We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast

1429 Bolton St., Baltimore, MD 21217
Hotel amenities
You added Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Book on
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Book on
or compare prices from over 200 sites including:
Management photos
Phoenix Risin\\
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Oakland, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed at Phoenix Risin three times in the past 18 months. I find it exactly what a Bed and Breakfast is designed to be. The Inn Keeper is very pleasant, delightful, and always greets me with a smile and a glass of wine. The room was very neat, and clean, with fine linen. I always experienced breakfast as... More 

Thank Thomas B
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beware. The Phoenix has not risen, and I suspect it died a long time ago. This is not a bed and breakfast. This is someone's home, masquerading as a place of business. The experience was akin to sleeping in a random stranger's house for lots of money. Clearly, rooms are rented to subsidize income, but this is not an establishment... More 

9 Thank Melissa_Limoncella

Travelers are raving about these Baltimore hotels

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The room was not ready when we arrived, and the entire building was uncomfortably warm our entire stay. The 9am breakfast that we agreed to was still not served by 11am, putting a huge dent in our plans to explore downtown Baltimore. I would suggest staying here only if you have ALOT of time to spare waiting, and it's definitely... More 

3 Thank dudahustle
JOrrEsq, Owner at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Altho we are near perfect in service to our guests, there are times when nothing seems to go right. I'm certain that there is not a business or person who has not experienced a day like that. And when guests arrive hours before our normal check-in time, it is very possible that the rooms would not be ready. We have... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Though we only were there for one night, my boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Phoenix Risin'. The inn is located in a beautiful neighborhood of Baltimore, convenient to many attractions and historical homes. Janice, the innkeeper, is warm and welcoming, and truly one of the best parts of our visit was having a chance to get to... More 

1 Thank js2428970
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I see most of the other reviews for this Bed and Breakfast are similar to ours. We enjoyed it very much, and happily recommend it. Those who didn’t enjoy it don’t seem to “get it.” A Bed and Breakfast is NOT a luxury hotel. They typically don’t have valet parking, room service or bell boys. If you want all of... More 

Thank bamaskyguy
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This was the worst B&B we ever stayed at. Our first morning, we requested Breakfast at 8. We came down at 8, there was no sign of the owner or breakfast. We finally knocked on her private door, and she was still asleep. The next morning, she did actually get up on time to cook us a very unimaginative and... More 

3 Thank georgeandgracie46
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

i just wanted to drop you a line to let you know how very much we enjoyed staying at your place over the weekend. it was every bit as lovely as we thought it would be. you should be proud of the establishment youv'e built. when we walked in the door we were awed by the spirit that greeted us.... More 

Thank sistercornbread
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

My wife and I made reservations to stay at the Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast owned by Janice Orr. We arrived for our stay the Sunday of Presedential Inauguration week. The amenities and condition of the Inn are not as depicted on their website. We left after staying only one night of a reserved and pre-payed 6 nights. My wife... More 

4 Thank mcjorgea
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

First, we are open all year. Valentine's Day 2009 marked our 9th year in business. In that time we've received six (6) complaints, including this one. If we provided the type of service alleged, we would have been out of business years ago. We have repeat customers and many guests are referred by previous guests. The writer requested a refund,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Dirty, dank, disappointing. These three words sum up my impression of Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD, June 2008. Although my partner---here from Australia for the summer----and I had high hopes of a relaxing in an historic American neighborhood, we found the accommodations so deplorable that we decided to leave and stay somewhere else in the city. We... More 

4 Thank kelso754
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sorry for the delay in responding, but we've been VERY BUSY. We were told by the various reservation services that we use to expect this type of review if we decided not to refund a guest's deposit. However, as a matter of principal we decided not to refund the reviewer's deposit.. We only wish that the reviewer posted a review... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

I am the Proprietor of Lady Neptune B&B Inn in Hampton, VA. Since my husband and I were going to be in the Baltimore area, I decided to stay at Phoenix Risin' B&B because I had heard about it. Frankly, I was curious to know why it continues to receive great ratings from national magazines and websites like Essence, Black... More 

Thank Ladyneptune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing


Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay