We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gastonian

4.0 of 5 220 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gastonian
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gastonian
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    53
    22
    19
    23
See reviews for
27
255
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (402)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved our four day stay at the Gastonian. Between the breakfast, afternoon hor d'oeuvres, and evening dessert, we were never hungry. The staff is wonderful and really tried to make your stay special. For example, we asked for assistance booking a dinner at the Olde Pink House and we got the best seat in the restaurant. Hallie, the inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacksonville Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

OK--first there is the building... actually buildings. This place is two mansions connected by a beautiful second-story outside walkway. Oh. My. God. Even this little part (the walkway) is GORGEOUS. It's covered in beautiful ivy (I think it was ivy, anyway)... anywho, the buildings are simply amazing. Built in the mid or late 18 hundreds (I don't remember the exact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A terrific old home about 3/4 of a mile from downtown Savannah and River Front Street. Upgraded enough to have many comforts of today while keeping the ambiance of the period. We parked on Friday and never moved the car until Sunday. Walked the streets of Savannah comfortably each day. Breakfast was excellent each morning. Though we did not partake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Gastonian is precisely what the reviews said it would be on Trip Advisor. "Romantic, friendly, awesome staff, private, beautiful rooms, filled with character, delicious breakfasts, enchanting and much more." We had a great stay for two nights and really enjoyed the cocktail hour with superb hors d'oeuvres and great wine which seemed to have a bottomless bottle. We most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very happy with our choice of a B&B vs. a hotel. I found it very romantic and beautifully decorated. The staff was extremely polite and very helpful and attentive to every request. I hated to leave. It was everything I expected and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Patt L, Thank you so much! We are so honored that you chose to celebrate such a momentous anniversary at the Gastonian! What we did not mention was that you both must have been seven when you got married. It was absolutely our pleasure to assist! We are thrilled that you were pleased with our service, and I sincerely appreciate... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Upon check in I felt extremely welcomed and comfortable. The staff was very courteous and attentive. We stayed in the carriage house and it was absolutely adorable. It was very romantic and totally private. I was very sad to leave. I grew very attached to this place in only 3 days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

steelcj, Hello and congratulations! We were so honored to be a part of your wedding day, and so very happy that you were so comfortable here at the Gastonian. The only part we did not enjoy was saying goodbye! I am so glad that you enjoyed our little Carriage House! It really is an oasis! We are looking forward to... More

Temple Terrace, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

A must stay if you are ever in Savannah. This B&B is wonderful, beautiful rooms, comfy beds and great food! The staff is awesome and super friendly. The rooms have so much character, beautiful fireplaces,wood floors, large windows I could go on and on. The best part is that almost everything is original, they restore vs replace! Some of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

MCM59, Thank you so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Gastonian! We do love to let the natural character and age of the building to shine through, and we are so glad to hear that you appreciate it! Our staff works very hard, and we sincerely appreciate your recognition! We make it a point... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Our stay at the Gastonian can only be described as disappointing. We were greeted by dead chrysanthemums at the front door, and the public rooms - entry hall, living room, and dining room - are badly in need of sprucing up. The promise of coffee delivered to our ground floor room, which required going outdoors for access, upon request the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

SightSeer70, Thank you so much for sharing your earnest impressions of the Gastonian and your time here. I am sorry that our mums had not yet bloomed when you arrived. They are lovely now, but we bought them before they blossomed. I do apologize that we were not able to fulfill your request for coffee. We had not run out... More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The Gastonian actually processes at least one night's stay on your credit card...BEFORE YOU STAY THERE!!!! Watch your credit card charges...if you make a reservation here...they will charge you and process before you darken the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Tim W, Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your earnest impressions of reserving a room at the Gastonian. I am very sorry if you were not aware of our policies. We do everything within our power to ensure that our guests are aware of the deposit of the first night's room and tax. We ask all... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Gastonian. Its location is away from the crowded areas yet 10 minutes walk to anywhere in the historic district. But what was really outstanding is the extremely friendly and helpful staff. The kitchen staff provided us with delicious breakfast and warm conversation and Kristen the concierge went out of her way and worked doggedly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Misha G, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We are definitely in a blessed location, just two blocks off of Forsyth Park. If I have said it once, I have said it a million times, our staff is what makes it work. Thank you so much for recognizing them and their efforts. Everyone... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gastonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Other guest(3)
  • Historic district(3)
  • Afternoon wine(3)

Additional Information about Gastonian

Address: 220 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastonian 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Gastonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

342 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (130)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
General Monk Hunter Room (28)
Viewed
Sheftall Sheftall Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay