We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gastonian

Hotel website
220 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 20% July & Aug
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gastonian
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gastonian
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    336
    71
    28
    21
    23
See reviews for
33
314
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (479)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (167)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my husband stayed in the Gastonian for one night as part of our honeymoon. The Gastonian is a real gem about a 2 minute walk from Fosyth park and about 15 minutes from river st. It is smack bang in the centre of the historic district and surrounded by a safe neighbourhood. The hotel itself was extremely welcoming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed this hotel. It is a converted home on a quiet street. The rooms were clean and unique. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. This is a fantastic spot for a couples' getaway. Two things to note: the parking is somewhat restricted and the hotel is a bit of a walk to the downtown. That simply gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for a week so we got to know the place and the people pretty well. The Inn itself is divided into 2 mansions, both beautiful and well maintained. There are a lot of stairs, so if you can't do stairs I wouldn't recommend staying here. We stayed in the Juliette Gordon Lowe room, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
282 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, part of this experience was my fault. I am not an Inn/B&B kind of person...no matter how good the place is. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. No matter how good it could be, I just don't like lugging luggage up/down narrow staircases, eating breakfast with strangers, and feeling like every movement is being monitored. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in Savannah for a couple of days on business/pleasure. An employee of mine recommended that I stay in the Gastonian. I had never stayed at a B&B before but since this was a unique trip for my wife and I I thought I would try it out. All I can say is I had a thoroughly wonderful experience! Let's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

FBO3, Why thank you so much! Such high praise, you'll make us blush! We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience at the Gastonian! Thank you so much for recognizing so much of our staff. Everyone here is completely dedicated to this Inn, and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Walter and the Concierges are... More 

Lake Placid, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had a very memorable 2 days here for my son's elopement experience. Lovely room with a 'secret garden" entrance with a koi fish pond near the front door. I felt like I was back in time. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast's were delicious. Appetizers late afternoon with wine and deserts in the evening with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

B2280KYmichelle, Why thank you so much for your kind review! It was so lovely to host your family for your son’s beautiful wedding! We were thrilled to meet the whole family, and so pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves! It's a big honor for someone to choose the Gastonian for their wedding day! I love the Garden room too! When it... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazingly romantic place to land and stay in Savanna Ga. The staff are so attentive and the food is wonderful. Would recommend this spot to anyone. Plus the folks here took care of all our day trips around the city. They booked all our dinning and riverboat tours. The place is just great. We will definitely be coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Robertjea, Why thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Savannah and your experience at the Gastonian. It is absolutely our pleasure to set up activities and make reservations for our guests! Americans don’t take a lot of vacation (or even vacation days!) any more, and it is important... More 

Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful experience from the first moment we walked through the door. Fallon made everything go so smoothly. She made my family fiance and I feel so at home and welcomed. She even gave us a name of a wonderrful photographer.The flowers were beautiful the wonderful Rev. Steven P. Schulte was amazing and our gorgeous Ogelthorpe Penthouse Suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Kuuipodee26, We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your wedding! Fallon does such a wonderful job with our brides and ya’ll really clicked! I know that she really enjoyed making sure all of the details of your Big Day were perfect! I’m sorry so about your cake! I think that our small fridge broke during your stay, as we have... More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at The Gastonian on two different occasions for a total of seven nights and even got married here. There is not one bad aspect about this romantic inn. From the staff, to the rooms (stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and Oglethorpe Penthouse), to the food - everything is amazing. The staff will go above and beyond to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Gage P, We are so happy for you and your beautiful bride! We are so honored that you chose to host your wedding at the Gastonian. We were so lucky to have been a part of your big day, and to meet your whole family. We are thrilled that you enjoyed both of your rooms. Those are two of our... More 

Loris, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is dirty. Our room had paint splatters on the wooden floor. Attendant was not friendly or inviting all business. The room had a nice bed and jet tub. The reviews on this place are deceiving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Phurry, Thank you so much for your earnest review. I apologize that you did not like your guest room. We actually upgraded you from a Classic King room to a Grand Superior King room during your stay. Perhaps you might have been expecting something more like our Classic King? I apologize if this caused any issues for you, we upgraded... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

354 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (47)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (130)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
General Monk Hunter Room (28)
Viewed
Sheftall Sheftall Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#4 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Downtown
Marshall House
Marshall House
#5 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House
Eliza Thompson House
#6 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
#11 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Ballastone Inn
#3 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay