We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marshall House

#5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Special Offer
Save $5 Per Night Parking
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Marshall House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a Courtyard Suite which has a separate sitting area with sofa bed, which our teenage son slept on. The bedroom is comfortable with king bed, TV and wardrobe with safe. Well appointed room in spotlessly clean condition. Bathroom is well kept,with nice linen and toiletries but it is a little on the small side with shower only, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank myoc2001
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Old world charm with modern amenities. Sounds a little timeworn, but absolutely applies here. We started with a lovely young man named Brendan, who gave a wonderful history of the hotel and it's owners as he helped with our luggage. This building has a long, rich history in this beautiful town, and the employees are proud of it and their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maurmurph
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Thank you Maurmurph! I'm always inspired by Brendan and all the superstars on the valet team! You nailed the secret of our hospitality! We are all so proud of our the Marshall House and its heritage, and especially proud when our guests enjoy their time with us. Happy Travels, Hugh More 

Cumming, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I'll keep it brief. Beautiful rooms. Delightful staff. Your bill WILL end up being about 25% higher than the price you are looking at on Trip Advisor due to taxes. This is out of The Marshall House's control. The breakfast is weak and disappointing. When paying $200/night, I am insulted that they would serve powdered eggs, or what appear to... More 

Helpful?
Thank pikuptruk
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Pikuptruk, Olivia, our gem of a cook at the 45 Bistro, does indeed prepare the scrambled eggs fresh throughout our 7 to 10 breakfast. We will look into the presentation. I hope you did try them because we are often complimented. Olivia also bakes two types of homemade quiche, and cooks the sausage and bacon fresh as well. Thank... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you're looking for something different from the big chains, then this will hit the spot. Lovely welcoming feel, friendly staff, beautiful old fashioned furniture, good breakfast and brilliant location. The only thing I found disappointing was that the sash windows did not open - if it had been me restoring an old building I would have made sure these... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusanfromSouthsea
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear SusanfromSouthsea, Thank you for recognizing us an authentic Savannah experience! For structural reasons the windows on the third and fourth floor do not open. Thank you for joining us in the Library for our wine and cheese reception. Hope to see you again, Hugh More 

Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved staying here. It was within walking distance to everything. There is so much history in just this hotel alone. The nightly cheese and wine was fantastic. It was a nice way to meet fellow travelers. The room was full of character and very comfortable. We stayed 4 nights, and the hospitality never wavered. I would recommend this hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Callie N
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Callie N, Thank you for this wonderful recommendation to others! I'm glad you chose an extended visit. 4 days is an ideal stay for exploring the nation's largest historic landmark district and taking advantage of many fabulous dining options. With so much to do, It's really tough for us to help plan an itinerary for a guest just an... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Marshall House is steeped with history and it shows! Stayed one night here in May 2015 and it was worth it. The room was amazing and the service matched it. The hotel's location was walking distance to everything! Another plus was there was a parking garage just being and it was cheap to park over night.

Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne K
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne K, Thank you for staying with us in May! It's almost time for a return visit. Call us directly for the best rates and room options. Hope to see you soon. Best, Hugh More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Excellent location, totally historic and the best about this hotel is the staff. Fantastic people, they made you feel perfect. You can ask to any of the front desk guys for anything you need and they will help you. I will recomend it to all my friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank Albert J
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Albert, Thank you for being our guest, and recognizing our people for their good nature and hospitality. Wow is definitely our goal. The historic building, décor, and location gives us a great head start in reaching "Wow!" Happy Travels, Hugh More 

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We saw a number of hotels on an internet website and decided to try the Marshall House. The hotel is well located on the main street of downtown Savannah. We had a room on the second floor that had access to the porch so that you could watch the people and cars go by. Surprisingly, the street noise was not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Charles B, Thank you for this wonderful recommendation on Tripadvisor! The veranda's appeal is that it is semi-private to the 8 rooms on the second floor facing Broughton street. It was reproduced from a small piece of the 1858 original, found in the basement during the 1999 restoration. Glad you enjoyed it! Happy Travels, Hugh More 

white plains NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was on the 4th floor and there was some street noise, but it didn't interfere with us having a great time. Ours was a small but lovely room with a big comfortable bed. The place is very old and has a wonderful, well-kept historic feel. Just what we were looking for. The location is convenient for River Street... More 

Helpful?
Thank ISandRVP
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear ISandRVP, We will definitely look into that pesky soap dish! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself otherwise. The breakfast atrium was once the courtyard of the original plan. It's a great place to enjoy the morning. We hope to see you again! Hugh More 

Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Anyone wanting to experience true southern charm should spend a time it the Marshall House. We arrived early and wanted to make the most of our stay in Savannah. The staff was able to check us in early. The Valet and Bell Hop were most accommodating, the Concierge was able to schedule the tour we wanted even though it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
SAVMH, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Hello Tim K, I can't thank you enough for this recommendation on Tripadvisor! I constantly encourage the team to reach out and make wonderful memories. It's an easy job really because we truly have exceptional people at the Marshall House. Happy Travels, Hugh More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

689 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (555)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (150)
Viewed
Room/suite (134)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (194)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
Superior Double Queen (20)
Viewed
Superior King Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#8 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,213 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay