! We hope to welcome you back to Savannah on your next visit. More 

Bradyville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, great staff! The room was beautiful! We couldn't have asked for a better stay. No problems at all. Historical elegance! The view from the top of the stairway is beautiful and you have perfect access to river street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your photos and your comments. We are quite proud of our nearly 200 year old treasure and it is great when others share our enthusiasm. More 

LEO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a River View Room on level 3. This hotel is confusing since the main floor is room four and the hotel is actually split into two parts. Our room was lovely and very clean. It looked out at the River Boats and all the activity on River Street. If I was to go again I think I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I will talk with the desk about explaining all of the options for tours as most of the guest just want trolley tour for one day but the package is a great deal and I am sure the tour office would love for our staff to be able to recommend that option... More 

Stone Mountain, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The River Street Inn is located in the heart of the riverfront tucked back behind the live oaks on Bay Street. We found the staff to be friendly. You can enter Huey's and Tubby's from the hotel which is convenient. Our room was on riverside with a Juliette balcony, and large window seat to view the active river of tug... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the River Street Inn. We are certainly proud of the history in the building and the charm that only such a building can offer. On a side note the garage across the street does have 24 hour security and our bellman are always happy to escort a lady to... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend booked this hotel for us for my birthday weekend. He specified a king or queen river view room. Apparently they were sold out so we were degraded to the third floor WITHOUT notice. A lot of noise and two beds was not exactly our idea of a romantic weekend. Best advice: stay else where. The staff was unprofessional.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we were unable to accommodate the request for a higher floor and one bed. Many reservations book through online travel agencies (Expedia...) are not guaranteed a specific room type even though you may request it at the time of booking. We always encourage guests to call us directly at the Inn so we can make... More 

Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

River Street Inn is in the heart of River Street. Huge cargo ships pass by often which is exciting. Harbor Cruises depart from the dock in front of the hotel. The hotel was originally built to warehouse cotton in 1817. It is on four floors going from the street down to the riverfront. The room was large and the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TA audience. We appreciate the positive notes and will work to improve on the items we can impact. We are working on upgrading to HD right now for the televisions and I will make sure we do a double check and ensure all rooms are fully stocked with... More 

Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very beautiful and we were able to get the river view. The staff was very nice and the room was very clean and orderly. This place is a great location and put us within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. In the evenings between 5-6:30pm they serve you free wine, beer, and food in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kelliepickhardt, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Who doesn't love free wine!! Plus with Savannah's liberal alcoholic beverage policies you can take a leisurely stroll on the river while enjoying it!! Cheers!! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed Feb. 8-10 for our 35th. Anniversary ( which I did mention when we checked in). The room itself was ok but no view of city. just of a brick wall, people taking garbage out past our windows and a couple guys talking loudly ! On our second night (our anniversary) came back to hotel early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(6)
  • Great location(3)
  • Historic district(3)

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

375 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
City View Double Queen Room With Balcony (33)
Viewed
City View King Room (54)
Viewed
River View King Room With Balcony (33)
Viewed
River View King Room With Balcony - 2 (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay