We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Savannah South

#108 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3 Gateway Boulevard, I-95 & 204 ex. 94, Savannah, GA 31419
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Savannah South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The only reason I would give this hotel a one is because the attendant was friendly. The room smelled very bad...a mixture of smoke and animal. The hotel is obviously old and needs major work. The bathtub was so disgusting we couldn't even shower. We basically slept in our clothes and left as soon as we got up. We would... More 

Helpful?
Thank 937marshaw
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon first entering this room, it spelt terrible for tobacco smoke. I have allergies and I could hardly breath. I went to the lobby and got spray. It helped so much. Then we turned on the TV. It is an older model so the picture is grainy and kept shorting out. Fire hazard? The bathroom smells, I'm not sure what... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveler20092016
Angela2592, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with many aspects of your visit. We have made note of your concerns about the smoke smell, the apparent 'short' in the TV, the odor in the bathroom, and the possible safety issue with... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
531 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid this hotel at all cost. We checked in recently and after seeing the condition of the room, the mouldy smell, torn carpet, no bed spread, stains on sheets we asked for our money back. Fortunately the front desk staff refunded us without any questions. I got the sense this was not the first time guests refused to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Acadia80
Angela2592, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that the condition of your assigned guest room ultimately led you to change your mind about staying with us. We have made note of each of your concerns (bad odor, condition of carpet, and condition of bed... More 

Ayden, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

We were greeted at the front desk cheerily by Ms. Mortiz. She was very attentive to us by giving very clear directions to our room and explaining about using the hotel breakfast or the attached restaurant. The room was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. We booked the same room for our return trip five days later. Check- in... More 

Helpful?
Thank brenda s
Angela2592, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you found your guest room to be clean and comfortable, and that you were very pleased with the level of professionalism exhibited by our front desk staff. We will be sure to let Ms. Moritz... More 

Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We stopped here for a night on our way through Georgia. It's probably the cheapest hotel in the Savannah area, and the location on the outskirts reflects this. The room had a strong musty odor when we entered, although it looked clean, and the bright yellow paintwork was cheerful. There is a fridge, microwave and tea/coffee unit, which some hotels... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewBuckeye
Angela2592, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review concerning your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that everything was not quite up to par for you. While we are happy that you found your bed to be comfortable, the room decor to be cheerful, and that you were pleased that the room was equipped with a fridge/microwave/coffee... More 

ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

Upon entering the hotel parking lot we observed several groups of younger people milling around the premises drinking beer, no big deal we thought, I drink beer. We reserved 3 rooms for 6 people. Upon entering the rooms all three had a musty odor. One room had water stains on the ceiling and the bathtub faucet would not shut off,... More 

Helpful?
Thank hankinohio
Angela2592, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for providing us with feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find it to be enjoyable. Each of the concerns about your guest rooms (water stains on the ceilings, a musty smell in each room, an apparent pest problem, and a faulty shower faucet) have been... More 

Nashville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

While I appreciate the staff at check-in going above and beyond to make sure we had a room that met our needs, our room needed work. The room was clean, however, the bathroom light did not work and we could not get the faucet to turn off on the shower, it was literally stuck on! When we mentioned these problems... More 

Helpful?
Thank indyfan99
Angela2592, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you had some issues with your room not being up to par - specifically, that your bathroom light and shower knob were not working properly. We are also very sorry you did not feel... More 

Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

they put us in one room charged a $50.00 deposit which was understandable since i was paying in cash. when i walked in the room the smell was the worst i ever smelled. So they moved us to another room with no problem. We got to the other room it was ok even tho the t.v. in the room that... More 

Helpful?
Thank tammysadler8
Angela2592, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

We would like to start by thanking you for providing us with feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We are, however, very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience. Our ultimate goal is to provide each guest with a comfortable and happy stay, and we have made note of each of your concerns about the... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for the night to sleep at a halfway mark from Florida back to NC. The hotel as a whole wasn't the worst. The room was clean-ish but definitely very stinky. We arrived late and the lady that was working was fine. Housekeeping was fine, but all the front desk people when we checked out were very unprofessional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Dear Jessica V, Thank your for your candid feedback. I am sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the competence of our front desk team. Please email us with a phone number or email address so our Front Desk Manager can discuss your issues personally. Warm regards, The team at Econo Lodge, Savannah South More 

savannah
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was not what i expected for thw price. First room we where giving smell like an ashtray, the front desk was very helpful and changed our room. The new room still had a smell to it but it was duable since we just need it a few hours of rest. Will not stay in this hotel and will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francisco E
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Savannah South, responded to this review

Dear Francisco E, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. Please email us with a phone number or email address so our Hotel Manager can discuss your issues personally. Sincerely, The management team at Econo Lodge, Savannah South More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Savannah
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Savannah
Travelodge Savannah
#67 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#96 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#88 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#65 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay