We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 112 Savannah hotels

Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
ofstraveler falmouth ma
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    125
    32
    6
    13
See reviews for
122
156
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (402)
  • Mar-May only
    (116)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
falmouth ma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a travelers hotel. Families, sports teams, etc. Really cool place. My suite to the rear was quiet and had a little view. You are about two short blocks the Savannah Market & the River Walk. Neither should be missed as they are close! My room had shower in one area and toilet in another. Sort of cool! Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was perhaps our favorite place to stay while in Savannah recently. The room was immaculate, the check-in was quick and the service was outstanding. Clarence is a gem! He was very helpful and friendly. This hotel was WAY better than a so-called 'four-diamond' offering a few blocks down from us. We will definitely be using this hotel in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. We take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations and will look forward to greeting you again when your travels bring you back to Savannah. Willie H. Alls Assistant General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this property while attending a home going for a dear relative. The staff was very sympathetic and courteous the three days we were there. The Rooms were neat and clean.. The restaurants were very close and extremely tasteful. Zipprorah and Willis on The Front Desk could not have been more professional and personable at the same time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Greg R - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Your comments will be shared with Zippora, Willie, and the rest of the team to continue to... More 

Kingsland, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Updated décor. Great breakfast. If you get there early you can park behind the property for free. If not you have to pay for valet. If you are going to tour by trolley the trolley companies are across the street and will pick you up in front of the hotel. If you drive down to the historic area the parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Thomas C - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District. I was delighted to hear that you found our location to be convenient and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We take great pride in our Complimentary Breakfast Buffet, so I'm glad you enjoyed that, as well. We will... More 

Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for New Year's Eve. Simply needed a bed to sleep in after a day of touring the city, a great meal and New Years Eve fun in the late evening. I was traveling with my husband and two sons. The hotel lobby was clean and very welcoming. Too bad the front desk clerk wasn't. Not sure what her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Michelle G - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District. I was happy to hear that you found our suites to be spacious and quaint, and our location to be convenient. I regret, however, that you were not greeted warmly by our Front Desk Associate. We take... More 

Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked the hotel. Walking distance to action. Would have stayed a bit closer to downtown. Nice breakfast and social evening hour. Nice hotel overall. Tavern restaurants and shopping nearby. Nice that it's pet friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Shannon B - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District through Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. We take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank... More 

Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Forget about southern hospitality or hospitality at all, because you won't experience that at this hotel! First bad impression with the front desk; unwelcoming, no greeting, no eye contact, and not helpful. Very disappointing for a Marriott property. The barmaid, valet and "breakfast ladies" were the nicest persons I encountered at the hotel. Housekeeping was very poor; hair found in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District. I was happy to hear that you found our Breakfast Attendants and Bartender to be hospitable. I regret, however, that you were not greeted warmly by our Front Desk Associate. We take pride in our customer service and no one... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an excellent stay Tuesday night (12/30)..... It was nearly perfect until we went to pay a toll in Florida yesterday and discovered that the RI valet driver had stolen money from our console. It was only 7 or 8 dollars, which I really hope helps him ring in the new year. Bad ending to a great stay...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

Adam M - Thank you for you feedback regarding your stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown. I was glad to hear that you had a near perfect stay but regret that your money was missing from your console. Please accept my apology and know that we will take the necessary steps to ensure that this was an isolated incident.... More 

New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Good morning, I write in the wee hours of the morning because my hotel stay was really horrible and unpleasant; the hotel staff really diminished my presence on the arrival because I booked through a "third party." I was given a room (210) adjacent to an elevator that does not offer any piece and quiet. The hotel staff does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

rrazzorr - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I apologize for the issues that you had with the hotel. We take pride in welcoming all guests. I regret that you felt diminished when our associate attempted to explain that guests booking through third parties could not use their Marriott Rewards Account. We have... More 

New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We stayed at this convenient downtown Residence Inn during a recent drive to Florida. Traveling with a dog can be difficult. Fortunately this hotel knows how to treat both two legged and four legged guests. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The service from the valet parking to the front desk are helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District, responded to this review

MapleAppleCrowd - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District

Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay