We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Baltimore hotels

Mount Vernon Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Mount Vernon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Vernon Hotel to your Saves list
51%
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Baltimore
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Keira60 New York
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    172
    118
    70
    77
See reviews for
113
138
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (499)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference in the area. The staff was receptive and helpful. It is a small hotel that provides the basics. Only negative thing I found was that the blanket had a cigarette burn. Location is great. It is in an artsy area and within walking distance to the main areas of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night for a conference at the convention center. The hotel is small but average. Nothing special. The location is very nice I was able to walk to the city center and the harbor as well as the conference location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. We do have a great location, being centrally located in a walking friendly city is a huge plus for our hotel. I am glad you were able to experience the location. We are also very excited for our conversion to a hotel indigo in the spring of 2015. Hopefully... More

Pasadena, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked in with the friendliest staff i had ever encountered in Baltimore and was happy to shortly thereafter enter a clean room that was comfortable! The staff was great even brought us extra pillows and helped us with directions. The room smelled nice was clean and comfortable all at a fair rate! I really enjoyed my stay here...clean safe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear of your experience with our wonderful staff here. We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and caring staff. We are preparing for an entire hotel renovation and will re-launch in the spring of 2015 as a Hotel Indigo. With the new... More

Bloemfontein
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have travelled the world, and the staff of Mount Vernon will get the prize for the rudest and unfriendliness staff ever. When we arrived at the hotel there were two “ladies” at the front desk. Whilst the one was busy with a customer, the other completely ignored us. When we tried to converse with her, she just pointed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience with our hotel and staff. This is not indicative of who we are or what we are working towards. There is no excuse for the experience you had and for that I apologize, we are working hard and are... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were mostly pleased with this hotel for one over-niter as we were headed to a trip to NC. Location good right in the city, an older type hotel, affordable and parking across the street only cost us $4..surprisingly. a continental breakfast w/small cafe area but we left too early to try. Negative is that the room was clean but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your trip to NC. We are very excited to be undergoing an entire hotel renovation beginning in the next few weeks and re-launching as a Hotel Indigo in the spring of 2015. Hopefully we will see... More

Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I have been at better hotels but for 2 nights while going to Camden Yards, it served the purpose. Of course there are nicer hotels, but for the price, you can't beat the Mount Vernon. The hotel is a little bit of walk from the harbor, but not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are working hard to make sure it is the best it can be as we prepare for a renovation and re-launch in the spring of 2015. Hopefully we will see you again after we become a hotel... More

Riverdale, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The first room assigned had only a bed no furniture no lighting and dust 3 inches wide around the wall. Price may be good but you can stay outside of Baltimore in top notich budget hotels at white marsh that are clean. yes the staff is very nice the breakfast was good. Second assigned room bearable for the one night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. I am disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel recently. I am not sure what room you were assigned at check in but from your description it certainly seems a mistake was made. We are preparing to undergo a massive renovation and re-launch in the spring of... More

Penfield, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend and forgetting the fact that the hotel is old, you can't beat the price or the location! It was clean, the staff was courteous, and it was quite easy to get to. And that's the bottom line - you want to pay $295 - 400 per night to sleep and take a shower, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear of your experience with us recently. We work hard to make sure we deliver the best product possible for all our guests. We are going to undergo a full renovation and re-launch in the spring of 2015 as a brand new Hotel Indigo.... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed for a family weekend in August, we have stayed at Mt.Vernon Hotel before and had much better rooms then. We stayed on the 8th floor, there were numerous burn holes in the curtains and the bathroom walls look like they haven't been painted in years leaving unknown fluid stains on the wall. Inbetween the mattress & box spring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. We had an opportunity to wow you with our service and product and we failed to do that and I am so sorry. We are in the process of receiving a full hotel renovation. The top floors are currently being renovated and those door locks are going to be... More

Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Wow, the mixed reviews. Here is an honest one. Parking is across the street in the garage, $10 per day. You expect that in a city. The building is old and run down. You expect that in the middle of downtown and for the price you are paying. The front desk staff are happy, accommodating and make good suggestions (Mick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Mount Vernon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I appreciate your honest feedback and candor with your review. We have made a number of changes with the breakfast offering and staffing in order to better accommodate our guests. We simply can't operate the way you mentioned, and I will not accept that for our guests. We will... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Vernon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Vernon Hotel

Address: 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Vernon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Vernon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Baltimore

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay