We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 111 Savannah hotels

The Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
The Thunderbird Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #48 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Beverly M Sugar Land
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    281
    106
    65
    37
See reviews for
160
321
40
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (805)
  • Mar-May only
    (225)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (243)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (213)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (124)
All months
Sugar Land
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome retro motor inn! Walking distance to everything! Loved the RC Cola and moon pies. Staff was very knowledgeable about the area; gave us excellent suggestions, directions, etc. King-size bed was very comfortable. We had a great time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! I'm glad you loved our inn and the southern retro touches that we provide like the RC cola & MoonPies! I hope you can come over to us again! While you're traveling, you should check out TravelRetro if you like vintage inns! More

Sorrento, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed three 9/13 9/14 9/16/14 we really enjoyed our stay the staff is very friendly and helpful. everyone was helpful the managers,desk clerks our housekeeper sabrena as well as tony we will definetly go back the motel was clean,new beds well kept close to the historic section

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. I am pleased you had great experience with our staff, they really do make the difference! I hope you will come back and see us again! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a retro place folks. I loved the moon pies and RC cola left on our nite stand every day. It made us feel special. Our room was renovated without taking away its old charm. I even typed a journal every day on an old typewriter on our desk. The staff was helpful. The maids left my room spotless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Customer Service is key for us! It is what makes us special and brings the inn to life! I'm glad your husband had a great time and enjoyed the doughnuts! They are a cool treat! I hope you'll come see us again when you're around Savannah. regards, Mark Thomas More

Chester, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fun, convenient and economical place to stay in Savannah. Room was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate for showering/sleeping. Not a large room, but there is too much to do in Savannah to hang around in a hotel. Staff very friendly. Parking is tight but $5 is less than most places charge. Easy walk to downtown attractions and SCAD daughter's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Welcome back! I'm happy you returned to see us again and had another great stay! I hope you come back for years to come! regards, Mark Thomas More

Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose the Thunderbird Inn for 3 reasons - excellent price, excellent reviews and excellent location. This place was exactly what I expected and more. I was not expecting a 4 star resort - the carpets have seen better days and one of the lamps didn't work, BUT, it was very CLEAN and very COMFORTABLE - the beds were amazing!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Jenn, Thank you for the kind review. I don't know why the lamps wouldn't have worked... that's very odd. I'm sorry about that. I"m glad that didn't dampen your stay. regards, Mark Thomas More

Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at the Thunderbird Inn recently. I had no trouble paying the reasonable $5 per night parking fee. I had no problem with the size of the room, the air conditioning or the bathroom. The breakfast of donuts, juice, coffee or tea was ok. I did not like some (not all) of the unfriendliness that I encountered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I hate that you had a bad customer service experience. That is NOT what a expect from my staff. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so we can talk further about this. regards, Mark Thomas mark@thethunderbirdinn.com More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is great. A burst of fresh air. It's good to find a one off hotel rather than constant chains as like the rest of America. We arrived early and our room wasn't available but the staff were friendly and helpful to show us the areas to go to in savannah and we could get our room later that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Thunderbird bills itself as the "hippest hotel in Savannah", alluding to its look and feel like a classic "motor hotel" of the "hip" 60s. There are some cute touches along those lines -- the throw-back pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion in the bathroom, the two moon pies and RC colas in the room, free popcorn and lemonade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed for a couple days a few months ago. Great hotel. I love ones that aren't the standard. This one had the most comfortable bed and pillows ever. Only problem was the door to the room next door wasn't locking correctly. Might need to look into that (Over by the ice machine under the stairs.) Highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shoreham, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are Baby Boomers, and the 60's were a great time in our lives. Overnighting it at the Thunderbird Inn took us right back in time. When we first pulled into the lot with multi-colored doors, it was, OMG!!! But it all makes sense once you enter the office to check-in. You are surrounded by vintage 60's memorabilia right down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage The Thunderbird Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Historic district(36)
  • Very friendly(20)
  • Parking lot(15)
  • Moon Pie(14)
  • River street(13)
  • Krispy Kreme donut(10)
  • Rooms are clean(6)
  • Bus station(4)
  • Comfortable bed(4)
  • Great Place(3)

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

178 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Thunderbird Inn