We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thunderbird Inn

2.0 of 5 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Thunderbird Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Thunderbird Inn
The Thunderbird Inn
The Thunderbird Inn
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    301
    112
    72
    42
See reviews for
167
350
45
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (864)
  • Mar-May only
    (225)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (243)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (242)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (154)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted to love this place based on the website and the reviews. The place looked cool. There was supposed to be free wifi and bikes available. A cool retro vibe. Free 'breakfast'. What's not to love! But when I arrived I knew I was in for trouble. It's a run down motel across from a bus station. A little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't like your experience. You could have reached out to myself , Leslie, or any of my staff and we would have bent over backwards to make your experience right. I do you know that you called to talk to our night auditor Jim, but never brought up any issues that you outlined in your review. I... More 

Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The Thunderbird Inn, on Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, is a great retro motel, close to the downtown area, right of the main road into the city from I-95. The rooms are clean, looked to have been recently refurbished, came with complimentary Moonpies and RC cola! The breakfast (the night we stayed) consisted of Orange and Apple juices, fresh coffee, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! I'm pleased Crystal made you happy and you enjoyed the Krispy Kremes and Coffee! regards, Mark Thomas More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Thunderbird and it was nasty they switch me to two rooms and the manager made all the excuses she said it did not matter what room they switch me too because the housekeeper her clean them so as a manager of the hotel I guess they don't check the room when I got in my bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Maria, You obviously are the same caliber person online as you were to my associates and manager. That is why we would not employ you with us. More 

Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

LOVE this place. I was staying with my husband & sister & we loved it so much we decided to stay 2 nights instead of one. Wish it could have been more. Price is right. The funky retro look & vibe is great (oldies music in the lobby; a bag of popcorn upon arrival plus a welcome gift of RC... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! I'm glad you loved your stay with us! I hope you will come back to Savannah soon. Mark Thomas General Manager More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this retro inn. It took me to the 50's or 60's movies. Great service at reception. Very friendly. I was alone, so a bit scheptical at first cause it's a Inn but the people there makes u feel at home. They live at room every day old time Royal Crown Cola and two old time chocolate/marshmallow cookies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Moonpies! That's the name you're looking for. I'm so happy we won you over. I hope you will come back again to visit for a moonpie and RC! Mark Thomas General Manager More 

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Tuesday, 1/6/2015, I stayed at The Thunderbird Inn. It was a good, clean place to stay after a long day on the road. I liked the offbeat charm of the place as well as the retro 1960s feel. I plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for laying your head on our pillows! I hope you ate your MoonPie first! We'll be here for you on your next trip to Savannah. Mark Thomas General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I say old. However, they've done a terrific job keeping up with maintaining a building of that age. Roadside motels are a dying breed...and for good reason unfortunately. Our room was clean (for its age) and the air/heat worked well. It is a good value, but the trade off is modern amenities, cleanliness and noise. Money saved on the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Your money went to the right extras in our opinion! When you come to our great city sleep isn't one of the top attractions! While i disagree with you on your assessment, I'm glad you had a great visit to Savannah and chose to stay with us. Mark Thomas General Manager More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently booked a weekend trip to Savannah on Living Social and was pretty nervous about the room because the price was so inexpensive. I read a lot of reviews before I purchased the special and figured it was worth a try based on the reviews. I am a bit of a hotel snob and am extremely particular about cleanliness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and booking a future stay! I look forward to having you again. I'm so happy you loved all of the kitschy fun stuff we offer. Mark Thomas General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Thunderbird while passing through Savannah on a road trip. We booked because we were traveling with our dog and this hotel positions itself as very pet friendly. Upon check in we received a bag of treats, collar tag, pet bed and dishes for her to use which was nice. The pet bed freaked out pup out (too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your pass through Savannah. I am so pleased our staff did a great job for you. They are a great bunch of folks! I'm also your pooch had the opportunity to stretch its legs in our dog run. I hope you will stop in again to see what's changed at our little inn!... More 

Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
66 hotel reviews
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we checked in on NY eve she said she didn't have our booking. Luckily in the end they had, but they had my name mixed up. Staff was very kind. We had to pay an extra fee for our car $7.50. They have limited space, so she recommended us to leave our car there and explore Savannah by foot.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Savannah and the Thunderbird Inn! Just so you know, the next time you're in town, we have a microwave in the lobby that is available for guest use! regards, Mark Thomas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Historic district(32)
  • Very friendly(18)
  • Parking lot(14)
  • Moon Pie(14)
  • River street(13)
  • Krispy Kreme donut(9)
  • Rooms are clean(6)
  • Great Place(3)
  • Comfortable bed(3)

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
#44 Business Hotel in Savannah

433 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (231)
Viewed
Double Full Room (56)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (54)
Viewed
King Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay