We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballastone Inn

#9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
14 East Oglethorpe Avenue, Savannah, GA 31401
Special Rate
February Is For Lovers
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ballastone Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Savannah on our way to Florida. What a lovely stopover! The girls at the Inn were most helpful . They got us reservations at two lovely restaurants in the city and suggested a tour to take to,see the city. The room was lovely and most comfortable. The breakfasts and treats were yummy.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed three nights at the Ballastone Inn. Each morning we had a delicious hot breakfast; each afternoon we had tea and tea sandwiches, each evening hors d'oeuvres were available and night caps of Port and Sherry were made available in the bar area downstairs. The food was very good. The property is perfectly situated so that you could walk... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter a
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently returned home from this lovely inn, declaring it to be one of the best we ever have visited. It's location smack in the middle of Savannah's Historic District, could not have been any better. It is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated with period antiques and lush fabrics. All the rooms seem to be of a good size and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terrym17richmond
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Palmetto Fan room. Nicely appointed, 2 sitting chairs to read at, open window allowed us to hear the fountain outside. We had breakfast each morning at a table for 2, white table cloths, at a location of our choosing on main floor. Service was excellent. Located in the middle of Historic District, we walked to everything.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sierra P
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

Sierra P, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed our chef's expertise in creating delicious breakfasts and mouthwatering petit fours to complement afternoon tea. Evening sherry and port was our way of helping you to relax and sleep well after a day of exploring our jewel of a city. We look forward... More 

Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely property, just beautiful..really felt like royalty. Very attentive staff. Jessica was so helpful at check in. Our room was the Oglethorpe State and it was perfect. Location was great. We will be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Vector4481
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

Vector4481, Hosting your visit was our pleasure. I will be sure to share your appreciation with Jessica and the rest of our staff! Glad you enjoyed the Oglethorpe State room. It remains one of our most popular rooms. See you next time! Melissa Williams Operations Manager More 

Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked reservations at the Ballastone Inn on October 14, 2015, for a five night stay in early January, 2016. The occasion was our thirty-ninth anniversary. We paid one night's deposit of $293.15. I was informed of a policy of no refund. Unfortunately, on January 4, 2016, I was diagnosed with a detached retina and had emergency surgery on January... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Larry W
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

Larry W, Thank you for initially choosing the Ballastone. It is unfortunate that you were unable to stay with us as planned and experience the pride we take in providing stellar customer service. We absolutely understand and empathize with extenuating circumstances and emergencies. For this reason, our cancellation policy is definitely one of the most gracious you will find with... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived the evening of my reservation and was greeted by a wonderful staff member with a beautiful smile (Grace), only to find out that the room I reserved was out of commission due to furniture being reupholstered. So, I was placed into another available room. Just to illustrate, I originally reserved was a larger room that had a working fireplace... More 

Helpful?
Thank bryan b
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

Bryan B, We are so grateful that you took the time to share your review! An experience such as yours is exactly why we go above and beyond to make sure that we have exceeded all expectations! See you soon so that we can create another exceptional experience! Melissa Williams Operations Manager More 

Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It would be hard to improve on anything. Staff was great, breakfast terrific, room was wonderful. Nice location including parking out back, and a few block walk to the river. Interior decorations were beautiful. Enjoyed the 4 PM afternoon tea including mini-hors d'oeuvres.

Helpful?
Thank RobStAug
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

RobStAug, Thank you for appreciating all that the Ballastone offers. I will be sure to share with the staff that we met your definition of perfection! From décor to location to amenities, we will certainly continue to strive for perfection! We hope to see you again! Melissa Williams Operations Manager More 

rockville md
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Wonderful two days being pampered. The room was beautiful, the food amazing, and the staff eager to help with suggestions for walking tours, restaurants, and directions. We look forward to a return visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank judyeg
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

Judyeg, Great to know you enjoyed your experience so much that you are planning a return visit. We eagerly await the chance to pamper you again! Melissa Williams Operations Manager More 

Morgan, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Right in the center of historic Savannah, this b&b was in walking distance of all the sites & restaurants we wanted to go to. We found the staff was very attentive to our needs. The afternoon tea and evening refreshments help to make this inn very comfortable & welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank mikupp
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review

Mikupp, Thank you for choosing the Ballastone. We are glad you found everything in the area very accessible. The Ballastone staff pride ourselves on exceeding the needs of all guests. Glad you found us successful! We hope to see you again! Melissa Williams Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

237 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (211)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (67)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#8 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,216 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay