We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Baltimore hotels

Mount Vernon Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mount Vernon Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Vernon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
51%
Ranked #45 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jess F
  • Overview
  • Reviews (487)
  • Photos (74)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (73)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    170
    112
    69
    75
See reviews for
111
136
47
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (487)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Horrible all the way around! Rooms are old and dirty. Television 1990's model. Our room had no trash cans. Bathroom was so dirty we didn't even want to shower. Parking is in a public garage across the street and hotel does not pay. Very long walk to harbor through unsafe area. We rode down elevator with a couple who said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manhasset, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were there for 4 nights for an event at the Convention Center. The hotel has "good bones", but needs major updating. Our room had a king bed with no bedskirt and the stuffing coming out of the box spring. I did ask for a sheet to be put on top of the bare blanket. They gave me a sheet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old building, needs updating/some renovations but pretty clean. Comforter was nasty though. No amenities. Had to pay to park upon leaving parking garage even though it's supposed to be included. Breakfast was great though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry for the confusion that occurred during your stay. Parking is available when staying at the hotel, but there is no complimentary or included parking. We are very excited as we will be receiving a hotel wide renovation in the coming months and re-launching in the spring... More

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Baltimore was in general horrible experience this hotel was more/less the same. Not clean and smelly rooms. However, service and people at reception were bit better. Would never go to Baltimore or this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am disappointed to hear of your poor experience with Baltimore and the hotel specifically. We are working hard to deliver a great experience for all our guests. Obviously we failed to deliver that for you during your stay and that is unacceptable. We take your comments to heart... More

Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Horrible hotel. Poor guest service. Staff was always discourteous even when with simple requests (e. g. calling for a cab, where the ice machine is, 1 hour late check out). I stayed for 2 weeks and could only have breakfast a couple of days because bread and fruits were usually old. Considering staying ONLY if your budget is really low.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear of your experience staying with us recently. We didn't deliver the type of service and accommodations you expect and deserve. I did want to note that we receive fresh products from our supplier 3 days a week. So nothing served should be older than... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of 4 of us (all twenty something's) recently stayed this weekend. We were looking for an inexpensive place for a birthday celebration. At $95 a night from Expedia we couldn't pass this place up. Directions on my phone led us right to it. For about two weeks before arrival I had read the reviews and knew the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you and your guests for your birthday weekend visit to Baltimore. We are consistently working hard to make sure we deliver a great product and service for all our guests. Hopefully we will see you again in the... More

nanticoke pa.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here 08/11-14 for the orioles/Yankees games. stayed in room 418. as soon as I walked into the room it smelled like a dentist office. lol. must be the cleaner they use.as far as the room. no issues here. sure the furniture was a tad outdated and has some scratches on it, but I didn't spend enough time in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am happy to hear of your enjoyable stay with us recently. Thank you for your comments regarding variety in the breakfast area as well, we are reviewing what our options are in terms of widening our selections. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. General... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel last week for 5 days. We had a room on the fourth floor. During the 5 days we had Maid Service twice. When we got there there was very little toilet paper on the roll. The tissue holder had three tissues. NEVER got refilled. There was hair on the tub. the floor in the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am sorry to hear of your poor experience with us this past week. This is certainly not indicative of who we are working to be every day. The hotel management team will be informed of your issues you encountered and we will get these issues rectified. General Manager... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 4th of July weekend at the Mount Vernon Hotel. Room was clean and large, but nothing too impressive. Bed was okay. Bathroom was clean as well. Breakfast at the hotel was better than most places of the same price. Had hot breakfast bar with eggs, potatoes, meat, etc. Is right around the corner from the historical district and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear of your great experience staying with us over the holiday weekend. We are working hard to make sure we deliver the best possible experience to all our guests each and every time. We are also looking forward to completing a full hotel renovation and... More

Noord-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in June and were happy with our choice. Yes it is old, but clean. The rooms are big. We did not have any experience with a 'nasty' neighbourhood. It is on walking distance to the Inner Harbour and you don't pay a price for that. There are good restaurants in the area. The breakfast is not special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear of your stay with us recently. We are in a great location and really have easy access to the various neighborhoods of the city. We are looking forward to our completed renovation in the spring of next year and of course we will still... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mount Vernon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Vernon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Vernon Hotel

Address: 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Vernon Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Vernon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Baltimore

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Baltimore with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mount Vernon Hotel was established in 1907 and is the perfect hotel location for your visit to Baltimore, Maryland. We are located within walking distance from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, the Convention Center, Stadiums, corporate and government headquarters, the Walters Art Museum, the recently restored Basilica of the Assumption, and nearby Charles Street.Enjoy our historic atmosphere, stunning architecture, warm hospitality and accommodations. Group accommodations and meetings available for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
135

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Vernon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer