We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Baltimore hotels

Mount Vernon Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mount Vernon Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Vernon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
52%
Ranked #45 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Beverly2787
  • Overview
  • Reviews (484)
  • Photos (74)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (72)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    170
    111
    68
    74
See reviews for
110
135
47
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Baltimore was in general horrible experience this hotel was more/less the same. Not clean and smelly rooms. However, service and people at reception were bit better. Would never go to Baltimore or this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am disappointed to hear of your poor experience with Baltimore and the hotel specifically. We are working hard to deliver a great experience for all our guests. Obviously we failed to deliver that for you during your stay and that is unacceptable. We take your comments to heart... More

Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Horrible hotel. Poor guest service. Staff was always discourteous even when with simple requests (e. g. calling for a cab, where the ice machine is, 1 hour late check out). I stayed for 2 weeks and could only have breakfast a couple of days because bread and fruits were usually old. Considering staying ONLY if your budget is really low.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear of your experience staying with us recently. We didn't deliver the type of service and accommodations you expect and deserve. I did want to note that we receive fresh products from our supplier 3 days a week. So nothing served should be older than... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A group of 4 of us (all twenty something's) recently stayed this weekend. We were looking for an inexpensive place for a birthday celebration. At $95 a night from Expedia we couldn't pass this place up. Directions on my phone led us right to it. For about two weeks before arrival I had read the reviews and knew the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you and your guests for your birthday weekend visit to Baltimore. We are consistently working hard to make sure we deliver a great product and service for all our guests. Hopefully we will see you again in the... More

nanticoke pa.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here 08/11-14 for the orioles/Yankees games. stayed in room 418. as soon as I walked into the room it smelled like a dentist office. lol. must be the cleaner they use.as far as the room. no issues here. sure the furniture was a tad outdated and has some scratches on it, but I didn't spend enough time in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am happy to hear of your enjoyable stay with us recently. Thank you for your comments regarding variety in the breakfast area as well, we are reviewing what our options are in terms of widening our selections. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. General... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel last week for 5 days. We had a room on the fourth floor. During the 5 days we had Maid Service twice. When we got there there was very little toilet paper on the roll. The tissue holder had three tissues. NEVER got refilled. There was hair on the tub. the floor in the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear of your poor experience with us this past week. This is certainly not indicative of who we are working to be every day. The hotel management team will be informed of your issues you encountered and we will get these issues rectified. General Manager... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 4th of July weekend at the Mount Vernon Hotel. Room was clean and large, but nothing too impressive. Bed was okay. Bathroom was clean as well. Breakfast at the hotel was better than most places of the same price. Had hot breakfast bar with eggs, potatoes, meat, etc. Is right around the corner from the historical district and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear of your great experience staying with us over the holiday weekend. We are working hard to make sure we deliver the best possible experience to all our guests each and every time. We are also looking forward to completing a full hotel renovation and... More

Noord-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in June and were happy with our choice. Yes it is old, but clean. The rooms are big. We did not have any experience with a 'nasty' neighbourhood. It is on walking distance to the Inner Harbour and you don't pay a price for that. There are good restaurants in the area. The breakfast is not special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear of your stay with us recently. We are in a great location and really have easy access to the various neighborhoods of the city. We are looking forward to our completed renovation in the spring of next year and of course we will still... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We and our family members booked this cheap hotel for our family reunion/wedding event in Baltimore. The first thing I noticed was that the hotel is in a very nasty area. Across the street is a women's center, with lots of "ladies" outside smoking and spitting on the sidewalk. Nice. When we entered the front door, two, um, "street-walkers" shouted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am so very disappointed to hear of your experience with the hotel. We take these issues very seriously and have our 3rd party pest control company handle all inspections and or treatments in necessary. We have proactive preventative treatments in place for all types of insects. In terms... More

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Domorski, My husband and myself visited your city back in May because I was receiving medical treatment from John Hopkins. I have never been treated so horribly in my life conditioner. Only to find out at 2am that there was no one on staff or on the property. Needless to say we were forced to stay and suffer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear about your stay back in May, that being said I wasn't here so I can't give you an informed reason why you had the issues you did. What I can say is that we have not had any issues similar to what you are... More

Oberlin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is nice but they don't have nearly enough parking spaces for rooms in their parking garage. We had to park down the street in a random lot. They offered free breakfast but I did not wake up in time to try it. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the parking arrangements. We are renovating and working with several parking options for our guests in the future. We are working hard to make sure we offer parking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mount Vernon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Vernon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Vernon Hotel

Address: 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Vernon Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Vernon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Baltimore

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Baltimore with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mount Vernon Hotel was established in 1907 and is the perfect hotel location for your visit to Baltimore, Maryland. We are located within walking distance from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, the Convention Center, Stadiums, corporate and government headquarters, the Walters Art Museum, the recently restored Basilica of the Assumption, and nearby Charles Street.Enjoy our historic atmosphere, stunning architecture, warm hospitality and accommodations. Group accommodations and meetings available for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
135

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Vernon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer