We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marshall House

#6 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Special Offer
Book Direct Discount
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Marshall House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,013
    409
    78
    33
    16
See reviews for
256
828
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1549)
  • Mar-May only
    (404)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (490)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (361)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (294)
All months
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is good value for money with a good complimentary breakfast in the morning. Definately not haunted (in my opinion) but you can experience it for yourself. We had the courtyard suite, it was large, two rooms and could sleep four persons. Love the old floor boards and the deco is very soothing. Bed very comfortable, even the sofa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAVMH, Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Malar M., I am glad you were able to find so much enjoyment in this town we call home. Savannah's atmosphere is quite rich with history and entertainment. I have worked here for over 5 years and have yet to experience anything myself. (And prefer not to...) However, the haunted aspect of Savannah provides yet another layer of ambiance.... More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Renovations look great in the lobby. The historical atmosphere was inside this very expensive hotel. Close enough to walk to history, but take one of the trolley tours. If you get a balcony room, make sure you are fit enough to climb out the window up to the balcony. Be prepared for rude guests to drag the metal chairs across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Steffi-Zeeva, Thank you for your wonderful praise of the Marshall House and our team! Had we known about the problem with the water pressure we would have corrected it immediately. I'll have our maintenance team on this today, but I haven't had similar complaints. I'm sorry you felt us to be "very expensive." We make sure to price our... More 

Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here while in Savannah, everyone was very helpful and the room was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and wine and cheese in the afternoon was a lovely touch. The hotel is right in the center of historic downtown and the entire downtown area is walking distance away. The only reason it did not get 5 stars is because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear BrittMisch, Thank you for being our guest and rating us as a nice hotel on Tripadvisor. We are obsessively dedicated to a 5 star experience. I'll look into the noisy ac immediately, but hope you voiced this during your stay so we could make sure it did not interfere with your stay. Please come see us again so we... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is first class! Everyone was friendly, from the valet to the desk staff and the manager himself. We stayed in a suite on the second floor, with access to the semi private balcony overlooking Broughton Street. It was a large, luxurious room with a great layout. The bathroom had BOTH a shower and an original claw foot tub!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Anna H, The Mary Marshall Suite is our finest suite and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. We are currently remodeling bathrooms but those 150+ year old claw foot tubs are most definitely staying. We have 14 throughout the hotel that were saved during the 1999 restoration. With the nation's largest historic district and events happening throughout the year,... More 

Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room were great.. The staff was even better.. We arrived late and the valet (I pretty sure his name was D)stayed until almost midnight so we wouldn't have to try and find a parking spot that late. Because we knew we wouldnt need service we left the DND on the door and when we returned the housekeeper left us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear KENDRA J, So happy to hear Girls Weekend went well! Those rooms with two queen-sized beds are our largest standard rooms, and I'm glad you had plenty of space to spread out. Darvean and Bernard are really great. Our valet staff are the first and last of our people guests see while staying at the Marshall House. They really... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay here so much! This place is beautiful and was perfect for our romantic getaway for my birthday. The entire staff was so excellent. It always makes a difference when the staff goes above and beyond. The breakfast was consistently good. A nice selection to get our day started! We enjoyed the coffee especially! I loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Norelle B, Those creaky floors are 164 years old; we can't blame ghosts! We can't thank you enough for your praise of The Marshall House and our team. Our 45 Bistro just switched coffee so I am glad you liked it and the breakfast. If we didn't tell you enough while you were here: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Best, Hugh More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful and full of history. We had a verandah room and we sat out there in the mornings deciding what we were going to do that day. One morning it was raining and it was nice sitting there in the cool air out of the rain. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and giving referrals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Donna P, We really appreciate your kind remarks! Thanks for posting the picture of the Marshall House veranda. There's plenty of space out there for the 8 rooms that access it through the floor to ceiling windows. We've even used the space for weddings and elopements! Hope to see you again! Best, Hugh More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The southern charm can't be beat. We love this hotel and its history. Everyone is helpful and nice and honestly, if you want a true Savannah experience, you can't beat The Marshall House. It's centrally located, close to everything and we love this place. And let me add, the staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Franky P, Thank you for ranking us as excellent on Trip Advisor! The Marshall House really is as Savannah as Savannah gets. As a native I was so proud to join the team this past April, and continue to be in awe of our people everyday. Hope to see you soon! Best, Hugh More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in room 210 which was very dark and had no natural light as the only window faced the breakfast room. Room was quite small Breakfast was ok but not much choice Cheese and wine in the evening was good

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Cazza724, Thank you so much for being our guest and taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry that you did not feel we were a good value based on your experience and what you paid. I never want any of our guests to depart feeling that way and would have addressed this with you during... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only had one day and night to spend in Savannah and had a wonder stay at the Marshall House. We stayed in the beautiful Juliette Gordon Low Suite overlooking the courtyard. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the courtyard was great. We enjoyed the quiche, fruit and hot tea that was served along with pastries, juice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAVMH, General Manager at Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Lisa S, We are so grateful for your kind recommendation for the Marshall House. The Low Suite is definitely one of my favorite rooms and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I also want to thank you for recognizing the efforts of our breakfast staff related to the tasty variety they serve. It's a long buffet but I don't think... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

640 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (499)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (138)
Viewed
Room/suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (167)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
Superior Double Queen (20)
Viewed
Superior King Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#5 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay