We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Baltimore hotels

Mount Vernon Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mount Vernon Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Vernon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
51%
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DABEastRochester_NY Penfield, New York
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    171
    114
    69
    76
See reviews for
113
138
47
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The first room assigned had only a bed no furniture no lighting and dust 3 inches wide around the wall. Price may be good but you can stay outside of Baltimore in top notich budget hotels at white marsh that are clean. yes the staff is very nice the breakfast was good. Second assigned room bearable for the one night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel recently. I am not sure what room you were assigned at check in but from your description it certainly seems a mistake was made. We are preparing to undergo a massive renovation and re-launch in the spring of... More

Penfield, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here this past weekend and forgetting the fact that the hotel is old, you can't beat the price or the location! It was clean, the staff was courteous, and it was quite easy to get to. And that's the bottom line - you want to pay $295 - 400 per night to sleep and take a shower, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear of your experience with us recently. We work hard to make sure we deliver the best product possible for all our guests. We are going to undergo a full renovation and re-launch in the spring of 2015 as a brand new Hotel Indigo.... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a family weekend in August, we have stayed at Mt.Vernon Hotel before and had much better rooms then. We stayed on the 8th floor, there were numerous burn holes in the curtains and the bathroom walls look like they haven't been painted in years leaving unknown fluid stains on the wall. Inbetween the mattress & box spring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. We had an opportunity to wow you with our service and product and we failed to do that and I am so sorry. We are in the process of receiving a full hotel renovation. The top floors are currently being renovated and those door locks are going to be... More

Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow, the mixed reviews. Here is an honest one. Parking is across the street in the garage, $10 per day. You expect that in a city. The building is old and run down. You expect that in the middle of downtown and for the price you are paying. The front desk staff are happy, accommodating and make good suggestions (Mick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I appreciate your honest feedback and candor with your review. We have made a number of changes with the breakfast offering and staffing in order to better accommodate our guests. We simply can't operate the way you mentioned, and I will not accept that for our guests. We will... More

Luray, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I read all these reviews prior to staying, they made me nervous. I got to the hotel and was so confused because I didn't see what some of those reviewers saw. I thought the hotel was great. The staff was so friendly. We arrived earlier than check in time, and the room wasn't ready. The girls at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your recent stay with us. We are working very hard to prepare the best experience possible for all our guests. We are also very excited to be undergoing a major renovation and relaunching as a Hotel Indigo... More

Wirtz, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Horrible all the way around! Rooms are old and dirty. Television 1990's model. Our room had no trash cans. Bathroom was so dirty we didn't even want to shower. Parking is in a public garage across the street and hotel does not pay. Very long walk to harbor through unsafe area. We rode down elevator with a couple who said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviews of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction. You were correct the hotel has not undergone a major renovation in quite some time, however we will be going through a full renovation and re-launching in the spring of 2015 as a Hotel Indigo. in terms of the cleanliness issues... More

Manhasset, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there for 4 nights for an event at the Convention Center. The hotel has "good bones", but needs major updating. Our room had a king bed with no bedskirt and the stuffing coming out of the box spring. I did ask for a sheet to be put on top of the bare blanket. They gave me a sheet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear that we failed to deliver exceptional guest service during your stay with us. We need to continue to work harder in order to deliver the service you expect and deserve. I did want to mention that in terms of our breakfast offering, we receive... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old building, needs updating/some renovations but pretty clean. Comforter was nasty though. No amenities. Had to pay to park upon leaving parking garage even though it's supposed to be included. Breakfast was great though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry for the confusion that occurred during your stay. Parking is available when staying at the hotel, but there is no complimentary or included parking. We are very excited as we will be receiving a hotel wide renovation in the coming months and re-launching in the spring... More

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Baltimore was in general horrible experience this hotel was more/less the same. Not clean and smelly rooms. However, service and people at reception were bit better. Would never go to Baltimore or this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am disappointed to hear of your poor experience with Baltimore and the hotel specifically. We are working hard to deliver a great experience for all our guests. Obviously we failed to deliver that for you during your stay and that is unacceptable. We take your comments to heart... More

Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible hotel. Poor guest service. Staff was always discourteous even when with simple requests (e. g. calling for a cab, where the ice machine is, 1 hour late check out). I stayed for 2 weeks and could only have breakfast a couple of days because bread and fruits were usually old. Considering staying ONLY if your budget is really low.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear of your experience staying with us recently. We didn't deliver the type of service and accommodations you expect and deserve. I did want to note that we receive fresh products from our supplier 3 days a week. So nothing served should be older than... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mount Vernon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Vernon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Vernon Hotel

Address: 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Vernon Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Mount Vernon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Baltimore

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Baltimore with
any amenities