We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 112 Savannah hotels

Howard Johnson Express Savannah

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17003 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Savannah to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Savannah
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
35%
Ranked #83 of 112 hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
WannaBeAnIslandGirl Ontario
  • Reviews (111)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    29
    18
    21
See reviews for
38
32
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Older hotel, older furnishings, but very clean. Fridge and microwave in room. Pool was clean and warm. Good breakfast selection in the morning. Wi-Fi was good. Very close to restaurants. Location was perfect for getting on and off the highway. Picked up hotel coupon book from rest area and got the rate of $45 a night. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Florida. It was an decent hotel but not what we expect from a Howard Johnson. Close to restaurants and the highway. It seems like there are a lot of people actually living in the hotel not just staying there. It was ok if there isn't another hotel available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MasterkeyHotels, Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Savannah, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review. We apologize that your experience with us was less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We... More

spartanburg, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you spend around hundred dollors you expect a better facilities and i got disappointed at that front. Room was Good and i think was updated however the Batroom was old and dirty and water not flowing from Tub properly and neither from sink. It was Unhygenic. Also the coffee machine was not clean and dirty and had to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MasterkeyHotels, Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Savannah, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the feedback. We take all comments very seriously and I’ll certainly communicate with our management team about issues you experienced. I’m so sorry you were inconvenienced and hope you'll give us another chance to welcome you back and see how we have improved. Warm Regards, The Management Team at Howard Johnson Express Savannah More

Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I broke out in a rash covering my whole body within 10 minutes of being in the room, so I pulled the sheets back and there were yellow stains all over the mattress. The bathroom was dirty and a cockroach had claimed the room. The rooms close to mine were loud with adults... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MasterkeyHotels, Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Savannah, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you were subject to sexual harassment at our hotel and front desk did not take very seriously. i have shared your feedback with our upper management team to avoid any slimier problem in the future and provide better service to all our future guests. Warm... More

Pine Mountain, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great value for the price! Comfortable room, hardwood floor, comfortable bed, too comfortable easy chair. Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Easily recommend. Good variety of restaurants nearby. Easy access to downtown Savannah using scenic route along Abercorn, or quicker route using Interstate. I will return to this place when visiting Savannah again. Don't understand negative comments as we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Savannah, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Dear Valued Guest: Very kind words, we thank you !!!.. We are happy we could accommodate you. Its always great to hear that what we do make a difference and I will be sure to pass along the kind words to our staff. They are a great team and work very hard. I am very proud to... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we went straight to the bed and lifted up the sheets to check for bed bugs ..and what did we find? BED BUGS!!!!!! unreal! Do not stay here! Friendly staff and looks like a great deal. Who cares if it's updated or not cosmetically ..if its not clean that's it for me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Savannah, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, Bed bugs are a very serious issue in our industry today. This is not a subject to be taken lightly and one that is acted on immediately. Although we have our hotel inspected regularly for any evidence of bed bugs, we also follow up immediately on any guest concern. In this case, our contracted pest control provider... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Express Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Savannah

Address: 17003 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Savannah 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Savannah with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Green Hotel in Savannah
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
66

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Savannah staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer