We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

#13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    527
    100
    32
    17
See reviews for
397
812
56
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1735)
  • Mar-May only
    (509)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (462)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (450)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (314)
All months
south carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our birthday/anniversary weekend was awesome here! The location, room, valet, continental breakfast and staff were all wonderful. The only thing we encountered was one elevator was broken and the curtains didn't close completely so at night the lights from the street and nearby hotels were bright--with some southern ingenuity, we used a hanger with clips from the closet to hold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome rating, and I would like to apologize for the elevator challenges, we are working diligently to resolve this matter, we definitely understand the inconvenience this puts on our valuable guest. Have a great day! More 

Evans, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel based on ratings on Tripadvisor that proved to be unfounded. There are three main issues with this hotel. 1. Only one elevator works and has been for some time with no one working on it. 2. Rooms are tired and need an upgrade. 3. Valet parking arrangement is totally unsatisfactory. Further information: item 2. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for all your valuable feedback. Have a great day!! More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was recently in Savannah for a conference & we stayed in the Holiday Inn Express. We were very pleased with the location (it was within easy walking distance to all the restaurants & sites), excellent rooms & staff, great little lounge with a bar. The concierge was especially helpful to my wife in assisting her with things to do during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the outstanding 5 Star rating!!! Please come again. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stopped in the area for two days while driving from Myrtle Beach to Orlando. Steps from all the historical sites & the harbour. We watched a paddlewheeler going by an ocean tanker getting in from the far-east! Quick check-in. Only one elevator working (still, looking at other reviews). Morning brekkie was better than most, two staff keeping everything clean &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing, we know you have several options in the area and we appreciate all your valuable feedback. Please come again. More 

Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, people were really friendly. But for $200 a night its a bad deal when you have to wait almost 15 minutes to get the elevator. View from the 7th floor was nice but don't stay above the floor you can take the stairs to. Apparently its been broke for Months!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable feedback on your stay with us, please know that we are working very hard to resolve our elevator challenges. Have a wonderful day! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel was clean with friendly staff continental breakfast which was very good. Outside pool was nice. I would stay there again.we had tickets for the trolley and the bus picked us up outside the door and took us to the trolley stop. Very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for spending your girl's trip wiht us! Please come again ladies!! More 

Boone, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great property located on East Bay Street in the historic district across from all the River Front fun. The only issue we had was only one elevator was operational and repair work on the broken lift began at 8 a.m. each morning we were there. That slight nuisance aside, the hotel is near some great pubs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we appreciate you choosing us! We are working diligently to resolve our elevator challenges and want to apologize again for any inconvenience this may have caused you during you stay with us. We hope to see you in the future! More 

Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location, right above River Street. Valet parking available with outstanding service. Friendly staff absolutely everywhere making you feel crazy ,crazy ,welcome :-) . Very comfortable and nicely decorated rooms with bathrooms I am going to copy at home in an up coming remodel- no kidding lol. Pretty lobby with a dispenser of cold water with fruit floating in it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

We can't wait to have you back Lara1871, thanks for the kind words and awesome feedback extended to the staff members! It is our goal to make every guest feel welcomed and appreciated, we know you have several choices in the area and are completely honored that you've choose us! Please come back and see us! More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we checked in about 4:45pm on 5/9 it was quite busy; the female valet asked us how many nights we were staying and when we told her 1 (we were just beginning a 2 week, 3500 mile road trip) she highly encouraged us to use the City Parking Garage next door, that would only cost $5. We flat out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

I apologize for the challenges you have experience while lodging with us and want to assure you that it is never our desire to inconvenience our guest in anyway. I would love the opportunity to speak with further regarding the matter. Please email me at hope.garner@savannahlodging.com. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Have a great day! More 

Anderson, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was just steps from River Street shopping and eating. We were up on the 7th floor so we could see the barges coming in and out. The roof top pool was really neat, a little breezy up there, but we spent some time just relaxing. They were all super friendly. We grabbed a free breakfast in the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us, please come again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

618 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (295)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
King Feature Room (48)
Viewed
King Standard Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
Two Queen Standard Room (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay