We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Baltimore B&Bs / inns

Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast

2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1429 Bolton St., Baltimore, MD 21217
Hotel amenities
Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013
Thomas B Oakland, California
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Oakland, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed at Phoenix Risin three times in the past 18 months. I find it exactly what a Bed and Breakfast is designed to be. The Inn Keeper is very pleasant, delightful, and always greets me with a smile and a glass of wine. The room was very neat, and clean, with fine linen. I always experienced breakfast as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beware. The Phoenix has not risen, and I suspect it died a long time ago. This is not a bed and breakfast. This is someone's home, masquerading as a place of business. The experience was akin to sleeping in a random stranger's house for lots of money. Clearly, rooms are rented to subsidize income, but this is not an establishment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The room was not ready when we arrived, and the entire building was uncomfortably warm our entire stay. The 9am breakfast that we agreed to was still not served by 11am, putting a huge dent in our plans to explore downtown Baltimore. I would suggest staying here only if you have ALOT of time to spare waiting, and it's definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JOrrEsq, Owner at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Altho we are near perfect in service to our guests, there are times when nothing seems to go right. I'm certain that there is not a business or person who has not experienced a day like that. And when guests arrive hours before our normal check-in time, it is very possible that the rooms would not be ready. We have... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Though we only were there for one night, my boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Phoenix Risin'. The inn is located in a beautiful neighborhood of Baltimore, convenient to many attractions and historical homes. Janice, the innkeeper, is warm and welcoming, and truly one of the best parts of our visit was having a chance to get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I see most of the other reviews for this Bed and Breakfast are similar to ours. We enjoyed it very much, and happily recommend it. Those who didn’t enjoy it don’t seem to “get it.” A Bed and Breakfast is NOT a luxury hotel. They typically don’t have valet parking, room service or bell boys. If you want all of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This was the worst B&B we ever stayed at. Our first morning, we requested Breakfast at 8. We came down at 8, there was no sign of the owner or breakfast. We finally knocked on her private door, and she was still asleep. The next morning, she did actually get up on time to cook us a very unimaginative and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

i just wanted to drop you a line to let you know how very much we enjoyed staying at your place over the weekend. it was every bit as lovely as we thought it would be. you should be proud of the establishment youv'e built. when we walked in the door we were awed by the spirit that greeted us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, TX
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

My wife and I made reservations to stay at the Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast owned by Janice Orr. We arrived for our stay the Sunday of Presedential Inauguration week. The amenities and condition of the Inn are not as depicted on their website. We left after staying only one night of a reserved and pre-payed 6 nights. My wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

First, we are open all year. Valentine's Day 2009 marked our 9th year in business. In that time we've received six (6) complaints, including this one. If we provided the type of service alleged, we would have been out of business years ago. We have repeat customers and many guests are referred by previous guests. The writer requested a refund,... More

Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Dirty, dank, disappointing. These three words sum up my impression of Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD, June 2008. Although my partner---here from Australia for the summer----and I had high hopes of a relaxing in an historic American neighborhood, we found the accommodations so deplorable that we decided to leave and stay somewhere else in the city. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sorry for the delay in responding, but we've been VERY BUSY. We were told by the various reservation services that we use to expect this type of review if we decided not to refund a guest's deposit. However, as a matter of principal we decided not to refund the reviewer's deposit.. We only wish that the reviewer posted a review... More

hampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

I am the Proprietor of Lady Neptune B&B Inn in Hampton, VA. Since my husband and I were going to be in the Baltimore area, I decided to stay at Phoenix Risin' B&B because I had heard about it. Frankly, I was curious to know why it continues to receive great ratings from national magazines and websites like Essence, Black... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1429 Bolton St., Baltimore, MD 21217
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.