We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gastonian

4.0 of 5 220 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gastonian
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gastonian
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    53
    22
    19
    23
See reviews for
27
251
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was very happy with our choice of a B&B vs. a hotel. I found it very romantic and beautifully decorated. The staff was extremely polite and very helpful and attentive to every request. I hated to leave. It was everything I expected and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Patt L, Thank you so much! We are so honored that you chose to celebrate such a momentous anniversary at the Gastonian! What we did not mention was that you both must have been seven when you got married. It was absolutely our pleasure to assist! We are thrilled that you were pleased with our service, and I sincerely appreciate... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon check in I felt extremely welcomed and comfortable. The staff was very courteous and attentive. We stayed in the carriage house and it was absolutely adorable. It was very romantic and totally private. I was very sad to leave. I grew very attached to this place in only 3 days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

steelcj, Hello and congratulations! We were so honored to be a part of your wedding day, and so very happy that you were so comfortable here at the Gastonian. The only part we did not enjoy was saying goodbye! I am so glad that you enjoyed our little Carriage House! It really is an oasis! We are looking forward to... More

Temple Terrace, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A must stay if you are ever in Savannah. This B&B is wonderful, beautiful rooms, comfy beds and great food! The staff is awesome and super friendly. The rooms have so much character, beautiful fireplaces,wood floors, large windows I could go on and on. The best part is that almost everything is original, they restore vs replace! Some of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

MCM59, Thank you so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Gastonian! We do love to let the natural character and age of the building to shine through, and we are so glad to hear that you appreciate it! Our staff works very hard, and we sincerely appreciate your recognition! We make it a point... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay at the Gastonian can only be described as disappointing. We were greeted by dead chrysanthemums at the front door, and the public rooms - entry hall, living room, and dining room - are badly in need of sprucing up. The promise of coffee delivered to our ground floor room, which required going outdoors for access, upon request the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

SightSeer70, Thank you so much for sharing your earnest impressions of the Gastonian and your time here. I am sorry that our mums had not yet bloomed when you arrived. They are lovely now, but we bought them before they blossomed. I do apologize that we were not able to fulfill your request for coffee. We had not run out... More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Gastonian actually processes at least one night's stay on your credit card...BEFORE YOU STAY THERE!!!! Watch your credit card charges...if you make a reservation here...they will charge you and process before you darken the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Tim W, Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your earnest impressions of reserving a room at the Gastonian. I am very sorry if you were not aware of our policies. We do everything within our power to ensure that our guests are aware of the deposit of the first night's room and tax. We ask all... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Gastonian. Its location is away from the crowded areas yet 10 minutes walk to anywhere in the historic district. But what was really outstanding is the extremely friendly and helpful staff. The kitchen staff provided us with delicious breakfast and warm conversation and Kristen the concierge went out of her way and worked doggedly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Misha G, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We are definitely in a blessed location, just two blocks off of Forsyth Park. If I have said it once, I have said it a million times, our staff is what makes it work. Thank you so much for recognizing them and their efforts. Everyone... More

Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

What an amazing love to stay! The room was gorgeous and spacious (Casmir polaski room). I loved the fireplace in our room, although it was so warm outside we did not ever use it. The staff was so friendly and helpful with every need. They went above and beyond the call of duty. I fully recommend staying here for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Squirrelemily, Thank you so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Gastonian! I love the subway tiles around the fireplace in that room! All of those Grand Superior Kings are wonderful, and the verandahs are a must this time of year! Again, we are thrilled that you had a good time at the Gastonian, and... More

Oak Hill VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The most hospitable and friendly staff I've ever encountered. Southern charm and historical artifacts abound. Great location in quiet part of historic district. Will definitely go back. Steep - but worth the price for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Mike20171, Well thank you so much for your kind words! I love the Flannery O'Connor room too! What a bathroom we've tucked in there, and great afternoon light. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well. Thank you so much for saying such kind things about our staff. We have a blessed job, introducing guests to the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

From beginning to end, our stay was truly magical. The silver tray breakfast room service was very well executed with no details overlooked. Our room exceeded our expectations (beautifully appointed room with a huge bathtub and shower) and the staff did, as well. Southern hospitality at it's finest! We can not wait to return and experience the splendor of Savannah... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

LaranP, Well thank you so much! We are so very happy to hear that we did not disappoint! We love to pamper our guests with silver tray service, and we always try to ensure that you want for nothing! We are so glad to hear that we succeeded! Thank you so much for recognizing our staff and everything that they... More

Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My husband and I recently had the time of our lives on a staycation at the beautiful Gastonian! We were already excited about spending a few days enjoying this beautiful city we are fortunate enough to live in, but staying in the Caracella suite at the Gastonian turned out to be the real vacation. The room was exquisite and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gastonian, General Manager at Gastonian, responded to this review

Lostintranslatn, Wow! Thank you so much! We have an absolute blast with our fellow Savannahians! The Hostess City has so much history and culture, and we know how lucky we are to be at the heart of it, in this little neighborhood. When you live here, it is far too easy to take all of that for granted, like any... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gastonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Historic district(3)
  • Other guest(3)
  • Afternoon wine(3)

Additional Information about Gastonian

Address: 220 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastonian 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Gastonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

342 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (130)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
General Monk Hunter Room (28)
Viewed
Sheftall Sheftall Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay